Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-29-08, 04:07 PM   #109
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero
I have it running rather well, 8xAA through Bioshock, AF left at in-game defaults, all settings completely maxed except shadows and foliage, 1680x1050 resolution... I get a steady 50-60fps according to fraps. I'm even thinking of bumping the game up to 16qxAA and dealing with 30fps, since the game seems to run smooth.
what are your computer specs???
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 06:21 PM   #110
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt_Ram
what are your computer specs???
8800GT, 4GB RAM and a reallllly crappy dual core, like 2.4ghz... E4-something.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 06:27 PM   #111
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

I picked this one up today as well. I'm playing the single player campaign right now and the gameplay is rather fun. Graphics are very good (near to Crysis in some parts) but the team mates do seem stupid. At least they don't appear to die (I don't think). Overall not a bad game experience.

It does run a little choppy fully maxed out with 4xAA forced (Bioshock method) at 1920x1200. I'll try 2xAA and then 0xAA later to see how big of an impact that makes.

Currently using 169.32. Anyone know if other drivers improve this game?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 06:31 PM   #112
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRen72
Currently using 169.32. Anyone know if other drivers improve this game?
I seem to be getting better performance than most and I'm using the newest drivers, 17-whatever. Also, it took a driver update on my motherboard and bios to get the game running... I think it's very driver-sensitive.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 09:12 PM   #113
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Do you guys use nHancer? It's much easier just add the .exe to the Bioshock or any another UE3 based game profile, or just duplicate a profile.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-08, 03:22 AM   #114
Blade
It's just a ride....
 
Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Sisters Bed
Posts: 903
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt_Ram
what drivers are you on?

169.28
__________________
____________________________
Sigs Are For Heros!
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-08, 04:41 AM   #115
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

I was able to force AFR2 and am getting 45-60 fps with everything maxed out, 2560x1600
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-08, 04:45 AM   #116
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRen72
I picked this one up today as well. I'm playing the single player campaign right now and the gameplay is rather fun. Graphics are very good (near to Crysis in some parts) but the team mates do seem stupid. At least they don't appear to die (I don't think). Overall not a bad game experience.

It does run a little choppy fully maxed out with 4xAA forced (Bioshock method) at 1920x1200. I'll try 2xAA and then 0xAA later to see how big of an impact that makes.

Currently using 169.32. Anyone know if other drivers improve this game?
As this is UE3 0xAA will run great, like UT3.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-01-08, 05:01 AM   #117
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy
Ok, thanks.

Damn that sucks. Was hoping for a nice SP campaign, oh well, got plenty of other stuff to play anyway.
Unlike ut3 and quake wars, the SP in this one is really fun. It's not up to par with other singleplayer games mind you, but for what it is I'm having a blast
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-08, 05:22 AM   #118
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokishi
Unlike ut3 and quake wars, the SP in this one is really fun. It's not up to par with other singleplayer games mind you, but for what it is I'm having a blast
That's nice, but when does it come out?! ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-08, 05:55 AM   #119
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

I dunno maybe this February if they don't delay it
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-08, 06:26 AM   #120
zerobeta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 227
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

I can't seem to enable AA via the CP, only using the Bioshock fix.

(no AA)

I tried to change from 4x to 8x and no AA to compare frame rates but it seems like it didnt change it in the game.
zerobeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Napoleon: Total War Free Weekend and 50% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 12:30 AM
Naval War: Arctic Circle review News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 09:20 PM
Warhorse: War Of The Roses Shows Off Mounted Combat News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 07:30 AM
Now Available - Total War: SHOGUN 2 - Fall of the Samurai DLCs News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 02:40 PM
Total War: Shogun 2 Map Editor Totally Out Now News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 02:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.