Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-08, 12:12 AM   #1
RaidenWoW
ಠ_ಠ
 
RaidenWoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 737
Default Cosmos 1000 mod. Need advice.

If you have a cosmos 1000, you know it doesn't have enough air intake. That's why with the Cosmos 1010, they added a side 120mm fan. Well I don't want to do something that's permanently an eyesore if I mess up so I decided to find a spot where i could mess up, but still hide it.


If you have a cosmos 1000, imagine the area I'm talking about.

In the front of the case below the dvd drive areas and even more frontal than the hard drive enclosures is a sheet metal piece with no holes in it. In front of that (on the very front,) is a mesh black screen.

I was thinking that I could take the thing apart, drill holes in that area, and install a 120mm front intake fan that would go through the black mesh (as a filter) and increase intake airflow without it being an eyesore. If you look there, there's definitely enough room to install a 120mm, 140mm, maybe even bigger fan.

What do you all think? DiscipleDOC please help me out on this one.

Edit: kind of what like this guy did, only make air come through the front (to the right of the fan he installed)
__________________
ヽ(`Д)ノ
[/eVGA 8800GTS 640mb OC630mhz eVGA 8800GTS G92 eVGA 9800GTX G92] Gigabyte Radeon 6870 | Q6600 @ 2.92ghz Zalman 9700 45c-55c | Crucial M4 64g | eVga 790i Ultra [/Asus Striker Extreme]
RaidenWoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 03:18 AM   #2
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Cosmos 1000 mod. Need advice.

I like my mod. I called it

"Buy a Stacker." ::

I am a big help aint I? ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 03:37 AM   #3
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Cosmos 1000 mod. Need advice.

I modded crainger. He now hath suck.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 04:23 AM   #4
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Cosmos 1000 mod. Need advice.

How did you test him??
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 04:31 AM   #5
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Cosmos 1000 mod. Need advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
How did you test him??
Personally. Every hour on the hour.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 04:51 AM   #6
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Cosmos 1000 mod. Need advice.

BTW Raiden. It sounds like you have a good idea there. I would also think about having an intake in the bottom of the case below the hard drives. And tidy up dem wires, dammit
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 02:44 PM   #7
RaidenWoW
ಠ_ಠ
 
RaidenWoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 737
Default Re: Cosmos 1000 mod. Need advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
BTW Raiden. It sounds like you have a good idea there. I would also think about having an intake in the bottom of the case below the hard drives. And tidy up dem wires, dammit
1. It's not my case.
2. There's already holes in the bottom of the case but not enough room to put a second fan.
3. The only place that has room for a second fan is that front place where I would drill holes in.
__________________
ヽ(`Д)ノ
[/eVGA 8800GTS 640mb OC630mhz eVGA 8800GTS G92 eVGA 9800GTX G92] Gigabyte Radeon 6870 | Q6600 @ 2.92ghz Zalman 9700 45c-55c | Crucial M4 64g | eVga 790i Ultra [/Asus Striker Extreme]
RaidenWoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 05:14 PM   #8
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Cosmos 1000 mod. Need advice.

whatever air you pump in the front is just gonna get sucked out the top
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-06-08, 07:03 PM   #9
RaidenWoW
ಠ_ಠ
 
RaidenWoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 737
Default Re: Cosmos 1000 mod. Need advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger
whatever air you pump in the front is just gonna get sucked out the top

How in the world was that statement useful? Honestly....

FYI that's what it's supposed to do... I really don't know what to say about what you just said.... really... come on..
__________________
ヽ(`Д)ノ
[/eVGA 8800GTS 640mb OC630mhz eVGA 8800GTS G92 eVGA 9800GTX G92] Gigabyte Radeon 6870 | Q6600 @ 2.92ghz Zalman 9700 45c-55c | Crucial M4 64g | eVga 790i Ultra [/Asus Striker Extreme]
RaidenWoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 07:19 PM   #10
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Cosmos 1000 mod. Need advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger
whatever air you pump in the front is just gonna get sucked out the top


"The Patriots would have won had they scored more points"
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 04:39 PM   #11
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Cosmos 1000 mod. Need advice.

let me add to that ...

Originally Posted by XDanger
whatever air you pump in the front is just gonna get sucked out the top WITHOUT COOLING ANY COMPUTER PARTS EXEPT MAYBE SOME DRIVE CABLES
At best it will cause dead air.

If you want more airflow cant you cut another hole at the base for a 92mm fan so you have all the air going in mostly one direction?

Personally I'd build a chimney on it, no fans.

The Patriots still would have lost,

pfff losers.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DayZ mod for ARMA II ATOJAR Gaming Central 42 02-21-13 05:51 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.