Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-03, 11:27 PM   #1
rw2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default 4200 on Dell I8500 resolution problem

I've been able to get my xserver running with some help from folks here, but it's still not at full resolutoin. It's only going to a measly 1600x1200. The LCD is capable of 1920x1200.

I updated the XF86Config but there is a funny line the the log when i bring up x:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1920x1200" (no mode of this name)
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (26.0 KB, 135 views)
rw2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 11:28 PM   #2
rw2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default

And the configuration
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (3.2 KB, 178 views)
rw2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 09:17 AM   #3
rw2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Does anyone have either this configuration, or at least something with greater than 1600x1200 working. Maybe simply looking at your XF86Config-4 would help me out.

Thanks.
rw2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 01:15 PM   #4
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

I think that for a mode that high (since there aren't any VESA standard ones that X knows about inherently), you have to write your own mode line. If you have X 4.3.0, you can use the gtf command to do this (gtf takes a horiz. res, a vert. res, and a vert. refresh rate as separate options on its command line); if not, there are a couple of utilities that'll do it for you, linked off the XFree86-Timings-HOWTO at www.tldp.org
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 07:04 PM   #5
rw2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Hmm, that howto implies that if I have a resolution below 1920x1440 (which I do) then XFree86 will handle it.

Does this change your advice any?
rw2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 07:26 PM   #6
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

It may not handle it correctly. You should guarantee that you have a good mode by using a modeline. 'gtf' (shipped with X 4.3) will generate a modeline for you. FWIW, i've got an 8500 working with 1920x1200 without problems using:

Code:
        Modeline "1920x1200"  162 1920 2020 2052 2184
                              1200 1202 1208 1235 +Hsync +Vsync
However, you should make sure that this modeline is appropriate for your system before trying it.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 10:13 PM   #7
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rw2
Hmm, that howto implies that if I have a resolution below 1920x1440 (which I do) then XFree86 will handle it.

Does this change your advice any?
Nope.

Supposedly it worked in XFree86 4.2.0 at 1280x1024 at refresh rates up to and including 80-some Hz refresh rate (at least, I remember reading this somewhere). However, without a modeline, I couldn't get it higher than 60Hz. Follow Andy's advice.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-03, 02:02 PM   #8
rw2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks to those in this thread for the help. I'm running at 1920x1200 now and happy as a clam.

I've owned four machines now with nvidia adapters and bought this laptop *because of it*. Linux support is the reason why.
rw2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-27-03, 08:19 AM   #9
tvtp_public
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default

Hi,

I am new of linux and i just bought a dell inspiron 8500. I really appreicate that you guy can help me out to setup the nvidia video card and the LCD screen that support 1920x1200.

Please help me out, thanks

I know you guys get it working.

Thanks for you time
tvtp_public is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-03, 05:36 AM   #10
PedroVasconcelo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
Default

I created a modeline for the 1680x1050 LCD panel on my Dell 8500. I did it by hand, respecting the constraints in the NVIDIA readme, and it works well. Here it is:

Modeline "1680x1050" 115 1680 1712 1736 1752 1050 1053 1056 1093

You may also want to tell the NVIDIA driver to mantain aspect ration when scaling lower resolutions using the following option on the device section:

Option "FlatPanelProperties" "Scaling=aspect-scaled"

BTW, I thought refresh rate did not apply to LCD panels? I did the math for a "60Hz" vertical refresh to make X happy but I don't think it makes any diference, does it?
PedroVasconcelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-03, 06:20 PM   #11
tvtp_public
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default Please help me on setup up my dell I8500 with nvidia

Hi all,

I really need help to setup my dell I8500 with nvidia GeForce4 Go.
I am just begin to learn linux/unix so i kind of lost of what you guys talking about modeline stuff. etc...

If anybody can help me out step by step, i really appreciate that.

Thanks for your time

my email: tvtp_public@yahoo.com
tvtp_public is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI overscan fix for multiple resolutions + Zod Engine Problem. cheechr1 NVIDIA Linux 0 06-11-12 03:27 PM
GeForce4 Ti 4200 hangs when playing games revenant NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 9 08-14-02 05:01 AM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 11:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.