Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 04-25-03, 08:09 PM   #1
ixisi

Default RedHat 9 with a Gforce 3

I am new to linux, I just installed RedHat Linux 9 last night and everything seems to be working well. I would like to update the drivers for the Gforce 3, but I do not know which linux drivers are the correct ones.

On the software download page there are options for Linux IA32, Linux AMD 64, Linux IA64, and FreeBSD. I cannot seem to find out which ones I need.

Also, I read of a linux nvidia installer, would I be able to get this and use this with RedHat 9? If so, where can I download it from?

Thank you for reading this and any help is greatly appreciated!
ixisi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-03, 08:41 PM   #2
ixisi

Default Additional Info

Video Card: GForce 3 Ti-200
Video Card Driver Version: it reads nv, not sure I am looking in the right place but it is the default driver for a GForce 3.
Distribution: I am not sure what this means
Video Bios Revision: When I go into /proc/driver the directory only contains a file named rtc, and no sub-directories
Processor: AMD 1.2 GHZ
Motherboard: EPOX EP-8K7A

I have attached a copy of my
/var/log/XFree86.0.log

I cannot seem to attach another file, so the /etc/X11/XF86Config file will be attached to the following reply.
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (40.8 KB, 114 views)
Old 04-25-03, 08:42 PM   #3
ixisi

Here is the other file
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (3.1 KB, 134 views)
Old 04-25-03, 09:13 PM   #4
Andy Mecham
l33t master

You should use the IA32 driver. You can use the installer with Red Hat 9. If you're using the boxed, retail version of RH9 (ie: you bought it), you'll need to update your glibc package - you should be able to download a new package from any RH mirror, or use their update utility.

--andy
Old 04-25-03, 09:33 PM   #5
ixisi