Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-02, 10:10 PM   #1
Iron1384
7800GT
 
Iron1384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 95
Default Power Management (XP)

The last problem I posted here was fixed within an hour, so what the heck; here we go again:

My computer has lost the ability to go to the standby or hibernate modes. The power management options for standby are also missing from the Power Options panel, and the standby button in the shutdown window is grayed out. The wierd thing is, before I log on, the computer can enter Standby mode, but only from the welcome screen. After I log on, the feature is lost. So, any ideas??????


And yes, i do have the latest BIOS and VIA 4in1 drivers.
Iron1384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-02, 10:33 PM   #2
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

Did this always happen, or just recently?
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-02, 10:35 PM   #3
Iron1384
7800GT
 
Iron1384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 95
Default

It happened about a month ago. Before that, everything worked fine.
Iron1384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-02, 12:10 AM   #4
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

Is ACPI listed in the Device Manager under the Comuter device?
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-02, 10:43 AM   #5
Iron1384
7800GT
 
Iron1384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 95
Default

Yes, but it says, "ACPI Fixed Feature Button."
Iron1384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-02, 01:13 PM   #6
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

mine says ACPI Uniprocessor PC...you might have to re-install Windows to get it to work again...
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-02, 01:29 PM   #7
Iron1384
7800GT
 
Iron1384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 95
Default

Great....looks like it's time to pop for a CD-RW drive.

Last edited by Iron1384; 08-22-02 at 07:04 PM.
Iron1384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$2.49 - Coboc 10 ft. Power Cable with 3 Conductor PC power (Black) News Newegg Daily Deals 0 12-29-12 04:40 AM
Final Nintendo Power cover brings the magazine full circle News Archived News Items 0 11-30-12 03:11 PM
DDR4 Memory: Twice the Speed, Less Power News Archived News Items 0 09-30-12 12:30 PM
$23.99 - hec HP485D 485W ATX12V Power Supply - No Power Cord - OEM News Newegg RSS Feed 0 09-22-12 02:00 AM
Diablo 3 Monster Power mode to give players 'a lot more control over the difficulty News Archived News Items 0 09-18-12 02:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.