Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-08, 04:50 AM   #1
Anihil8r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default Q6600 overheating while Idle..

First off, I will get my specs outta the way:

Mobo: Gigabyte n650sli DS4L (bios version F2)
CPU: Q6600 stock settings
GPU: Leadtek 8800GT 512MB
RAM:4 GiG 800Mhz
Vista 32 bit.

I have had this computer for about 3 months now, been running nicely even through some of the hot summer days of 40 degrees plus (celcius).

Anyway, my CPU temp used to idle around 37-40 and hit around the mid 50's after a couple hours of playing crysis, right now apparantly it is 68 C idle!

However, if I were to restart my PC and obtain the temp from the bios it tells me my CPU temp is 37 C and my System temp is the one that is 67 C.

I have a Soprano thermaltake case with 2x 120mm fans in an exhaust setup so I cant see how my case could be that hot, its probably about 25 C ambient room temp right now, and my mobo temp is 34 C.


Anyone know what could be going on?

I have been using everest ultimate to check my system temps for a couple months now and all of a sudden it is telling me my CPU temp is 2 degress away from reaching its maximum temperature, and I have a CPU utilization of 1!

These readings cant be right, can they?
Anihil8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 05:16 AM   #2
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: Q6600 overheating while Idle..

try other programs.
such as speedfan or coretemp
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 06:29 AM   #3
Anihil8r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Q6600 overheating while Idle..

Yeah, I have tried several..results as follows:

Core Temp & Everest:
C0: 44C
C1: 42C
C2: 42C
C3: 39C

SpeedFan 4.33:
Temp1: 68C
Temp2: 32C
Temp3: -2C

Core 0:28C
Core1:25C
Core2:27C
Core3:23C

Seem odd?
Anihil8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 07:53 AM   #4
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Q6600 overheating while Idle..

Core temp usually isn't wrong, and that looks fine. I'd say you're ok, but if you're worried about it, reseat your HSF.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 08:13 AM   #5
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Q6600 overheating while Idle..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anihil8r
Yeah, I have tried several..results as follows:

Core Temp & Everest:
C0: 44C
C1: 42C
C2: 42C
C3: 39C

SpeedFan 4.33:
Temp1: 68C
Temp2: 32C
Temp3: -2C

Core 0:28C
Core1:25C
Core2:27C
Core3:23C

Seem odd?
SpeedFan does not properly display Q6600 temperatures. Per core, it is off by something like 15 degrees or more.

The everest temps are appropriate and are nothing to worry about.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.