Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-03, 06:14 PM   #1
pak9rabid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to pak9rabid Send a message via Yahoo to pak9rabid
Default nvidia drivers + Windows Longhorn

Hey everyone, I have a question for yall. I don't know if anyone will be able to answer this, but here goes. I'm testing out a copy of Longhorn and am able to successfully install the XP/2000 43.45 display drivers just fine. But when I go to play quake3, it runs it extremely smooth, except for its really dark and it will not let me change the gamme to increase the brightness. Does anyone know of a way to modify the brightness within windows of OpenGL? If there is a command I can run from the command prompt that would bring up this window, that would be greatly apprecieated. Thanks.
pak9rabid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-03, 06:18 PM   #2
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What do you mean it won't let you change the brightness or gamma? Do the brightness/gamma driver controls have no effect?

What about console commands/game settings in Quake3 itself?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-03, 06:21 PM   #3
pak9rabid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to pak9rabid Send a message via Yahoo to pak9rabid
Default

Well, the thing is I cannot access the window that contains the brightness control within windows. it is usually under display settings->advanced->Nvidia Tab, but there is no nvidia tab there. I know that there is a way to bring up that window by typing in a certain command in the dos command prompt, but I don't know what it is off the top of my head. When I attempt to change the gamma within quake3 "/r_gamma x" it does not do anything.
pak9rabid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-03, 12:58 AM   #4
marcocom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 224
Default

thats a known quake3 bug.

you need to type a command into your console in quake3 to fix it.

damned if i remember though
marcocom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-03, 02:20 AM   #5
pak9rabid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to pak9rabid Send a message via Yahoo to pak9rabid
Default

hm, interesting. damn, nice system specs, cept for that damn MX :P
pak9rabid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 08:00 PM   #6
alucard_x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 210
Default

these are the commands you are looking for.

/r_ignorehwgamma 1
/r_intensity 1.x (i use 1.7)
/r_gamma x (i use 2)

also can try

/r_mapoverbrights
alucard_x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 08:07 PM   #7
marcocom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pak9rabid
hm, interesting. damn, nice system specs, cept for that damn MX :P
heh. the MX card is for my second monitor. my primary uses the badboy of 3D - the GeforceFX 5800Ultra. =)

thanks for the compliment sir.
marcocom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
nvidia: Our R302 graphics drivers are now WHQL certified for Windows 8. Download comi News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
NVIDIA Drivers Receive Windows 8 Certification News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 09:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.