Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-08, 04:19 PM   #1
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

Specifically after I rescue the hostage in the school, the whole base is looking for you with soldiers and tanks and stuff, and fps goes down to 19, lowering res won't help. Any known tweaks?
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-08, 07:01 PM   #2
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

Get faster CPU &,or perhaps drop the quality settings down esp particles/post processing/physics i suppose.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-08, 10:26 PM   #3
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokishi
Specifically after I rescue the hostage in the school, the whole base is looking for you with soldiers and tanks and stuff, and fps goes down to 19, lowering res won't help. Any known tweaks?
LOL you have a damn killer system and youre complaining over bad FPS in firefights?

Youre beyond me! anw all u can do is either getting QX9770 and 3-way SLI or lowering your settings.
__________________
Who is bigman....who is kevpla...riddles in the dark
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-08, 10:27 PM   #4
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

That is from the particle effects, so perhaps tweaking some settings to lower/remove particles (or some of them).
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-08, 01:37 AM   #5
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Thumbs up Re: How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

fighting lots of koreans? call Rambo !
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-08, 02:11 AM   #6
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

Crysis runs ok ONLY if you either set the resolution low and keep settings high or keep settings at medium and crank the resolution. I am finding it very difficult to get settings I like... at 1920x1200 Medium it runs fine but looks bad (in comparison to High settings, mainly Shader setting), and at 1440x900 High I always get over 20fps but it looks blurry and kinda bad

The lack of real AF due to the design of the ground doesn't help either...
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-08, 02:29 AM   #7
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=DVS=-
fighting lots of koreans? call Rambo !
lol..the RAMBO Rig
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-08, 02:32 AM   #8
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

On my meager setup, it is quite playable at 1680x1050, no AA, no AF, and all in game options set to "High". And it doesn't look half bad either. At some points it will get kinda' sluggish, but they soon pass.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-11-08, 02:35 AM   #9
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

I decided to just camp the stairs and kill them as they came up. Once most of them were dead the lag stopped. Whats funny is that even when I dropped everything to low, it still was 20 fps when I saw them all outside

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-08, 11:33 AM   #10
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

do you play at full res Bokishi?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-08, 11:43 AM   #11
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

I'm guessing 1920x1200.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-08, 11:58 AM   #12
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: How do I make Crysis run better when fighting lots of koreans?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
I'm guessing 1920x1200.
More than likely.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.