Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-08, 02:18 PM   #25
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
30fps average is unplayable for me

No thanks.

And I just don't understand the obsession with antialiasing either. Why the hell would you be running 4x AA at 1600x1200 if you're only getting 30fps average?

I don't even run AA in multiplayer games when I'm getting 85 fps constant because it gives extremely inconsistent performance when there are scenes with lots of explosions, smoke, or transparent effects. I really rarely use any AA at all, which is why I play most games at 1600x1200 or 2048x1536 at 60+fps constant.

Turn off the freaking AA in Crysis and it'll run significantly better.
It all depends upon what part of the spectrum you're on. I know some people that would turn the game down to 1024 x 768 if they had to just to get 90fps+. On FPS games I usually strive to keep around 60fps because the game will be smoother when you need to make quick shots. For Crysis I think it's less about playing the game and more about the eye candy, so not having AA would really bring it down a notch. I'm perfectly happy with playing the game at only 30fps, but I only play single player so should it dip into the teens it really doesn't matter.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 02:19 PM   #26
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
With the new patch, I get 30-40FPS at 1920x1200 Very High, I consider this very playable, I was pretty surprised with the performance.

Also 30FPS is very good, you guys do realize that most console games run at 30FPS right?
Unnecessary resolution u play on, 1600x1200 or 1680x1050 is more than enough, especailly if you add AA. By the way, what framerates do you get if you put 4xAA on while still having 1920x and veryhigh?
__________________
Who is bigman....who is kevpla...riddles in the dark
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 02:24 PM   #27
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

That's not an unnecessary resolution. Anything your monitor's native resolution is, is the necessary one
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 02:36 PM   #28
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokishi
That's not an unnecessary resolution. Anything your monitor's native resolution is, is the necessary one
+1 Once you get a monitor that can run a higher resolution it doesn't make sense to lower it.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 03:03 PM   #29
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

This is just depressing.. Oh please give us the G90 now
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 03:28 PM   #30
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Also 30FPS is very good, you guys do realize that most console games run at 30FPS right?
One reason I don't play console games.

Playing a slide show game of Halo with 2 xboxes linked at a game party was like sticking nails in my eyes.

As far as AA, its all personal preference I guess.

I prefer extremely high resolutions so I can actually get more detail out of the scene (rather than just blending out other details). At 2048x1536 the aliasing is barely noticeable and I don't get the fluctuating performance and mouse lag that tends to come with anti aliasing. Don't get me wrong, AA looks great. I just don't really notice it anywhere near as much as low framerates.

This is why I haven't moved to an LCD yet. The resolutions are too low unless I spend $500 on a 24" or larger.

Anyway... 30fps average is not smooth as silk. It may be smooth enough for some, or even most people, but you can't just say that because Crysis is "special" that fluctuating between 10 and 40fps is perfect.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 03:39 PM   #31
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
With the new patch, I get 30-40FPS at 1920x1200 Very High, I consider this very playable, I was pretty surprised with the performance.

Also 30FPS is very good, you guys do realize that most console games run at 30FPS right?
Jacob for SLI 30fps is not good. i tried that myself (not Crysis but other titles). at least ~40fps would be considered smooth (assuming Crysis uses 3-way AFR).
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 03:47 PM   #32
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
+1 Once you get a monitor that can run a higher resolution it doesn't make sense to lower it.
Yes it does, because that high resolutions is not good for demanding games like crysis, if you are forced to play on 1920x1200 for example u have to lower some of the other settings. There are quite a difference between 1280x960 and 1920x1200 performance wise. Also, why even get a 24" widescreen? I think it sucks that u have to play it in the native resolution, really. 21" CRT monitors FTW...
__________________
Who is bigman....who is kevpla...riddles in the dark
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-08, 03:48 PM   #33
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

I must say that Crysis somehow plays more smooth that it runs somehow. IMO 25 FPS in Crysis feels like 30FPS in any other game

BTW jAkUp are you talking about SP or MP performance? Because i didn't notice any change in MP, it was horrible as ever, but I haven't tried SP post-1.1.
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 03:58 PM   #34
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanosuitguy
Yes it does, because that high resolutions is not good for demanding games like crysis, if you are forced to play on 1920x1200 for example u have to lower some of the other settings. There are quite a difference between 1280x960 and 1920x1200 performance wise. Also, why even get a 24" widescreen? I think it sucks that u have to play it in the native resolution, really. 21" CRT monitors FTW...
I found Crysis playable at 1440x1080 (4:3 res for a CRT) with tweaked high settings in DirectX 9 with no AA and 8xAF, but I didn't play that far into it.

It was "pretty smooth" at 1280x960 with the same settings... but still not close to perfectly smooth. I didn't expect it to be though.

I just wish they would show some 3 Way SLI numbers with realistic graphics settings. People shooting for 30fps average in their benchmarks is worth absolutely nothing to me since I wouldn't play the game like that. That's why I stopped reading [H] reviews.

Maybe I'm just a freak but "smooth" movement looks a hell of a lot more realistic to me than smooth lines. You can crank up the settings all you want, but at some point you are no longer playing "real time"... you're watching a pre rendered scene from half a second ago. I prefer my games to be as far from that as possible.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 03:59 PM   #35
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

man just wait for better hardware, that's all we can do
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-08, 04:00 PM   #36
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Over 30 fps on Veryhigh with 4xAA/16xAF in 1600x1200 * WOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokishi
man just wait for better hardware, that's all we can do
Definitely.

I'll play Crysis once my graphics card can do it justice.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.