Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-08, 10:49 AM   #1
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Question Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

Ok ....soo....another birthday is comming so I will have some cash to spend
Not much I suppose so...What would you recommend
2gb of ddr2 geil ultra 800mhz ,So I would have 4 with those I have currently installed

or Exchanging my gpu for gt ? (my current 320 Is overclocked btw and its performing very good.....)

Which way to get a nicer performance impact ?
btw. Right now I have 2x1gb of those geil,,,so Buy another dual pack or maybe exchange for 2x2 pack ???!!!

HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 11:18 AM   #2
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

If you multitask, get the RAM. Note you'll have to jump to a 64-bit OS to utilize all 4GB.

If you run at 1680x1050 or higher with AA you might be noticing your GTS 320MB's frame buffer getting maxed out, which would necessitate the GT.

Overall the RAM is going to be much cheaper than the GT, even if you sell the 320MB for a reasonable price ($140-$150).

As for the last question, I'd say just get two more 1GB sticks. I can't see the need for more than 4GB arising before DDR2 becomes obsolete anyway.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 11:40 AM   #3
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

Thx.
I am using this pc For gaming only. Mainly sp, but all day long
And I am never playing more than 1280x800 becouse I like how smooth it looks with aa when 1680x1050 looks way too sharp.

And What about changing to 64bit ? 32bit xp or vista will ise only 3.5 gb right ?
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 11:44 AM   #4
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

I would recommend the memory, especially if you are running Vista. (32 or 64) Games are getting dangerously close to the 2GB limit and a few are pushing it. I'd run 2x2 if I were you. I'm running 2x4 on Vista 64 SP1 and loving it.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 11:49 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

i also would get more ram, video card can wait, especially when new cards will be out in few weeks.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 11:53 AM   #6
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

Since you're gaming at a lower res the 320MB GTS is fine. Go for the RAM.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 11:54 AM   #7
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

Ok so as for now I am heading Ram but

4x1 or 2x2 ?
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 11:58 AM   #8
SeriTonin
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,349
Default Re: Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

2x2 is better for oc'ing, I believe. (If you oc your cpu at all)
SeriTonin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-19-08, 12:00 PM   #9
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

I went 4x1GB when I built last May because 2x2 prices were sky high. If I made my build right now I'd probably get 2x2GB since prices are way down and timings have improved drastically.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 12:42 PM   #10
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

I am ocing cpu pretty much. Have e6300 1,86 and running it at 2.80 and 800mhz 44410 1cl ram settings
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 01:07 PM   #11
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4
Ok so as for now I am heading Ram but

4x1 or 2x2 ?
Systems generally perform better with only 2 slots filled. Sometimes you might have to push the voltage a little higher for all four sticks to OC.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 01:19 PM   #12
DeusGear
Registered User
 
DeusGear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 575
Default Re: Hard to choose : 2gb or New Gpu ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Q
Systems generally perform better with only 2 slots filled. Sometimes you might have to push the voltage a little higher for all four sticks to OC.
Just requires some more voltage on the MHC. I m installed 2 extra 1gb sticks ( 4 sticks x 1gb totat) and my 3.6 ghz overclock was absolutely stable when I booted up again
__________________
Abit ip35 pro
q6600 3.6
MSI N480GTX
8gb G.Skill
Win7
DeusGear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 08:15 PM
Choosing The Right GPU To Take Adobe Workflows To The Max News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 06:40 PM
GTC Poster Session Shows Breadth of GPU Research News Archived News Items 0 05-15-12 02:50 AM
GPU Tech Conference Off to a Fast Start in San Jose News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 06:00 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.