Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-08, 11:59 AM   #1
KasuCode
Wiley
 
KasuCode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via AIM to KasuCode
Default Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

Been waiting 20 mins so far for this game to install... Its at 68%.

What the hell does this thing install that takes so long.
__________________

Check Out
~CrossWater~
KasuCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-08, 12:04 PM   #2
KasuCode
Wiley
 
KasuCode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via AIM to KasuCode
Default Re: Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

It finished. It took about 30 mins to install. Now its time to play.
__________________

Check Out
~CrossWater~
KasuCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-08, 12:08 PM   #3
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

I couldn't believe the load times with the demo.

Wait 30 seconds to load a level segment, fight three guys in 30 seconds, open a door, wait 30 seconds to load a level segment...etc....
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-08, 12:21 PM   #4
KasuCode
Wiley
 
KasuCode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via AIM to KasuCode
Default Re: Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

The begining of the game is kickass.

And I guess allot of the game was put on the harddrive for short loadtimes. So far I havnt had one over 3 seconds.
__________________

Check Out
~CrossWater~
KasuCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-08, 12:47 PM   #5
KasuCode
Wiley
 
KasuCode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via AIM to KasuCode
Default Re: Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

I dont mean to complain. Just not used to games installing is all. DMC4 does really well with it so far. But games like Hevenly sword still take forever to load after HD install.
__________________

Check Out
~CrossWater~
KasuCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-08, 09:02 PM   #6
ralinn
Masters
 
ralinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK, England, Portsmouth
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

Jesus ****ing christ, where did Lady's massive breasts come from!?
__________________
(CPU) Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz @ 1600MHz (ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6T DELUXE mainboard) (RAM) 3GB (HDD) 931GB
(GFX) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 (1GB), 1680x1050x32, 59Hz (OS) Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium (SP1)

3Dmark06 Score: Who the **** actually cares?
360 & PSN ID: ralinn
ralinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-08, 09:53 PM   #7
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

The PS3 version loads 3 times faster than the 360 version according to ign's review, so I guess the long install time is worth it.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-08, 10:41 PM   #8
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by morethanonecode
I dont mean to complain. Just not used to games installing is all.
Are you on the right forum?

And for the guy who complained about the demo's slow loading, mine loaded almost instantly, just like the final game... something was wrong there.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-10-08, 01:10 AM   #9
kev13dd
Registered User
 
kev13dd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Default Re: Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
The PS3 version loads 3 times faster than the 360 version according to ign's review, so I guess the long install time is worth it.
Penny Arcade said it best

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho
I love to hear talk online about load times which are "twice as fast" on the Playstation 3. It's very easy to double a small number. If you have two cents, and then you find two more, that doesn't make you a rich man. The reality is that the loads are pretty slick on both platforms, and even spooled from the hard disc the loads are by no means instantaneous
I understand how the install time is benefial (without it would take much longer) so in that sense it's worth it. I was hoping though that local cache would end up being a big improvement for load times and would eventually be used on all console games, not just PS3. But it doesn't sound like install is ever going to make the virtually unnoticable load times a thing of the past

K
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by eD
Maybe the guys at Shugashack should play around with their gamma correction just a little bit because most of the screenshot are so dark you can't get an idea of what this game is really going to look like
In reference to Doom 3 screenshots from 2001
kev13dd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-08, 01:28 AM   #10
KasuCode
Wiley
 
KasuCode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via AIM to KasuCode
Default Re: Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero
Are you on the right forum?

And for the guy who complained about the demo's slow loading, mine loaded almost instantly, just like the final game... something was wrong there.

I havnt owned my PS3 for even a week yet. Im very new to it.
__________________

Check Out
~CrossWater~
KasuCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-08, 02:55 AM   #11
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by morethanonecode
I havnt owned my PS3 for even a week yet. Im very new to it.
I just meant you're on a PC-centered forum and every PC game but Scrabble installs... Just giving you a hard time
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-08, 06:10 AM   #12
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Just Bought DMC4 for PS3

I would love the option of being able to do a hard drive install on the 360 version. I have a 120GB drive sat in my Elite that basically does nothing. You can't keep movie downloads off Marketplace so I don't see much point in it tbh.
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roommate bought a Ti4600 ExitWound Benchmarking And Overclocking 2 09-13-02 05:47 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.