Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-08, 10:58 AM   #1
Tuork
Official pain in the ass
 
Tuork's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,197
Send a message via MSN to Tuork
Default Network monitoring for clusters

Hello all...
I'm working on a research project at my Uni, and to sum things up, I need to figure out a way to monitor the network status of a computer cluster that is going to be doing some 3D processing.

I heard ethereal can do this, but my knowledge of this tool is very limited.

Seeing as I recall reading some of the guys at nvNews are network admins, I thought it wouldn't hurt to ask.

BTW, all of the computers are running Fedora Core 8.
I am currently using (or at least trying to use) Ganglia to monitor performance and resources over the grid.

I thank you all.
__________________
My avatar: "An obscure and non sensical pattern made to get people to post what they think it is" - Vamp

Dimitri:
Dell XPS M1530
Core2Duo T5550 1.86Ghz | 3GB DDR2 | 8600M GT 256MB | 250GB Hdd | BenQ FP202W 20" LCD | MX1000 mouse | Inspire T5400 5.1
Tuork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 02:37 PM   #2
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: Network monitoring for clusters

http://www.solarwinds.com/
i know its not open sauce but you might want to try these guys. a few years ago i used some of there tools for some SNMP monitors i needed. i dont know how they now compare to other sources out there.
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 06:58 AM   #3
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Network monitoring for clusters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runningman
http://www.solarwinds.com/
i know its not open sauce but you might want to try these guys. a few years ago i used some of there tools for some SNMP monitors i needed. i dont know how they now compare to other sources out there.
open sauce?

Sorry. Back to topic.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 09:09 AM   #4
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: Network monitoring for clusters

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLippe
open sauce?

Sorry. Back to topic.
ya, i lifted from the inq...lol
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-08, 11:48 PM   #5
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Network monitoring for clusters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runningman
ya, i lifted from the inq...lol
Figures!

Teh Inquirer is teh suck.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-08, 09:36 AM   #6
Tuork
Official pain in the ass
 
Tuork's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,197
Send a message via MSN to Tuork
Default Re: Network monitoring for clusters

Ganglia is up a running. Nifty tool, btw.

Any other suggestions for network monitoring? Open Source is preferred.
Oh, and Linux compatibility is MUST.

I've looked at Ethereal (now wireshark) but it would only work if I'm behind a hub seeing as switches send packets to individual MAC addresses.
__________________
My avatar: "An obscure and non sensical pattern made to get people to post what they think it is" - Vamp

Dimitri:
Dell XPS M1530
Core2Duo T5550 1.86Ghz | 3GB DDR2 | 8600M GT 256MB | 250GB Hdd | BenQ FP202W 20" LCD | MX1000 mouse | Inspire T5400 5.1
Tuork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-08, 05:37 PM   #7
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: Network monitoring for clusters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuork
Ganglia is up a running. Nifty tool, btw.

Any other suggestions for network monitoring? Open Source is preferred.
Oh, and Linux compatibility is MUST.

I've looked at Ethereal (now wireshark) but it would only work if I'm behind a hub seeing as switches send packets to individual MAC addresses.
if you have access to the switch you can port forward or in the cisco world, doa span. this would send the traffic you needed to the port with the monitor active. most managed switches has something like this on it
http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/473/41.html
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-08, 12:31 PM   #8
Tuork
Official pain in the ass
 
Tuork's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,197
Send a message via MSN to Tuork
Default Re: Network monitoring for clusters

Dont think they'll let me even near the switches, let alone mess with them.

I could pass a request for them to do it. Thanks for the info.
__________________
My avatar: "An obscure and non sensical pattern made to get people to post what they think it is" - Vamp

Dimitri:
Dell XPS M1530
Core2Duo T5550 1.86Ghz | 3GB DDR2 | 8600M GT 256MB | 250GB Hdd | BenQ FP202W 20" LCD | MX1000 mouse | Inspire T5400 5.1
Tuork is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solving IT headaches with a monitoring dashboard in the cloud News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 11:20 AM
Tiny Georgia telco files first network neutrality complaint News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 07:40 PM
nvidia: using adaptive network models, indiv's are rep'd as nodes on a network w/ edg News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:00 PM
My Gig network :D Rakeesh Benchmarking And Overclocking 9 05-01-12 06:35 PM
redhat 8 nforce network success cd21 NVIDIA Linux 2 10-07-02 09:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.