Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-08, 09:27 PM   #13
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

My eVGA 680i has been running great since November 06.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-08, 10:03 PM   #14
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

My hp blackbird 002 Asus Striker Extreme 680i Also runs smooth! I think it was more of hp working the bios revision over with v5.05 because on boot the screen bios loads hp blackbird 002 and it's not an Asus bios for the record.
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-08, 10:13 PM   #15
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

umm... thats great, mines doesn't, what does that have to do with my post?
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-08, 11:11 PM   #16
Harnagel
Lurker
 
Harnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 280
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

They're just pouring a little salt in the wound...

Seriously though, that sucks man. I hope they get it sorted out for you. Does nvidia realize how many costumers they're loosing? I guess not if everyone's just eating the cost, but it's gonna bite them in the end.
__________________
Q6600-G0 @ 3.6 |GA-X38-DS4 | 4x2048MB DDR2-800 | Raptor 150 | BFG 8800GTS 512MB
Harnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-08, 11:13 PM   #17
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

even if the next nvidia board descended out of the heavens and was plated in gold and granted everlasting life.. you still couldn't get me to go near it
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-08, 10:33 AM   #18
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,068
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

Sorry to hear that man, have you thought about putting it on ebay? Then just get a intel chipset.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-08, 10:43 AM   #19
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

Both my Striker Extreme and Abit IN9-32X MAX have just died. The striker after 10 months and the Abit as soon as I tried to put a card in the bottom PCI-E slot. I got the infamous 'A0' error code (northbridge hardware failure). As soon as I said 'A0' to the guy at the shop he handed me my cash back. I guess it's a common problem.

As good as the P5K Prem was I just couldn't go back to not having SLI. Fingers crossed the Striker II Formula will be better. It's perfect ATM.

After the Striker Extreme, the P5K seemed to be so featureless. Good and stable, but missing alot of stuff i've gotten used to. Also the new mobo has 'load-line calibration'
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-08, 11:28 AM   #20
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

I've only gotten the FF error code
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-29-08, 11:36 AM   #21
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

FF = fully functional

nice, well I hope this 680i works well for at least a month or two until I can get another board

last night I took everything out of my case and transplanted my Abit AW8-Max... gotta wait for the RMA on my memory as well. Now where did I put my Corsair 667 DDR2

Man I've had the best luck with this build, I've had to RMA my video card twice and now the motherboard twice. First time for the memory tho, hope the cpu or the psu or my HD don't decide to go as well..
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-08, 01:25 PM   #22
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

Mines becoming alittle unstable now, had it since it came out, sent a number of emails to ABIT but the f**kers won't email back. Needless to say atleast you can RMA yours.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-08, 01:53 PM   #23
Libertysyclone
I Lie about MPG
 
Libertysyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 531
Send a message via MSN to Libertysyclone
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

I went through 5, kept getting the double dash error....

I bought a P5K deluxe and have never looked back.

I miss the Nforce 4 days.


I would like NVIDIA memory controllers back as well as their network perf.
__________________
System=
Q6600@3.8Ghz/ EVGA 790i Ultra/ EVGA 9800GX2/ and some H20
Libertysyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-08, 07:16 AM   #24
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: bye bye 680i #2...

I wonder just how much all these failures have cost nVidia, mobo makers and even us end users. I'd be very supprised if anyone had made a good profit overall.

When a 680i board fails due to a bad chipset, who has to foot the bill. Is in on nVidia, the mobo maker or both? Just wondering. I recon about 1/3 to 1/2 of all 680i boards fail in the 1st year. That's a total guess but I bet i'm not far off.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bye Intel The Baron General Hardware 45 09-24-02 05:26 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.