Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-08, 12:08 PM   #13
Vik1dk
Registered User
 
Vik1dk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: DK
Posts: 503
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by guessunevahadit
Im just pointing out the obvious, if you dont like it then maybe you should be the one to get lost


Or because as I stated earlier...... its a THERMALCRAP.
Toughpower series are not made by TT.
__________________
GA-EX38-DQ6 | E8400 @3.8 Ghz | 2x2GB Corsair 8500 C5D | XFX 8800 GTS 512 | 2x WD2500YS(RE/sataII) | SAMSUNG S203D DVD-RW | X-FI(XM)| BenQ E2200 HDA | TT 750 Toughpower PSU(4x18A/60A combined) | Antec 900 | Logitech G5 v.2/Razer DeathAdder | Logitech G15 | WinXp x64 sp2/2008 server x64
Vik1dk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-08, 12:55 PM   #14
litri
Update Machine
 
litri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 106
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tr1cK
Get lost, troll.

I would take it out of the case and connect it to only a few bare essentials to see if the system will power up at all. The fan not spinning could be because there is no load on the PSU.

Ok, I just finished taking all parts apart... I put only mobo, memory and cpu/heatsink. I conected the PSU 24 pin main power and the 4+4 pin cpu conector to the mobo. I switched the psu on and everything is fine, no fuse is going down, but no lights are on on the mobo and usually the ROP logo light should be on as soon as the mobo gets power. ****!!!, I guess the mobo passed away. I'll try with the native 8 pin cpu conector insted of the 4+4, as maybe the other one is **** up.

Now it's time to cry
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @3,6ghz
Noctua NH-D14
8GB Geil Dragon Quadkit (800mhz) 5-5-5-13
Asus M4A79 Deluxe
2x VTX3D 4850 1GB
1x WD Raptor 450 GB
1x WD Raptor 300 GB
1x WD Caviar se 160 GB
1x Plextor Premium CD-R\RW 52x/32x/52x
1x Plextor DVD-R\RW PX-760SA
Coolermaster CM690-II Advanced
Super Flower SF-1000P14HE Amazon 80plus
litri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-08, 01:11 PM   #15
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

That stinks. Asus hasn't been impressing me much lately.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-08, 10:12 PM   #16
guessunevahadit
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 52
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tr1cK
That stinks. Asus hasn't been impressing me much lately.

Never an issue with Asus here and I have owned nothing but Asus.
guessunevahadit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-08, 10:13 PM   #17
guessunevahadit
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 52
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vik1dk
Toughpower series are not made by TT.
guessunevahadit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 03:54 AM   #18
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

I had the same issue on one of my old 850 watt PSU's. It turned out to be the power supply in the end. I'd take it back and get a new one. You don't want to damage any of the other components in your PC.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 04:41 AM   #19
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

Does your PSU come with a special 20A NEMA 5-20R AC cable for use with a dedicated 20A circuit? If your house only has the 15A circuit, you will have to use a 15A NEMA 5-15 cable with a circuit breaker, which limits your PSU to draw a max of 1300W. Usually a 1500W power supply will come with both types of cable.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 05:00 AM   #20
litri
Update Machine
 
litri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 106
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
Does your PSU come with a special 20A NEMA 5-20R AC cable for use with a dedicated 20A circuit? If your house only has the 15A circuit, you will have to use a 15A NEMA 5-15 cable with a circuit breaker, which limits your PSU to draw a max of 1300W. Usually a 1500W power supply will come with both types of cable.
Out of curiosity, yesterday evening I had a friend come to my place with his
Toughpower 1200W (bought it last year) and we did plug it after my post in the thread in which I stated the death of my mobo. It turned out that his PSU was causing again the fuse to drop even with just the mobo, cpu and memory plugged.

I noticed that miliseconds after the fuse dropped the ROG logo led and other lights form the mobo were on and then off.

Could it be my house circuit?? It has never happened to me in the past, my previous PSU was a Toughpower 850.

I have to check again when i get home but i'm pretty sure the box has only one cable. I guess the info about the cable is perhaps written in the cable itself? Can i check the amperes in the house circuit? Where can I get that cable?

Sorry for all the questions, I need my PC to WORK!!

Thanks!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @3,6ghz
Noctua NH-D14
8GB Geil Dragon Quadkit (800mhz) 5-5-5-13
Asus M4A79 Deluxe
2x VTX3D 4850 1GB
1x WD Raptor 450 GB
1x WD Raptor 300 GB
1x WD Caviar se 160 GB
1x Plextor Premium CD-R\RW 52x/32x/52x
1x Plextor DVD-R\RW PX-760SA
Coolermaster CM690-II Advanced
Super Flower SF-1000P14HE Amazon 80plus
litri is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-12-08, 05:38 AM   #21
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

Check the specs label on the PSU. It should say what A/C input current is needed at what input voltage. For example, my 1000W needs 13A under 115V, 8A under 230V. Yours is a 1500W so I would say at least 15A under 115V, maybe more. And I would have a qualified service technician check the house circuit as well.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 07:29 AM   #22
litri
Update Machine
 
litri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 106
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
Check the specs label on the PSU. It should say what A/C input current is needed at what input voltage. For example, my 1000W needs 13A under 115V, 8A under 230V. Yours is a 1500W so I would say at least 15A under 115V, maybe more. And I would have a qualified service technician check the house circuit as well.
I will check tonight... In which other ways could i work around the problem? Will a UPS help me???

Thx!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @3,6ghz
Noctua NH-D14
8GB Geil Dragon Quadkit (800mhz) 5-5-5-13
Asus M4A79 Deluxe
2x VTX3D 4850 1GB
1x WD Raptor 450 GB
1x WD Raptor 300 GB
1x WD Caviar se 160 GB
1x Plextor Premium CD-R\RW 52x/32x/52x
1x Plextor DVD-R\RW PX-760SA
Coolermaster CM690-II Advanced
Super Flower SF-1000P14HE Amazon 80plus
litri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 07:35 AM   #23
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

I don't think a UPS would help. The best and safest way is check your house circuit.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-08, 12:22 PM   #24
Vik1dk
Registered User
 
Vik1dk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: DK
Posts: 503
Default Re: What's wrong with my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by guessunevahadit
Yourself, they are made by CWT well the sticker are TT and thats all.
The one in my sig are the same as this one http://www.cwt.com.tw/english/2_prod...ail.php?ID=919
And if you want to be taken serious do your homework
__________________
GA-EX38-DQ6 | E8400 @3.8 Ghz | 2x2GB Corsair 8500 C5D | XFX 8800 GTS 512 | 2x WD2500YS(RE/sataII) | SAMSUNG S203D DVD-RW | X-FI(XM)| BenQ E2200 HDA | TT 750 Toughpower PSU(4x18A/60A combined) | Antec 900 | Logitech G5 v.2/Razer DeathAdder | Logitech G15 | WinXp x64 sp2/2008 server x64
Vik1dk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC Power and Cooling Silencer MkII 750W PSU review News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-14-12 05:20 AM
Quake3 won't utdeom2003 works fine! what could be wrong with q3? dante_uk NVIDIA Linux 5 09-27-02 06:34 AM
wrong kernel version athel NVIDIA Linux 1 08-15-02 09:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.