Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-02, 11:47 AM   #1
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Need help with SCSI & EpoX 8K3A

Yo, Okay I've been searching through the forums looking at different posts trying to find a solution to my problem...

I have the following specs:
8K3A - 8/15/2002 BIOS
512MB - OCZ PC3000 RAM
Geforce 4 Ti4400
LSI-Logic LSIU160 SCSI HBA - PCI Slot 2
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz - PCI Slot 3
3com NIC - PCI Slot 4
Fujitsu 36.7 10K RPM SCSI
2xIBM 60GB HD's
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM
Sony 10x4x32x CDRW
Sony 21" G-520
misc periph's

The problem is that my Internet speed has slowed considerably (Pre-SCSI 300-400K/s, Post-SCSI <150K/s) since I installed the SCSI controller. I've played the PCI slot game, but I think that my only answer will be to get the NIC card on its own IRQ. I am thinking that I will reformat and just install Windows 2000 again as well, because I don't trust Microsofts drivers in XP.

Also I was thinking of moving the NIC card to PCI 3 and my SC to 4 or 6, that way my NIC card would be isolated. Also I was considering disabling ACPI & PNP when I install everything. Let me know what you guys think, or if it will even help.

Peace!

PS here's the Sharing Layout for the Epox 8K3A
-
PCI slot 1 and your AGP Card
PCI Slot 2 and your Highpoint controller (if you have a + board)
PCI slot 3, PCI slot 5, and onboard sound
PCI slot 4, PCI slot 6, and onboard USB
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-02, 03:36 PM   #2
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

I still think the best setup would be...

AGP....
PCI1 = Empty
PCI2 = SCSI Card
PCI3 = Soundcard
PCI4 = NicCard

Have you tried playing with your PCI Latency time in the Bios, although i dont hink it will make that much of a difference Try it at 64 or even 128 instead of the default 32.

I have a similar setup with an IDE Raid card in slot 2 with my sound in 3 and nic card in 4. Then my TV card in slot 6.

Also going to Win2k will probably make it worse.... But i am curious to see your results of re-installing windows without ACPI enabled. I think im going to try that next time i format.
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-02, 07:35 PM   #3
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Cool SCSI and Windows XP Pro or Home Edition

There's a bug in this OS with SCSI Drives Go to Storagereview.com, But microsoft is working on the fix, They say a 5400 rpm budget drive outpreformed a Segate Cheetah 15k.3 in write speeds in small files. So go there and read the forums and get the update to the fixes for this I read this in septembers months mag Maxium PC., Page 20 Review called Watchdog. Get a copy of maximum Pc or subsribe for only a buck a issue for a year, good price.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.

Last edited by fasedww; 08-27-02 at 07:46 PM.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebooting all the time - EPOX 8K5a2+ JemyM CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 5 10-01-02 07:55 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.