Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-03, 02:18 PM   #1
grocanar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8
Default where are rpms file?

the installer just bloat my rpm database.

Moreover how can i install the nvidia driver
in 200+ machine in an non interactive
way?
grocanar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-03, 03:30 PM   #2
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Binary RPMs are no longer provided; they were replaced with the installer.

Quote:
Moreover how can i install the nvidia driver
in 200+ machine in an non interactive
way?
Use the -s option to the installer.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-03, 03:31 PM   #3
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default Re: where are rpms file?

Quote:
Originally posted by grocanar
the installer just bloat my rpm database.
Bull. The installer CANNOT bloat any RPM database; it does not enter any information into the RPM database! The state of your RPM database before and after installing the driver is exactly the same.

Quote:
Moreover how can i install the nvidia driver in 200+ machine in an non interactive way?
Install it once (and set up the system like you need it), and then image the drive. Boot off a CD (rescue mode or something) and mount your hard drive somewhere. Then make a tarball of your entire system, and put it on the network somewhere. When you have another system to create, simply boot to the CD again, decompress the tarball back onto the new system's drive, and rewrite the bootloader (if you use grub, you may not even have to do that -- rewrite only if grub hasn't been installed on that drive; for lilo, you'll have to rewrite all the time).

Edit: Or -s, duh.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-03, 01:54 PM   #4
grocanar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8
Default Re: Re: where are rpms file?

Quote:
Originally posted by bwkaz
Bull. The installer CANNOT bloat any RPM database; it does not enter any information into the RPM database! The state of your RPM database before and after installing the driver is exactly the same.

Well it bloat the rpm database as there s
some file on the system which are not
configuration file and they re not in my
rpm database.
Therefore i can't trust anymore my rpm
database then it s bloated.

Install it once (and set up the system like you need it), and then image the drive. Boot off a CD (rescue mode or something) and mount your hard drive somewhere. Then make a tarball of your entire system, and put it on the network somewhere. When you have another system to create, simply boot to the CD again, decompress the tarball back onto the new system's drive, and rewrite the bootloader (if you use grub, you may not even have to do that -- rewrite only if grub hasn't been installed on that drive; for lilo, you'll have to rewrite all the time).

Edit: Or -s, duh.
I guess you re a lucky guy to have 200+
identical system with people who have
identical needs.
Unfortunately it s not my case.
Then all my software are installed with a mix of kickstat + cfengine + autorpm and all
are in RPM format.
if you read french you can have a look at
http://www.int-evry.fr/mci/user/doutrele/linux/
That s why i need to have that drivers in
rpm format.
i don't need a binary rpm but a source rpm
is highly needed.
grocanar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-03, 02:59 PM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default Re: Re: Re: where are rpms file?

Quote:
Originally posted by grocanar
Well it bloat the rpm database as there s some file on the system which are not configuration file and they re not in my rpm database.
Therefore i can't trust anymore my rpm database then it s bloated.
No, that's not "bloated". That's "not up to date", or "not correct". "Bloated" means that it's bigger than it needs to be, which is not what's going on here.

Quote:
I guess you re a lucky guy to have 200+ identical system with people who have identical needs. Unfortunately it s not my case. Then all my software are installed with a mix of kickstat + cfengine + autorpm and all are in RPM format. That s why i need to have that drivers in rpm format. i don't need a binary rpm but a source rpm is highly needed.
You can't modify whatever you're using to run the installer manually? Instead of having it run "rpmbuild", have it run "sh filename -s". Doesn't sound too difficult to me...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-03, 04:13 PM   #6
grocanar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: where are rpms file?

Quote:
Originally posted by bwkaz
No, that's not "bloated". That's "not up to date", or "not correct". "Bloated" means that it's bigger than it needs to be, which is not what's going on here.

Ok i guess i have to improbe my english a bit more.

You can't modify whatever you're using to run the installer manually? Instead of having it run "rpmbuild", have it run "sh filename -s". Doesn't sound too difficult to me...
Well it s a bit more complicated.
I don't have kernel source on all my machine
as i m a bit out of disk on some machine.
I did maintain some different rpm binary
for different combinaison of custom kernel
on a server.

THE SRPM file was so cool to use for a big
network why did u remove it?
grocanar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-03, 04:32 PM   #7
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

The installer supports all the kernels that the binary RPMs did without recompilation. All you need on the system is a linker. For the systems that you used the SRPMs for before, just use the -s option to the installer.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Rise of Object-based File Systems for HPC News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-09-12 01:10 PM
RPM Source problems LaoTzuTao NVIDIA Linux 10 01-19-03 05:15 AM
Can't install NVIDIA_kernel.XXXX.XXXX.src or regular rpm noeffort NVIDIA Linux 15 12-17-02 01:22 PM
Where is my log file? Frink NVIDIA Linux 20 09-19-02 09:59 PM
Source RPMS for GCC3.2 - Red Hat 8.0? chrisw01 NVIDIA Linux 4 08-21-02 08:17 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.