Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-08, 08:19 AM   #25
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

there are alot of lcd screens out there whtch are were you get ghosting it is not the hz it is the lcd
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-08, 09:20 AM   #26
newfiejudd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 135
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

I have a dell 2407 and in Wow if I set it to 75hz instead of 60 there is a noticeable smoothness increase. Even in crysis the game skips seem to dissapear at 75hz. (running Vista 32/64 bit Ultimate)
__________________
Intel QX6850 Extreme
Asus Striker extreme 680i
EVGA 750i @ 3.5 Ghz
EVGA GTX 280(Soon to be SLI)
4 Gigs of Corsair 8500
Vista 32/ Vista 64
Cosmos S Case
X-Fi Extreme Gamer
TT Extreme 120
newfiejudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-08, 11:38 AM   #27
BronzeGod
Kanye West is emo
 
BronzeGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,099
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

my 226BW is no POS lol, look at the new LCD TVs. Why are they 120hz?
__________________
>>>>In MikeC We Trust<<<<
BronzeGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-08, 12:04 PM   #28
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by newfiejudd
I have a dell 2407 and in Wow if I set it to 75hz instead of 60 there is a noticeable smoothness increase. Even in crysis the game skips seem to dissapear at 75hz. (running Vista 32/64 bit Ultimate)
the 2407wfp cant do 75 at native without forcing it and you can kill it over time
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-08, 12:44 PM   #29
Red_Shift
MESA
 
Red_Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Leiria, Portugal
Posts: 210
Send a message via MSN to Red_Shift
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

LCDs work different from CRT but yes they also have refresh rates, which is the rate frames are updated on the screen. The difference lies in that CRTs have to update the entire frame where LCDs only update the necessary pixels, by changing the polarization of the correspondent liquid crystal, and that's where response time comes in, it's the time crystals take to change their polarization since the response to the electrical field is not instantaneous.
So yes LCDs runs smoother at higher refresh rates, and obviously with lower response times.
__________________

Asus P4P800 (socket 865PE) || P4 2,6C @ 3,25Ghz|| 1Gb PC3200 Twinmos CL2.5-3-3-8
Asus V9999GT 128Mb DDR @ 400/850
Seagate 80Gb ATA 7200rpm 2mb cache || DVD-RW TDK 16x +/-R, 4xDL || CD-RW Samsung 48x24x48x
Enermax Noisetaker 375W
Red_Shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-08, 01:13 PM   #30
BronzeGod
Kanye West is emo
 
BronzeGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,099
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

THANK YOU, so i'm NOT crazy! or blind.....
__________________
>>>>In MikeC We Trust<<<<
BronzeGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-08, 01:27 PM   #31
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by BronzeGod
my 226BW is no POS lol, look at the new LCD TVs. Why are they 120hz?
Because they can handle 60fps (x2)and 24 fps (x5) with vsync.
Running VSYNC on a LCD will indeed appear smoother with high refresh rates.
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-08, 01:52 PM   #32
BronzeGod
Kanye West is emo
 
BronzeGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,099
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

Yea, I run with vsync and triple buffering.
__________________
>>>>In MikeC We Trust<<<<
BronzeGod is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-05-08, 02:46 PM   #33
Try4Ce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 150
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

lol, when I run this check on the Vantage page my system score is far to the right, beyond the "2" for recommended systems... But the test says: "Close, but no Cigar. Your system doesnt meet the mininum requirements" ... pwned
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E4300@2,8Ghz
4GB Corsair DDR2 667 Memory
MSI P43 Neo-F
Palit GeForce 260GTX 216 @ Stock
Try4Ce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 10:16 PM   #34
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

Pics look good.. although I don't see anything there that can't be done with DX9/SM3.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 01:53 AM   #35
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

Dev Diary #1:

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/30291.html?type=flv
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 08:10 PM   #36
KasuCode
Wiley
 
KasuCode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via AIM to KasuCode
Default Re: 3DMark Vantage Screenshots

Sounds great. Explanes why its DX10 only.
__________________

Check Out
~CrossWater~
KasuCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assassin's Creed 3 multiplayer screenshots and information News Archived News Items 0 06-07-12 09:50 AM
Company of Heroes 2 screenshots show a snowy town, tank columns and pyromania News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 08:00 PM
Computex: 3DMark Announces Windows 8 Benchmarking - First Screenshots News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 06:30 PM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
3DMark, Fastest Webmasters and Me. intercede007 Benchmarking And Overclocking 4 08-17-02 10:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.