Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-02, 05:09 PM   #1
sk8bloke22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 26
Default a little help :)

okay im planning to get some new hardware, and theres a few things i would like to know.

firstly, this is wat i plan to get:

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=39089

if u cant be arse to read it, its a ledtek twinfast II, basically a bundle including a ledtek nforce motherboard (nforce1, not nforce2) and a ledtek 64 gf4ti4200 (this version has a MASSIVE heatsink covering the whole card). also im gonna get a Athlon XP2000+ and 512DDr 2100. ive got everything else on my old pc, which includes an audigy, 40gig harddrive, 19"monitor, tv card, winxp pro, and the usual other accessories.

a few questions i would like to ask.

firstly, wat do u reckon of that ledtek bundle, i mean its damn cheap, but how good is the nforce?

secondly, wat r ppls opinions on getting a 64meg ti4200 over a 128...the 64meg is clocked higher, but the 128 is more future proof for games like DoomIII (plus the 64meg is included in that bundle, so i wanna know if ill be losing out much).

next, if I use my old harddrive with the new mobo, does need formatting? If not, then can i just leave winxp installed, and when i run the pc with the new components for the first time it should go straight into winxp hassle free?

thanks a lot, ill apreciate any replies.
sk8bloke22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-02, 05:11 PM   #2
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

the nForce is great, but I've heard some strange things about the Leadtek one.
I'd check out some reviews and user comments before buying.
nforcershq.com might have some in the forums

I have no opinion on the gf4ti....except that i'd get a 4400
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-02, 05:30 PM   #3
sk8bloke22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 26
Default

yeh, but the ledtek card has such good cooling that it apparently can outperform a 4400 when overclocked, and can remain stable due to the cooling (included a pic, btw that heatsink goes round the other side of the board as well).

anyway thanks for the quick reply, really wanna know the answer to my third question tho, im real unsure whether or not changing mobo/cpu will mean i will need to format my hdd.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	leadtw15bg.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	61.6 KB
ID:	159  
sk8bloke22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-02, 05:53 PM   #4
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

If you can manage to wait just a little bit longer, you'll likely be able to get an nForce2 board. The differences will definitely justify the wait. This isn't to say that the nForce1 board is bad...just that you would be much more future-proof and happy with the nForce2. Plus, prices on the GF4's should be dropping sharply within the next few weeks....

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-02, 05:58 PM   #5
sk8bloke22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 26
Default

wont the nforce2 be expensive? plus i am on a budget of about 300-400.

i know agp 8x sounds tempting enuff, but the prices will be pretty expensive.

the costs so far:

Ledtek gf4ti4200 + Ledtek 415D nforce motherboard = 150
512ddr ram, roughly 80-90
AthlonXP2000 + heatsink/fan = 80-90

= max 320...which is pretty damn cheap if u ask me?

also wats the reason for the geforce price drop...the 9700 by any chance?
sk8bloke22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-02, 06:16 PM   #6
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sk8bloke22
yeh, but the ledtek card has such good cooling that it apparently can outperform a 4400 when overclocked, and can remain stable due to the cooling (included a pic, btw that heatsink goes round the other side of the board as well).

anyway thanks for the quick reply, really wanna know the answer to my third question tho, im real unsure whether or not changing mobo/cpu will mean i will need to format my hdd.
Usually you need to reinstall. Whether or not that means formatting is up to you.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-02, 06:22 PM   #7
sk8bloke22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 26
Default

hmmm...so basically wat would happen if i stuck my old hdd in this new system, and turn the pc on...(without originally formatting the hdd). would it ask to instal windows, or will it be able to find winxp installed on the harddrive...
sk8bloke22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-02, 07:48 PM   #8
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

winxp will probably load and promptly crash and burn
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-24-02, 06:41 AM   #9
sk8bloke22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 26
Default

lol, thats either sarcasm or a hint just to use a clean hdd and install windows from there. the only reason i asked was cos now im gonna need to copy a bunch of stuff to cdr, but luckily much of my stuff is already backed up so its not really that big an issue.
sk8bloke22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-02, 10:44 AM   #10
sk8bloke22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 26
Default

okay, another question (im very grateful for the help so far).

how do i know if my current powersupply in my pc case is gonna be good enuff for a new mobo/cpu. i looked at it todat, and it says its 250w.
sk8bloke22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-02, 11:21 AM   #11
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sk8bloke22
okay, another question (im very grateful for the help so far).

how do i know if my current powersupply in my pc case is gonna be good enuff for a new mobo/cpu. i looked at it todat, and it says its 250w.
It probably won't
and if you do upgrade, I'd have to suggest a TruePower 420w type setup (theres also a PurePower and a Vantec stealth PSU that are very nice) just so your sys has some room to breathe
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-02, 12:37 PM   #12
sk8bloke22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 26
Default

thanks a lot. uve been a great help.
sk8bloke22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.