Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-08, 10:39 AM   #1
happyfunbot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works

To lay the groundwork, I've got 169.09 installed, as well as xorg 7.3.

On my work machine, which has an ATI board, I use the open source radeonhd driver. xrandr seems to work as I expect on two monitors (1920x1200 and 1280x1024) in fakerama (i.e., one X display, :0.0) with a very simple configuration:

Code:
Section "Device"
        Identifier      "Console"
        VendorName      "ATI"
        BoardName       "X1550"
        Driver          "radeonhd"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Screen 0"
        Device          "Console"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection "Display"
                Virtual 3200 1200
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier      "Default Layout"
        Screen          "Screen 0"
        InputDevice     "Generic Keyboard"
        InputDevice     "Configured Mouse" "CorePointer"
EndSection
To wit:

Code:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3200 x 1200, maximum 3200 x 1200
DVI-I_1/analog disconnected
DVI-I_1/digital connected 1920x1200+0+0 519mm x 324mm
   1920x1200      60.0*+
   1600x1200      59.9  
   1680x1050      59.9  
   1280x1024      75.0     59.9  
   1152x864       74.9  
   1024x768       75.1     60.0  
   800x600        75.0     60.3  
   640x480        75.0     60.0  
   720x400        70.1  
TV_SVIDEO disconnected
DVI-I_2/analog disconnected
DVI-I_2/digital connected 1280x1024+1920+0 359mm x 287mm
   1280x1024      60.0*+   84.9     75.0     59.9  
   1280x960       84.8     59.9  
   1152x864       75.0     74.9  
   1024x768       84.9     75.1     70.1     60.0  
   832x624        74.6  
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
   640x480        84.4     75.0     72.8     66.7     60.0  
   720x400        70.1
I can adjust the resolution, rotation, refresh, etc. of each monitor individually, but keep them within the same :0.0 display, thus allowing me to move windows between them, etc.

At home, I have an NVidia board with two 1920x1200 monitors that seems to require TwinView to get the two monitors on the same :0.0 display. No matter what I try, unless I activate TwinView, I can't get the two monitors to share a display. Unfortunately, randr isn't very useful in this mode, since the nvidia driver reports only a virtual display:

Code:
Screen 0: minimum 3840 x 1200, current 3840 x 1200, maximum 3840 x 1200
default connected 3840x1200+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   3840x1200      50.0*
This clearly eliminates the usefulness of the randr extension and disallows me from dynamically adjusting the resolution or refresh of one of the displays when watching a DVD, using MythTV, or playing games.

Is there something I am misunderstanding, or is the nvidia driver simply not capable of supporting randr in an interesting way (yet)? I'd love to hear that there's some configuration I have simply not tried yet.
happyfunbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-08, 10:47 AM   #2
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works

Quote:
Originally Posted by happyfunbot
At home, I have an NVidia board with two 1920x1200 monitors that seems to require TwinView to get the two monitors on the same :0.0 display. No matter what I try, unless I activate TwinView, I can't get the two monitors to share a display. Unfortunately, randr isn't very useful in this mode, since the nvidia driver reports only a virtual display:

Code:
Screen 0: minimum 3840 x 1200, current 3840 x 1200, maximum 3840 x 1200
default connected 3840x1200+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   3840x1200      50.0*
This clearly eliminates the usefulness of the randr extension and disallows me from dynamically adjusting the resolution or refresh of one of the displays when watching a DVD, using MythTV, or playing games.

Is there something I am misunderstanding, or is the nvidia driver simply not capable of supporting randr in an interesting way (yet)? I'd love to hear that there's some configuration I have simply not tried yet.
I guess you're looking for "metamodes" option,
see
Chapter 13
for more information...
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-08, 10:49 AM   #3
happyfunbot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works

Quote:
Originally Posted by chunkey
I guess you're looking for "metamodes" option,
see
Chapter 13
for more information...
Why do I have to enumerate all the possible modes? Doesn't the driver know what modes are possible for each monitor given the EDID information? I'm confused about the need for this complexity considering the radeonhd driver just figures it out.
happyfunbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-08, 02:27 PM   #4
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works

happyfunbot,

The driver does not yet support RandR 1.2, but it already supports display configuration through nvidia-settings.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-08, 03:50 PM   #5
happyfunbot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronP
happyfunbot,

The driver does not yet support RandR 1.2, but it already supports display configuration through nvidia-settings.
Okay, so I'm not going insane.

When is this support expected? It's pretty key for systems like MythTV, which do automatic resolution and refresh rate changes using RandR to improve performance and experience.
happyfunbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-11, 05:15 PM   #6
MaDDeePee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 41
Default Re: randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works

Looking for an alternative to Xinerama or TwinView (4 screen setup with Compiz), Randr 1.2 isn't still supported yet. Can someone confirm this?

Code:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 175, current 1680 x 1050, maximum 1680 x 1050
default connected 1680x1050+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1680x1050      50.0* 
   1400x1050      51.0     52.0  
   1280x1024      53.0     54.0     55.0  
   1280x960       56.0     57.0  
   1152x864       58.0  
   1024x768       59.0     60.0     61.0     62.0     63.0     64.0  
   960x720        65.0     66.0  
   928x696        67.0     68.0  
   896x672        69.0     70.0  
   832x624        71.0  
   800x600        72.0     73.0     74.0     75.0     76.0     77.0     78.0     79.0     80.0     81.0  
   720x400        82.0  
   700x525        83.0     84.0  
   640x512        85.0     86.0     87.0  
   640x480        88.0     89.0     90.0     91.0     92.0     93.0     94.0     95.0  
   640x400        96.0  
   640x350        97.0  
   576x432        98.0  
   512x384        99.0    100.0    101.0    102.0    103.0  
   416x312       104.0  
   400x300       105.0    106.0    107.0    108.0    109.0  
   360x200       110.0  
   320x240       111.0    112.0    113.0    114.0  
   320x200       115.0  
   320x175       116.0
I guess for that reason i can only get a "default" connected?
Now, that JoGL with Xinerama is broken its about time a get a workaround for people using >= 3 Screens.
No matter if you expand twinview or fix Xinerama support...im not complaining about missing Compiz...but i need JoGL @ >= 3 Screens.

Help much appreciated.
(No, i don't want to buy some expensive DVI-splitter...)
"02-01-08, 02:27 PM AaronP" (...)
MaDDeePee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vizio's Co-Star: $99 Google TV box with OnLive gaming support News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 11:40 AM
Opera 12 arrives with webcam APIs and experimental WebGL support News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 12:30 AM
Canonical partners with Microsoft to support Ubuntu on Azure News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.