Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-05, 11:51 AM   #1
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Lightbulb SuperPi CPU benchmark

Thought the benchmark is a great utility to measure your CPU & o/c performance & how it compare to other CPU/RAM setups.
Quote:
In August 1995, the calculation of pi up to 4,294,960,000 decimal digits was succeeded by using a supercomputer at the University of Tokyo. The program was written by D.Takahashi and he collaborated with Dr. Y.Kanada at the computer center, the University of Tokyo. This record should be the current world record. ( Details is shown in the windows help. ) This record-breaking program was ported to personal computer environment such as Windows NT and Windows 95 and called Super PI. In order to calculate 33.55 million digits, it takes within 3 days with Pentium 90MHz, 40MB main memory and 340MB available storage.

The software is free and the circulation of program is also free!
http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=36

My scores so far :
1) Intel P4:3Ghz , 1.5GB (single channel) :
1M - 51sec
32M - 49m 10s (with some progs running at the background)
however on 1GB Dual channel i get :
1M - 47s!

2) AMD 64 4000+ , 2GB DDR400 dual channel :
1M - 35sec
4M - 3m 2s

3) AMD FX-55 , 2GB DDR400 DC :
1M - 32s
4M - 2m 44s

4) P4:3.4GHz (Northwood) , 1GB DDR400
1M - 44s
4M - 3m 39s

none of the CPUs/RAM was overclocked.

now lets see yours!
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-05, 12:41 PM   #2
NoWayDude
Charlie don't Surf!
 
NoWayDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 866
Default Re: SuperPi CPU benchmark

OK
AMD 3700 OC to 2420 (220x11) and 2 gigs of ram
1M - 38s
4M - 3m 13s
__________________
Beer,helping ugly people getting laid since the dawn of time
My Rig
Gigabyte DS3IS3, C2D Q6600 @ 3400,4096 megs Geil C4 800mhz DDR2,SB Audigy 2, 750W PSU,Palit 460GTX 160 Sata Samsung + 120 Seagate ATA + 80 Sata Seagate, Atapi DVD Rom x16 ,Samsung DVD/RW x12x8
NoWayDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-05, 05:57 PM   #3
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: SuperPi CPU benchmark

AMD X2 4800+ (@2.58ghz), 1Gig of DDR400
1M - 33s
4M - 2m 49s

Guess it doesn't take advantage of the X2.

AMD X2 4800+ (@2.41ghz -- stock), 1Gig of DDR400
1M - 33s
4M - 2m 49s

Hmm, that doesn't make sense to me.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-05, 09:07 PM   #4
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: SuperPi CPU benchmark

Strange ! increasing the clock didnt make any difference for you .. i wonder why hmm
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-05, 09:47 PM   #5
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: SuperPi CPU benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Strange ! increasing the clock didnt make any difference for you .. i wonder why hmm
I may play around with that some later. It really doesn't make any sense to me at all.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-05, 09:54 PM   #6
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: SuperPi CPU benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
I may play around with that some later. It really doesn't make any sense to me at all.
Indeed .. but in any case .. i beat ya! haha
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-05, 08:16 PM   #7
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: SuperPi CPU benchmark

Dangit, you're still ahead of me. Overclocking doesn't seem to be helping me a lot. I notice it lists the amount of memory, etc. used. I wonder if that's my issue.

Running at 2.62ghz:

1M - 32s
4M - 2m 46s
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-05, 09:06 PM   #8
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: SuperPi CPU benchmark

Maybe its your memory .. what are your mem timings ?
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-05, 09:22 PM   #9
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: SuperPi CPU benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeero1978
AMD 3000+ Venice OC to 2.3ghz (256x9) and 1GB Geil dual

1M - 37s
4M - 3m 14s
Man thats a nice score for a 3000+ !
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-05, 09:31 PM   #10
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: SuperPi CPU benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeero1978
opera running at the background...

..if there are no running background programs i get 3m 06s
Most of my benchies were running without any progs in the background aswell , but again for test (2) & 3 i usually play without anything in the background so i can say its a realtime score , in test 1 its different though.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-05, 10:55 PM   #11
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: SuperPi CPU benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Maybe its your memory .. what are your mem timings ?
Here are my settings. I haven't really tweaked them at all. All I've done is change 2T to 1T. Rest of the settings are at their defaults.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	memsettings.jpg
Views:	422
Size:	43.0 KB
ID:	13329  
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-05, 11:01 PM   #12
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: SuperPi CPU benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
Here are my settings. I haven't really tweaked them at all. All I've done is change 2T to 1T. Rest of the settings are at their defaults.
Yep now i see a reason .. yours are 2.5-3-3-5 while mine are set to 2-3-2-5.

BTW i'm going to run the bench again. my result above only reflects my first try.
i think i'll go for 3 & post the avarage.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
Fedora 16, GTX 550Ti, random X hangs, "Attempted to yield the CPU..." MquwIBUO NVIDIA Linux 7 06-12-12 03:39 PM
Passion Leads Army: DX 11 and GPU PhysX Benchmark News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 08:00 PM
Anyone benchmark KT266, KT266A, KT333 and KT400? Needa916 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 10-09-02 08:34 AM
Prime95 and CPU stress testing DaveW General Software 2 10-05-02 12:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.