Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-08, 05:40 AM   #13
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feyy
I think its really well coded because you can play the game at 20fps and its smooth as silk like as if it was 30fps. I don't understand how you can complain about that
That's kinda' how I feel, as well.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 05:43 AM   #14
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Meh 2560x1600 is still unplayable with 3 cards
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 10:26 AM   #15
Dreamingawake
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 806
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feyy
I think its really well coded because you can play the game at 20fps and its smooth as silk like as if it was 30fps. I don't understand how you can complain about that

Easy, we all know 20 Fps is not anywhere near acceptable especially
considering it doesn't stay at 20 fps CONSTANT. It's safe to assume
there are dips all over the place. So what it 'appears' smooth with the Cryengine2, there is a massive difference in the game play when the
frames are higher. I think you're just saying that it's well coded because
you want to justify that you can run Crysis 'perfectly' on your rigs.
No one can, not even 3 way SLI. If a game can't run decently with 3
8800 Ultras then come on, lol
Dreamingawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 10:59 AM   #16
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feyy
I think its really well coded because you can play the game at 20fps and its smooth as silk like as if it was 30fps. I don't understand how you can complain about that

For most of us 20 FPS isn't playable. I can't stand anything under 50. It gives me a headache as it's just to jerky. The whole reason I returned my widescreen monitor and stuck with my 19" nec LCD for 1280x1024 is because I can run every game with AA on and get great FPS. Crysis is the only game that doesn't.

As for $1500 to play a $50 @ 30 fps, again thats just retarded.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 11:31 AM   #17
ralinn
Masters
 
ralinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK, England, Portsmouth
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeriTonin
Of course it's poorly coded Don't you remember the ads and interviews...."we are working very closely with nvidia to ensure the best performance possible for geforce users"

And the game ships unplayable @ a decent res on nvidia's highest end card.

You know what nvidia and crytek were doing? Making sure that code stayed poorly optimized so there's reason for 3-way sli and more money.

And in 2 or 3 years, there will be quad becoming the norm, then two chips on each card in quad mode and so on.

There's always a catch, welcome to big business.
lol - I'm really not into conspiracy theories.

I'd rather think that the game requires a lot of power because of how good it looks... oh, and also the engine isn't completely perfect, just like any other game. The two definitely don't mix very well!
__________________
(CPU) Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz @ 1600MHz (ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6T DELUXE mainboard) (RAM) 3GB (HDD) 931GB
(GFX) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 (1GB), 1680x1050x32, 59Hz (OS) Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium (SP1)

3Dmark06 Score: Who the **** actually cares?
360 & PSN ID: ralinn
ralinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 11:39 AM   #18
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

30fps average is unplayable for me

No thanks.

And I just don't understand the obsession with antialiasing either. Why the hell would you be running 4x AA at 1600x1200 if you're only getting 30fps average?

I don't even run AA in multiplayer games when I'm getting 85 fps constant because it gives extremely inconsistent performance when there are scenes with lots of explosions, smoke, or transparent effects. I really rarely use any AA at all, which is why I play most games at 1600x1200 or 2048x1536 at 60+fps constant.

Turn off the freaking AA in Crysis and it'll run significantly better.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 11:46 AM   #19
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Turn off the freaking AA in Crysis and it'll run significantly better.
****ing AA mother****ers!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 12:00 PM   #20
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses
****ing AA mother****ers!
****!
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-08, 12:42 PM   #21
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

CaptNKILL for god sake, 30 fps in crysis is smooth as silk... what are you on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BioHazZarD
30fps is just pathetic result on 3 ultras roflmao..
No its not, look at the settings. Veryhigh with 4xAA and in 1600x... Hell i get around 20 fps on veryhigh in 1280x1024 with no AA on my 8800gtx.
__________________
Who is bigman....who is kevpla...riddles in the dark
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 01:01 PM   #22
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

30fps may be playable to you but smooth as silk? come on.

Just because there is a motion blur doesn't mean there is no input lag or choppiness.

If you don't notice it or it doesn't bother you, that's fine, but don't try to say that 30fps in any first person shooter is smooth as silk.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 01:16 PM   #23
ralinn
Masters
 
ralinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK, England, Portsmouth
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanosuitguy
CaptNKILL for god sake, 30 fps in crysis is smooth as silk... what are you on?



No its not, look at the settings. Veryhigh with 4xAA and in 1600x... Hell i get around 20 fps on veryhigh in 1280x1024 with no AA on my 8800gtx.
lol, I have no idea how you can think that spending nearly £1077.00 on GFX cards to get 30FPS (which is definitely not 'smooth as silk') is NOT pathetic. Some people really do have more money than sense.
__________________
(CPU) Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz @ 1600MHz (ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6T DELUXE mainboard) (RAM) 3GB (HDD) 931GB
(GFX) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 (1GB), 1680x1050x32, 59Hz (OS) Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium (SP1)

3Dmark06 Score: Who the **** actually cares?
360 & PSN ID: ralinn
ralinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 02:05 PM   #24
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

With the new patch, I get 30-40FPS at 1920x1200 Very High, I consider this very playable, I was pretty surprised with the performance.

Also 30FPS is very good, you guys do realize that most console games run at 30FPS right?
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.