Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-08, 09:10 PM   #13
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amk21
Thanks of the info, did you pull it out of your arse.
If I tell you then I'll have to kill you.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-08, 09:11 PM   #14
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
After reading a few internet articles about something completely unrelated. I consider myself somewhat of an expert on the issue.

Alan Wake has been axed.
Nice, you're my idol.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-08, 09:15 PM   #15
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

I know. It's the sunglasses isn't it?
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-08, 11:10 PM   #16
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

Still under development according to Remedy's official website.

http://www.remedygames.com/games/index.html

Alan Wake is one of Microsoft's big shows for the Games For Windows platform (and DX10, methinks), it's unlikely that they'll cancel it unless development is going very badly.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-08, 12:16 AM   #17
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

Prolly canned due to piracy fears ?
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-08, 03:20 AM   #18
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

Its for 360 too, it wouldn't make any sense to cancel it in relation to piracy, worse case scenario is they'd completely switch to 360 focused and do a 1/4 assed port to PC to get a bit more profit. I don't think remedy are going to be douches like that.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-08, 03:20 AM   #19
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

It's taking a big delay cause it's being consolized right now
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-08, 03:21 AM   #20
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

yes, the game cannot be released until the consolization process is complete
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-16-08, 03:28 AM   #21
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

Did you guys know Alan Wake won't work on XP?. It will be Vista exclusive.
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-08, 03:28 AM   #22
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

wasn't the same thing said about crysis long before its release?
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-08, 03:32 AM   #23
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

Look at AlanWake.com, you can see the words exclusive for Windows Vista and Xbox 360. Also the game FAQ has official words from the developers:

Quote:
Is Alan Wake exclusive to Windows Vista? If so why?

Petri Järvilehto had this to say on the official Alan Wake forums (18/05/06):

“I’ll confirm that Alan Wake is Vista and 360 exclusive. I know some people have reacted strongly to that, but for us this was one of the key decisions that will allow us to create the best possible game.

We’ve locked this down a while ago, and being able to focus on fewer platforms means that the game is going to kick more ass than ever before. By going with Vista, we don’t have to compromise everything to the lowest common PC denominator and since we’re not doing a PS3 version we can go all out with PC and 360 multithreading, HDR rendering etc. This focus benefits the tech and game design immensely.

We’re really sorry if some end up missing the game because of our platform choice, but in the end of the day we *must* base our decisions on what will let us create the best possible game. That’s just how Remedy as a team works: we’re passionate about creating something unique. Alan Wake is still our IP and we drive the creative control, but working with Microsoft gives us unprecedented levels of development support, testing resources and so on.

But… as they say, the proof is in the pudding. You guys are going to be the best judges on whether the calls we’ve made have been the right ones. We haven’t really shown anything on what we’ve been up to in the past year. Once we do, it’ll be up to you to see whether our work has been worthwhile.”
The game is being published by Microsoft Game Studios.
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-08, 03:38 AM   #24
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Where is Alan Wake ?

well, that gives me a little more hope for this game then
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaikai_Inc: RT @gafiatulin: Marvelous! Alan Wake playable in browser via @Gaikai_Inc News Archived News Items 0 06-16-12 11:40 AM
Alan Wake 2 In A Town Called Ordinary? News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 08:10 AM
Now Available - Alan Wake American Nightmare News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
Midweek Madness - Alan Wake, 50% off News Archived News Items 0 05-08-12 05:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.