Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-08, 11:55 AM   #1
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default How do I know if its a falcon

The replacement box from the rrod repair has a manufacturing date of 21 december 2007, but I am not really sure its a falcon. How do I check if its a falcon???
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-08, 12:20 PM   #2
spirited1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 194
Default Re: How do I know if its a falcon

http://loot-ninja.com/2007/12/18/how...hy-you-should/
__________________
Athlon 64 4000+ ~~ Asrock 939 Dual SATA2 ~~ 2GB Geil Value PC3200 ~~ XFX 7900GT EE ~~ Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ~~ LITE-ON SOWH 1693S DVD RW ~~ SB Audigy 2 ZS
spirited1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-08, 01:30 PM   #3
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: How do I know if its a falcon

is this info anywhere other than the box? I heard that these replacements are generally refurbished boxes that have a new serial #
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-08, 03:33 PM   #4
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: How do I know if its a falcon

On the outside of the newer boxes there is a white sticker, on the bottom left it should read "175w" instead of "205w"
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-08, 04:48 PM   #5
Fuku2
Metal Guitarist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 358
Default Re: How do I know if its a falcon

It should have a little Han Solo in it.
__________________
Asus P8P67 Pro
Intel Core i7 2600 3.40 GHz
2x Gigabyte GTX 570 1GB SLI
8 Gigs Kingston 1333 DD3
Asus VH238H 23" LED 2ms
WD 1TB Caviar Black 64MB cache SATA 6 Gb/s
CM Silent Pro 850 Watt

Band: http://www.myspace.com/hollowappostle
Fuku2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-08, 04:56 PM   #6
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: How do I know if its a falcon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuku2
It should have a little Han Solo in it.
And a chewbacca ?
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-08, 05:23 PM   #7
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: How do I know if its a falcon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyme
On the outside of the newer boxes there is a white sticker, on the bottom left it should read "175w" instead of "205w"
Well, replacements dont come in a box...they just come with the console, for what we send in!!!!
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-08, 11:22 PM   #8
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: How do I know if its a falcon

Quote:
Originally Posted by tornadog
Well, replacements dont come in a box...they just come with the console, for what we send in!!!!
Oh sorry, in which case look at the sticker on the back of the console that says what it's power requirements are. The sticker is near the graphics port.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-08, 12:37 AM   #9
S.I.N
UnRegistered User
 
S.I.N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: All over
Posts: 1,761
Default Re: How do I know if its a falcon

Wait six more weeks and you should have an answer.
S.I.N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-08, 12:44 AM   #10
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: How do I know if its a falcon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyme
Oh sorry, in which case look at the sticker on the back of the console that says what it's power requirements are. The sticker is near the graphics port.
nothing on the sticker that says abt the power requirements....it has a hitachi drive though!!!
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-08, 05:54 AM   #11
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: How do I know if its a falcon

Quote:
Originally Posted by tornadog
The replacement box from the rrod repair has a manufacturing date of 21 december 2007, but I am not really sure its a falcon. How do I check if its a falcon???
With that manufacturing date, it must have the 65nm CPU in it.

By now, the 90nm CPUs stock should have been completely exhausted. Your replacement probably came out straight out of the assembly line, considering the date when it was manufactured.
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-08, 11:41 AM   #12
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: How do I know if its a falcon

Quote:
Originally Posted by msxyz
With that manufacturing date, it must have the 65nm CPU in it.

By now, the 90nm CPUs stock should have been completely exhausted. Your replacement probably came out straight out of the assembly line, considering the date when it was manufactured.
The stock had not been exhausted in Canada when I sent my console in a couple of weeks ago.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New DLC Available - Airline Tycoon 2 Falcon Airlines News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 06:30 PM
SpaceX In Orbit - Successful Launch of Falcon 9 Rocket News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 07:10 AM
FalconNW and Voodoo under ATI 9700 spell!!! mizzer Other Desktop Graphics Cards 12 09-20-02 07:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.