Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-08, 08:17 PM   #1
buicks suck
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 82
Default ping question

i just tested my connection with speed test.

i get 1722 kbps for upload and a ping of 119.

my question is why is the ping so high? is that the same ping i'd have if i were to play quake 3 over the net?

any answers would be appreciated=] i'm quite concerned.
buicks suck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-08, 08:19 PM   #2
buicks suck
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 82
Default Re: ping question

btw, i'm using the second fastest cox service.

i'm using a linksys wusb600n on my pc the one i tested.

using a wrt54g router on the other pc that i didn't test.
buicks suck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-08, 05:13 PM   #3
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: ping question

Quote:
Originally Posted by buicks suck View Post
i just tested my connection with speed test.

i get 1722 kbps for upload and a ping of 119.

my question is why is the ping so high? is that the same ping i'd have if i were to play quake 3 over the net?

any answers would be appreciated=] i'm quite concerned.
The ping value is a measure of latency. If you did the test by connecting to the actual server hosting the Quake 3 game you're playing at, then yes that would probably be your ping. If not, then your ping would be different.
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 02:52 AM   #4
henrybravo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 109
Default Re: ping question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butter Bandit View Post
In my experience, cable connections usually have a higher ping than DSL, or even dial-up, connections.
Do you work for the phone company or something? You're referring to cable latency many years ago when the cable networks first started offering internet. You're way off base now.

I'm on Cox cable in Tulsa, 12 mb down / 1 mb up. My ping times are:

www.yahoo.com 17 ms
Speedtest.net to Dallas (Filecloud) 14 ms
www.google.com 29 ms

HB
__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.7 GHz (47x100 @ 1.375v) cooled by XIGMATEK Aegir SD128264 Mega Killer | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
eVGA GTX 580 @ 851/1702/2097 | Corsair M4 64GB SSD (for OS drive) | Seagate 7200.12 1TB x2, WD Green 1TB x2 in RAID1 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer
Antec TPQ-850 power supply | Antec Twelve Hundred case | HP LP2475w monitor | Windows 7 Professional x64
henrybravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 03:00 AM   #5
henrybravo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 109
Default Re: ping question

Quote:
Originally Posted by buicks suck View Post
i just tested my connection with speed test.

i get 1722 kbps for upload and a ping of 119.

my question is why is the ping so high? is that the same ping i'd have if i were to play quake 3 over the net?

any answers would be appreciated=] i'm quite concerned.
Don't base your latency on just one site. If that site was saturated during the time of your test, or it is excessive network hops away from you, it will affect your ping times. Ping other sites and see what you get. Many sites don't respond to ping, but www.yahoo.com, your DNS servers, www.google.com, etc, are good tests.

HB
__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.7 GHz (47x100 @ 1.375v) cooled by XIGMATEK Aegir SD128264 Mega Killer | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
eVGA GTX 580 @ 851/1702/2097 | Corsair M4 64GB SSD (for OS drive) | Seagate 7200.12 1TB x2, WD Green 1TB x2 in RAID1 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer
Antec TPQ-850 power supply | Antec Twelve Hundred case | HP LP2475w monitor | Windows 7 Professional x64
henrybravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 04:00 AM   #6
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: ping question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butter Bandit View Post
In my experience, cable connections usually have a higher ping than DSL, or even dial-up, connections.

The difference is tiny, though...and your ping isn't that bad anyways.
Where do you get this from?

I ping cable modems all day long, and the latency is alot better than what I see on DSL modems.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-11, 12:03 PM   #7
DansFace
Registered User
 
DansFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 610
Default Re: ping question

run a tracert command and see if you can pin point where the latency is coming frmo
__________________
Now Playing: Skyrim & BF3

i5 2500k @ 5.0 GHZ cooled with a H70, ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3, CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) , Radeon 6970 2GB, X-Fi Music, and Corsair 650w
DansFace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-11, 04:03 PM   #8
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,060
Default Re: ping question

Quote:
Originally Posted by DansFace View Post
run a tracert command and see if you can pin point where the latency is coming frmo
+1
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-18-11, 07:18 AM   #9
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: ping question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butter Bandit View Post
In my experience, cable connections usually have a higher ping than DSL, or even dial-up, connections.

The difference is tiny, though...and your ping isn't that bad anyways.
In the old old old old days of cable (think back prior to 1997) this had a ring of truth to it, but not anymore. Your typical HFC (hybrid fiber-coax) cable network will see less than 10ms from your PC to the border gateway.

Your typical DSL connection on the other hand is not so lucky. DSL has to implement something called interleaving in order to create data parity to minimize dropped packets due to errors caused by noise on the line. Remember these still use the same old phone lines that your voice system uses; they just operate at an out of voice band frequency, not to mention the wiring can be pretty old. The amount of interleaving varies depending on your distance from the DSLAM and the quality of the wiring, but it will vary from 15ms to 50ms.

So you have to keep in mind, that this latency is just from the point to point connection from the modem to the DSLAM alone. We haven't even figured in latency to the first border gateway.

Also unlike DSL, cable uses shielded wiring from end to end, so most of these issues don't apply to it.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mandrake 9.0 and Nvidia 1.0-3123 FINALLY!!!! Now for a question. jthompson7051 NVIDIA Linux 1 10-07-02 02:17 PM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 05:24 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 11:46 PM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 10:39 AM
Re: MCP exam question MUYA Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 4 08-11-02 01:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.