Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-08, 06:24 PM   #1
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Assassin Creed subtitled?

Hey,

Some of you know I'm deaf and I'm considering buying Assassin Creed since it's $39 at Best Buy for Xbox 360 and I have $20 coupon to go with. But before I go and get it, does it has subtitle option? I've been hearing a lot of complains from several deaf gamers/friends that it doesn't have subtitle option...

So, I'm asking will I be ok if this game doesn't have subtitles or does it requires you to listen to certain sound cues or whatever? I don't want to waste my money if I can't get farther in the game.

Thanks!
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-08, 06:37 PM   #2
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Assassin Creed subtitled?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NaitoSan
Hey,

Some of you know I'm deaf and I'm considering buying Assassin Creed since it's $39 at Best Buy for Xbox 360 and I have $20 coupon to go with. But before I go and get it, does it has subtitle option? I've been hearing a lot of complains from several deaf gamers/friends that it doesn't have subtitle option...

So, I'm asking will I be ok if this game doesn't have subtitles or does it requires you to listen to certain sound cues or whatever? I don't want to waste my money if I can't get farther in the game.

Thanks!
oh i didnt know you were deaf....

let me check for you right now, brb.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-08, 06:38 PM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Assassin Creed subtitled?

no subtitles

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/t...4691016806/p/3
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-08, 06:42 PM   #4
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Assassin Creed subtitled?

apparently the game does not have subtitles

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/t...4691016806/p/1

oops, found the link nekro did.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-08, 08:26 PM   #5
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Assassin Creed subtitled?

seriously, that sucks... seems i might have some problems doing some missions, according to several people.

now i'm not so sure if i should buy it or not... i've been waiting for that game so long.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-08, 09:32 PM   #6
Camp0rz
*BANNED*
 
Camp0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: black hills
Posts: 2,226
Default Re: Assassin Creed subtitled?

Could always spend the money you save from the sale/coupon on the game guide. That would probably help you through any of bits you would normally struggle with.

Cant really say for certain, as I've never played it.
Camp0rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-08, 09:45 PM   #7
Severian126
Y SO SRS?
 
Severian126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 973
Default Re: Assassin Creed subtitled?

If you're really interested in the game Naito, you can buy or rent it, and I'm sure the members on this board will be more than happy to assist you with any missions you're stuck at.
__________________
Chassis: Alienware P2 ALX Chassis
OS: Vista 32
Graphics Processor: 2x 768MB NVIDIA GeForce 8800 Ultra - SLI Enabled
Processor: Core 2 Extreme QX6850 3.0GHz 8MB Cache 1066MHz FSB - OC @ 3.2 GHz Liquid Cooled
Memory: 4GB Low Latency DDR2 Performance SDRAM at 1066MHz - 2 x 1024MB
Motherboard: NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI Motherboard
System Drive: Extreme Performance (RAID 0) - 320GB (2 x 160GB) Serial ATA 1.5Gb/s 10,000 RPM w/ 2 x 16MB Cache
Storage Drive: 500GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s 7,200 RPM w/ 16MB Cache
Power Supply: Alienware® 1000 Watt Multi-GPU Approved Power Supply
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster X-FI


XBOX LIVE: Kungfujoe126 - Catch me on NBA 2K9!
PSN: Severian126
Steam: Sever126

Currently Playing: Fallout 3 (PC), NBA 2k9! (360), Dead Space (PS3), Silent Hill Homecomings (360), Fable 2 (360)

Quote:
Do you know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who is in command here.
Severian126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-08, 02:09 AM   #8
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Assassin Creed subtitled?

that's true. i'm going to get it this friday. thanks for replying.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-23-08, 08:22 AM   #9
ralinn
Masters
 
ralinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK, England, Portsmouth
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Assassin Creed subtitled?

Wow, I was actually under the impression that subtitles are a requirement. I'm gonna have to look this up!

So, anyone know if they'll be including subtitles for the PC version (err, if there is one?)? It's pretty stupid that they didn't do it in the first place... :/
__________________
(CPU) Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz @ 1600MHz (ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6T DELUXE mainboard) (RAM) 3GB (HDD) 931GB
(GFX) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 (1GB), 1680x1050x32, 59Hz (OS) Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium (SP1)

3Dmark06 Score: Who the **** actually cares?
360 & PSN ID: ralinn
ralinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-08, 08:47 AM   #10
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Assassin Creed subtitled?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralinn
Wow, I was actually under the impression that subtitles are a requirement. I'm gonna have to look this up!

So, anyone know if they'll be including subtitles for the PC version (err, if there is one?)? It's pretty stupid that they didn't do it in the first place... :/
PC versions should have support for it
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-08, 06:46 PM   #11
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Assassin Creed subtitled?

i think from somewhere that they were going to have subtitles but due to new engine or whatever so they had to remove subtitles.

valve did such a great job to include, not just subtitle but more in their games. i kinda hope ubi would add that in next patch but i doubt it.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-08, 07:11 PM   #12
npras42
Hi Everybody!
 
npras42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Assassin Creed subtitled?

I hope you don't mind my personal question but how bad is your hearing? Are you like 100% deaf? If so, there must be alot of games that are just unplayable. AC would be fine if subtitled but shooters and many others must be impossible. You can't really sub a gunshot sound (well you could but it would be a bit pointless).
npras42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shock: Assassin's Creed III Probably Delayed On PC? News Archived News Items 0 06-23-12 12:40 PM
Daily Deal - Velvet Assassin, 66% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-12-12 09:00 PM
Assassin's Creed 3 multiplayer screenshots and information News Archived News Items 0 06-07-12 10:50 AM
Ubisoft Publisher Weekend - Day 3 - Assassin's Creed Franchise 50 to 75% off! News Archived News Items 0 05-19-12 10:40 PM
The First Gameplay Trailer from Assassin's Creed 3 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 11:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.