Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-08, 11:13 PM   #97
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

To my eyes the game looks rather good despite a lack of AA, or good AA as the case may be. The Bioshock trick made it look a lot better, but Frontlines is still jaggy... but it also still looks impressive a lot of the time. I guess it's personal opinion...

And no one can say BioShock didn't look amazing.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-08, 11:51 PM   #98
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by compuguy1088
Probably because of the issues with the engine and AA....
More or less an issue with DX9 and anti-aliasing, as deferred rendering is pretty much the norm that all newer games are going to.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 12:04 AM   #99
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

I am pleased to say I finally got it to launch and only have one major issue now.

I can't get on one single server, and the server browser is completely muffed. Take forever to find all of 7 servers. Then if I refresh there are none at all.

Steam says there is an update but it's not being applied. Anyhow the sp is very good.

I was told it was bad, but it's not. I would recommend this game to anyone on it's merits alone.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 08:42 AM   #100
ZEROCOOL101
Registered User
 
ZEROCOOL101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: G-town, WI
Posts: 196
Send a message via AIM to ZEROCOOL101
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

I just got it off steam and when I start the game up it just freezes on the loading screen
__________________
i7 970 @ 4.0 on H70 | EVGA GTX 690 | EVGA X58 Classified3 770 | 12gb Mushkin RedLine DDR3 Triple Channel | Corsair AX1200 | 2 x Samsung 830 256gb ssd (Raid 0) + 2tb Samsung (storage) | Dell U3011 | Klipsch 5.1 Ultra's | Silverstone FT02 | PS3 Network and XBL (Waxville)
ZEROCOOL101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 08:44 AM   #101
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
. . .and this is because?
because hell_of_doom227 posted it, look at his other post, everything sucks
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 10:11 AM   #102
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

the game looks pretty good eh? what are you guys getting for performance? im running it @ 1600x1200 4xAA 16xAF max in game settings except "foliage" is set to "off".

it runs a bit sluggish for me. i run other UE3 games at the same settings and they run alot smoother. maybe its just drivers .. oh and i'm only running one card at the moment! 600/1600/900 and 171.23 on XP32
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 10:20 AM   #103
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt_Ram
the game looks pretty good eh? what are you guys getting for performance? im running it @ 1600x1200 4xAA 16xAF max in game settings except "foliage" is set to "off".

it runs a bit sluggish for me. i run other UE3 games at the same settings and they run alot smoother. maybe its just drivers .. oh and i'm only running one card at the moment! 600/1600/900 and 171.23 on XP32
With the 8800gtx I used to have, it ran pretty good, haven't tried it with the 8800gt, or if I did, I can't remember trying it since then.

Turn off anti-aliasing and see if that helps.
Edit:

Just checked, and yep, runs at a constant 60fps on highest settings.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 11:43 AM   #104
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
With the 8800gtx I used to have, it ran pretty good, haven't tried it with the 8800gt, or if I did, I can't remember trying it since then.

Turn off anti-aliasing and see if that helps.
Edit:

Just checked, and yep, runs at a constant 60fps on highest settings.
i tried with no AA and had to to turn it back on however dropping it down to 1280x1024 with 4xAA make's it run good enough, 45-60 fps.

I just wish MOHA would run properly with SLi then i could put my other card back in, and then im sure i could go back to 1600x1200, but 1280 is ok for now.

Does this game seem to take advantage of your quad core? i know my cpu holds me back with UE3 games somewhat ...
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-29-08, 12:22 PM   #105
Blade
It's just a ride....
 
Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Sisters Bed
Posts: 903
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

1600x1200
4 x AA (using Bioshock fix)
All details maxed

Solid 50-60fps

Enjoying this game in multiplayer very much
__________________
____________________________
Sigs Are For Heros!
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 12:53 PM   #106
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade
1600x1200
4 x AA (using Bioshock fix)
All details maxed

Solid 50-60fps

Enjoying this game in multiplayer very much
what drivers are you on?
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 03:10 PM   #107
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

I have it running rather well, 8xAA through Bioshock, AF left at in-game defaults, all settings completely maxed except shadows and foliage, 1680x1050 resolution... I get a steady 50-60fps according to fraps. I'm even thinking of bumping the game up to 16qxAA and dealing with 30fps, since the game seems to run smooth.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 03:47 PM   #108
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Frontlines: Fuel of War

Currently installing, wow it needs 2 DVDs haha.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Napoleon: Total War Free Weekend and 50% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 12:30 AM
Naval War: Arctic Circle review News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 09:20 PM
Warhorse: War Of The Roses Shows Off Mounted Combat News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 07:30 AM
Now Available - Total War: SHOGUN 2 - Fall of the Samurai DLCs News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 02:40 PM
Total War: Shogun 2 Map Editor Totally Out Now News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 02:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.