Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-08, 12:41 AM   #1
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,957
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Creative XFI PCI-E version

I heard about this car but why does it look so plain?

I know sound isn't done with hardware in vista no more plus with the latency issues with creative soundcards. I thought maybe this is why they don't offer Xram and other freatures on the PCI-e version and also its green which sucks compared to the color they had on the PCI versions.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-08, 04:30 AM   #2
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Creative XFI PCI-E version

Well, this also means new drivers
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-08, 04:51 AM   #3
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Creative XFI PCI-E version

PCI-E version? Cool. I'll look into that. I got the XtremeGamer for Xmas, but it's still in the unopened box. I've even thought about returning it for one that has the X-RAM, but wasn't sure how much difference it makes.

EDIT: Can someone post a link to the PCI-E version or the news of it's release? TIA
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-08, 05:55 AM   #4
wildman92
46.10
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 46
Default Re: Creative XFI PCI-E version

http://www.guru3d.com/newsitem.php?id=4828
__________________
i5 760/ asus p7p55 ws/evga470/Gskill 8g 1333/corsair HX850w/corsair H70/NEC EA231WMi /Windows 7 64
wildman92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-08, 06:03 AM   #5
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Creative XFI PCI-E version

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildman92
Thank you, sir.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-08, 12:17 PM   #6
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,957
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Creative XFI PCI-E version

I believe the reason they didn't put XRAM or any other hardware level parts is because its PCI-EX. The latencies are too high on that bus and lat leads to BSOD's of course with poor drivers from Creative as usual.

like the guy said in the windows section about Vista doing away with HAL, this is why, there is no need for hardware sound at the PCI-ex level.

This is good and bad but when did the XRAM ever work?
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 03:25 AM   #7
3NZ0
vtec just kicked in 'yo
 
3NZ0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: in a house....
Posts: 83
Send a message via MSN to 3NZ0 Send a message via Skype™ to 3NZ0
Default Re: Creative XFI PCI-E version

They are using the extreme audio pci-e chip that they designed for notebooks just on a card built for desktop pci-e slots instead of expresscard slots.
As they haven't designed a proper, fully featured xfi chip for pci-e yet, there are no pci-e xfi cards with all the features.
Don't hold out for anything either with creatives fantastically rubbish driver support for their current hardware and the bodge job solution for EAX in vista.
__________________
Games + Media work:
Q6600 G0 @ 3.6Ghz | P35 DQ6 | 4GB Ballistix Tracer | HIS 4870X2 CF
X-Fi Elite Pro @ custom opamps | 7200.11 500GB * 4 | NEC AD7170A*2
HX 520W | Akasa Eclipse 62 | G15 R2 | G9 | Dell 2407 A04 | Gigaworks S750
Watercooled: Apogee GT | D5 | MCR220 | MCRES
XPS M1730
Crimson Red | X9000 | 4GB | 8800M GTX SLi | Bluetooth 355 | Intel AGN | BD-RE | 2*200GB 7.2K RPM
1920x1200 7ms | 85Whr | 2MP Cam | G5 | ATH ES7 | G15 | MBH 1TB | Z-10
LAN/CAD Server:
Xeon X3210 @ 3.2Ghz | 780i | 4GB Crucial Ballistix | Quadro FX5600 SLI | RocketRaid 3520
Hitachi T7K500 320GB*2 R1 |WD 500GB AAKS*8 R5| Tagan 500W U33 | Lian-Li V1000b+
Aircooled: Tuniq Tower
3NZ0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 07:04 AM   #8
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Post Re: Creative XFI PCI-E version

I'm considering the ASUS Xonar D2(x) to replace my x-fi.

This is the PCI version:
http://www.pcper.com/images/reviews/505/crysis.jpg

The full review:
http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=505

CPU usage seems very interesting.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-08, 08:16 AM   #9
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Creative XFI PCI-E version

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterman
I'm considering the ASUS Xonar D2(x) to replace my x-fi.

This is the PCI version:
http://www.pcper.com/images/reviews/505/crysis.jpg

The full review:
http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=505

CPU usage seems very interesting.
They are in the process of a PCI-E card also, which is what i am waiting for.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 11:20 AM   #10
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: Creative XFI PCI-E version

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLippe
PCI-E version? Cool. I'll look into that. I got the XtremeGamer for Xmas, but it's still in the unopened box. I've even thought about returning it for one that has the X-RAM, but wasn't sure how much difference it makes.

EDIT: Can someone post a link to the PCI-E version or the news of it's release? TIA
i would return that POS. i hate that card with a passion. i bought it thinking it was a good deal but did no reading up about it. i play online games so i need to use a mic, thats a no go with this card. the flexi-jack is mic-in and digital out and in the control panel, it's grayed out with this card so you can't choose which one you want and it has mood swings so you never know when it's going to work. so you have to turn everything on and off and switch inputs for about 20-30 minutes in the hopes that it will randomly decide to work. i've RMA'd it before and this is just how the card operates.

return that card and get something better. it's cheap for a reason
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 02:47 PM   #11
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Creative XFI PCI-E version

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazz
They are in the process of a PCI-E card also, which is what i am waiting for.
That does sound promising
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-08, 06:08 AM   #12
Absolution
AbsoUI
 
Absolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 933
Default Re: Creative XFI PCI-E version

still waiting for pci-e + hardware acceleration that is not a pain in the ass to use on vista

they've got #1 down, #2 is yet to be seen
Absolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 01:44 PM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 10:46 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM
NVIDIA drivers and linux-2.5.31 eltarvag NVIDIA Linux 6 08-14-02 02:19 PM
RH7.3 and nForce - can't find the module dmw400 NVIDIA Linux 4 08-05-02 12:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.