Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: What is your level loading time in BioShock 1.1?
10 secs 7 50.00%
20+ secs 5 35.71%
30+ secs 1 7.14%
40 or more secs 1 7.14%
Voters: 14. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-08, 06:51 PM   #1
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

I'm wondering if you'll all vote in a poll of what your level load times are for BioShock 1.1. I recently upgraded my system and am amazed at the time it takes to load a whole level.

My previous Pentium 4 650 3.4 GHz with an ASUS P5WD2 Premium motherboard would load a level in about a minute. After changing only the CPU and motherboard my level loading time is about 10 secs.

The rest of my system specs are in my signature...

All settings set to High 1600X1200
EAX and Reverb ON
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-08, 02:18 AM   #2
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

from the instant i press the skill level, to the time i see "mid atlantic", takes 32 seconds. i gues i am in the 30+ category
resolution 1680x1050, everything high.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-08, 04:18 AM   #3
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

I didnt count the seconds but i think i'm in the 10s area ..
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 04:01 AM   #4
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

I was hoping for more input and votes so people who have long load times can see a pattern such as hardware configurations for future purchases.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 11:04 AM   #5
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

I think a lot of people may have finished this game already (like I have) and uninstalled it, so your responses may be few at this point...
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 11:06 AM   #6
Intel-Inside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 53
Default Re: BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

Load time: 10 Seconds
Using a Quad CPU @ 2.4ghz
Intel-Inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 02:24 PM   #7
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default Re: BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

I'll test it out tonight after work, I have a feeling it's between 10 and 20.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 03:50 PM   #8
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

what would determine rate of load? RAM + CPU?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-12-08, 04:08 PM   #9
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget
what would determine rate of load? RAM + CPU?
Seems that way. I didn't change my video card when I upgraded. Also, I didn't even change my RAM. I guess it's just the CPU and you need about 2 GBs of RAM to get it to load fast.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 09:25 PM   #10
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

between the quad at 3.5ghz and the raptors in raid 0 its pretty quick.
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-08, 01:34 AM   #11
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

I'm gonna upgrade my RAM to 8 GB sometime this summer and get a new high-end video card like the Geforce 9 series (when it's out).

I don't think I'll see much of an improvement in speed though in loading the level (unless it takes longer in DirectX 10 mode).

Where are those Western Digital 1 TB drives with a 32 MB buffer or hell even a hybrid hard drive? 2 of those in RAID 0 should speed things up (at least for caching).
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-08, 02:44 AM   #12
LT.Schaffer
Praise The Lord!
 
LT.Schaffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chernarus
Posts: 1,960
Default Re: BioShock 1.1 Level Load Times

20 sec here with 1680X1050 all settings max

Q6600@2.4 3 Gigs ram
__________________

Intel Q9650|Asus P5Q Pro Turbo|GTX 480|CM 690 II Advanced|Corsair Dominator 4GB|LG LE3500 32"|X-FI|Intel 80GB SSD|Win 7 64Bit
Nvidia Driver:310.70 WHQL


Dedicated LAN Coop Server
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500|Asus P5B Deluxe|BFG GTX 285|Antec 900|Kingston HyperX 2GB|Viewsonic VX2255WMB 22"|Win 7 32Bit







GOD BLESS AMERICA

I Proudly Support Our Troops

Current Game:Elder Scrolls V Skyrim
LT.Schaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.