Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-08, 11:10 AM   #1
Capt. Picard
Registered User
 
Capt. Picard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 6,386
Default Plugged in HDD into running PC.

I accidently plugged in a 2nd HDD into an already running PC. Don't know why I did that. Was absent-minded I guess.

Was that bad?

Nothing I can see, happened though. I shut down the PC. Restarted and the 2nd HDD got picked up fine and is still working.
__________________
If beer is not the answer, you're asking the wrong question.
Capt. Picard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 11:12 AM   #2
Technoholic
Registered User
 
Technoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Under your chair
Posts: 1,729
Send a message via MSN to Technoholic
Default Re: Plugged in HDD into running PC.

I once plugged in the fan when the system was running. I had this balloon came up saying something about "voltage" and I panicked and rebooted the system. Happened on my previous board, I think...

Nothing was wrong afterwards.
__________________
[MY PC]
-- 3DMarkVantage: H7522
-- Q9450 @ 3.2GHZ 1.15V | THERMALRIGHT TRUE BLACK ULTRA-120 | DFI LANPARTY DK P45-T2RS | 4GB G.SKILL DDR2-1000
-- EVGA 280GTX | SAMSUNG 225BW | X-FI XTREMEGAMER FPS | Z-5300e | Z-2300 | 250GB SEAGATE | RAZER LACHESIS
-- 320GB WESTERNDIGITAL | TAGAN 700W | G15 rev. 2 | NINE HUNDRED | VISTA HOME PREMIUM
-- no longer own this system

[MY LAPTOP]
-- MAC BOOK PRO 13" | DUAL BOOT WITH WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64-BIT | 2.3GHz i5 | 4GB DDR3 |
-- OSX LION | 320GB HDD
-- Stolen :^(

[STUFF]
-- PSN: lqfocus06
-- AEKDB
Technoholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 11:32 AM   #3
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Plugged in HDD into running PC.

I remember I did the same thing with a western digital drive like six or seven years ago... I saw a big ass spark. I mainly did it because the drive way clicking and I was pissed.. funny thing was that everything still worked afterwards, including the drive.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 11:35 AM   #4
Technoholic
Registered User
 
Technoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Under your chair
Posts: 1,729
Send a message via MSN to Technoholic
Default Re: Plugged in HDD into running PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LORD-eX-Bu
I remember I did the same thing with a western digital drive like six or seven years ago... I saw a big ass spark. I mainly did it because the drive way clicking and I was pissed.. funny thing was that everything still worked afterwards, including the drive.
__________________
[MY PC]
-- 3DMarkVantage: H7522
-- Q9450 @ 3.2GHZ 1.15V | THERMALRIGHT TRUE BLACK ULTRA-120 | DFI LANPARTY DK P45-T2RS | 4GB G.SKILL DDR2-1000
-- EVGA 280GTX | SAMSUNG 225BW | X-FI XTREMEGAMER FPS | Z-5300e | Z-2300 | 250GB SEAGATE | RAZER LACHESIS
-- 320GB WESTERNDIGITAL | TAGAN 700W | G15 rev. 2 | NINE HUNDRED | VISTA HOME PREMIUM
-- no longer own this system

[MY LAPTOP]
-- MAC BOOK PRO 13" | DUAL BOOT WITH WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64-BIT | 2.3GHz i5 | 4GB DDR3 |
-- OSX LION | 320GB HDD
-- Stolen :^(

[STUFF]
-- PSN: lqfocus06
-- AEKDB
Technoholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 12:17 PM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Plugged in HDD into running PC.

i always plug in HDDs while my system is running, hot-plug sata FTW
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 01:16 PM   #6
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Plugged in HDD into running PC.

Done this a few times with 3.5" IDE drives (scanning and cleaning drives at a shop). As long as you plug it in the correct direction it won't spark and reset the system. If it does spark, just switch off the power, unplug it and let it sit for a few seconds (hit the power button while unplugged to make sure everything is discharged). It should work fine.

The problems comes when this happens with a 2.5" laptop drive on an IDE adapter. 90% of the time it'll be toast. Never hot swap a laptop drive on an adapter, because the power and data go through the same connector, so if the electricity jumps the pins it'll fry the tiny board and motors instantly.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 02:27 PM   #7
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Plugged in HDD into running PC.

I noticed my latest bios support hot plug sata
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-08, 09:44 AM   #8
DeusGear
Registered User
 
DeusGear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 575
Default Re: Plugged in HDD into running PC.

I killed my friends old IDE drive doing that :/ . I plug it in now, boot up the pc and the drive is never seen.
__________________
Abit ip35 pro
q6600 3.6
MSI N480GTX
8gb G.Skill
Win7
DeusGear is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-27-08, 10:19 AM   #9
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Plugged in HDD into running PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
i always plug in HDDs while my system is running, hot-plug sata FTW
i was just about to say, it's no problem. that's the idea behind hot-plug drives lol.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-08, 10:21 AM   #10
dxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 490
Default Re: Plugged in HDD into running PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Picard
I accidently plugged in a 2nd HDD into an already running PC. Don't know why I did that. Was absent-minded I guess.

Was that bad?

Nothing I can see, happened though. I shut down the PC. Restarted and the 2nd HDD got picked up fine and is still working.

If it ws SATA, it'll be fine. If you've ever looked at a SATA data or power connector, you might've noticed that the contacts are staggered - that's done purely to make it safe to hot-install components, as you've just done. Had you enabled AHCI on the controller, you wouldn't even have needed to reboot to get the drive recognised.

Ahh, {{{Technology}}}
dxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 4 independent 1080p displays under Linux? Raven-D NVIDIA Linux 6 06-20-12 05:02 PM
Star Wars 1313 running on Unreal Engine 3 on PC at E3, will be linear and light on Je News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Got driver running but Xfree shows only weird screens silamael NVIDIA Linux 2 09-25-02 01:43 AM
Glad to see this site back up and running john19055 Feedback Forum 53 07-30-02 02:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.