Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-08, 12:58 PM   #1
test4echo
Registered User
 
test4echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 66
Default Integrated HDTV Digital Tuner Unscrambles??

Hi Ya fellas,


I figured it out. Now i get more channels than i ever dreamed I would.
__________________
Dell (yes I know, it was cheap) XPS 600, Pentium® D Processor 840 with Dual Core Technology (3.40GHz, 800FSB)2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MH , PSU 650 watts ,512MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX, Sound Blaster® X-Fi™ XtremeMusic (D), w/Dolby® Digital 5.1,10/100 Linksys NIC 20 inch UltraSharp™ 2006FWP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel.
test4echo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-08, 11:23 PM   #2
Zeta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 373
Default Re: Integrated HDTV Digital Tuner Unscrambles??

I would start here

They should be able to answer that question.
Zeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-08, 12:03 AM   #3
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Integrated HDTV Digital Tuner Unscrambles??

__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-08, 10:20 AM   #4
test4echo
Registered User
 
test4echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 66
Default Re: Integrated HDTV Digital Tuner Unscrambles??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeta
I would start here

They should be able to answer that question.

BOO HOO........
__________________
Dell (yes I know, it was cheap) XPS 600, Pentium® D Processor 840 with Dual Core Technology (3.40GHz, 800FSB)2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MH , PSU 650 watts ,512MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX, Sound Blaster® X-Fi™ XtremeMusic (D), w/Dolby® Digital 5.1,10/100 Linksys NIC 20 inch UltraSharp™ 2006FWP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel.
test4echo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-08, 01:53 PM   #5
S.I.N
UnRegistered User
 
S.I.N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: All over
Posts: 1,761
Default Re: Integrated HDTV Digital Tuner Unscrambles??

You mean built in TV tuners? You figured those out?
S.I.N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-08, 03:46 PM   #6
test4echo
Registered User
 
test4echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 66
Default Re: Integrated HDTV Digital Tuner Unscrambles??

Sorry SIN I didn't mean it like it came out.

No I didn't figure a way to have an HDTV ATSC/QAM tuner unscramble cable.

I just figured out how and why I was able to receive my neighborhoods OnDemand Purchases.
I never knew that if you tune into your cable providers ondemand channels (such as 89-6, 89-7) your could actually watch PPV events and movies that your neighbors ordered. The caveat is that you have no power over the channel.
If your neighbor is watching a PORN and you tune in, if he finishes fast and changes the channels you also loose the channel.....lol
But hey, it was cool discovery.

test,
__________________
Dell (yes I know, it was cheap) XPS 600, Pentium® D Processor 840 with Dual Core Technology (3.40GHz, 800FSB)2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MH , PSU 650 watts ,512MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX, Sound Blaster® X-Fi™ XtremeMusic (D), w/Dolby® Digital 5.1,10/100 Linksys NIC 20 inch UltraSharp™ 2006FWP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel.
test4echo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-08, 04:42 PM   #7
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Integrated HDTV Digital Tuner Unscrambles??

That is only because you have a cheap cable provider. The ones around here encrypt all those channels per the cable box. Simply tuning to the same channel as someone on the same loop who has ordered a movie, gives you nothing.

ps: Stop stealing cable.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-08, 09:20 PM   #8
test4echo
Registered User
 
test4echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 66
Default Re: Integrated HDTV Digital Tuner Unscrambles??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyme
That is only because you have a cheap cable provider. The ones around here encrypt all those channels per the cable box. Simply tuning to the same channel as someone on the same loop who has ordered a movie, gives you nothing.

ps: Stop stealing cable.
Ummm this actually not stealing. ANYONE with an HDTV/QAM tuner has this ability. As long as you have basic cable.

Actually these channels ARE encrypted. After someone tunes in and begins watching it then becomes unscrambled. I'm not sure why it does this but its common everywhere.


test,
__________________
Dell (yes I know, it was cheap) XPS 600, Pentium® D Processor 840 with Dual Core Technology (3.40GHz, 800FSB)2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MH , PSU 650 watts ,512MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX, Sound Blaster® X-Fi™ XtremeMusic (D), w/Dolby® Digital 5.1,10/100 Linksys NIC 20 inch UltraSharp™ 2006FWP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel.
test4echo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-09-08, 05:48 PM   #9
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: Integrated HDTV Digital Tuner Unscrambles??

I have a LG TV that decodes quite a few digital and HD channels (we have basic cable) I get around 30 digital including starz HBO and a few porn at night. They change teris tho like from 85-4 to 85-6 ect. but who cares its free
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 09:43 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.