Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-08, 04:43 PM   #1
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Hello, i am getting a new PSU and i wonder if a Corsair 550W will be enough for a SLI setup, like 2 geforce 8800GTX cards? Rest of my system have 5 120mm fans, 2 regular hdds, 2gb of ram and a wolfdale e8400 w/ stock cooler.
Here's the link to the PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139004

Will it also be enough for overclocking and maybe a soundcard SB X-FI?


Thanks for the help..
__________________
Who is bigman....who is kevpla...riddles in the dark
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 04:58 PM   #2
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

ehhh, no. not even close. i would get at least 750W. tbh, if i were running two 8800GTX's, id get a 1000W or greater power supply.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 05:05 PM   #3
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Yeah, not nearly enough. OC'd GTX's munch power.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 05:13 PM   #4
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

hm.. on the other forums they say it wouldn't be any problem. One is even running two 8800 gts 640mb's and hes all good.

What about a Corsair 650w then?
__________________
Who is bigman....who is kevpla...riddles in the dark
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 05:34 PM   #5
Feyy
Registered User
 
Feyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Just settle here, ends all worry.

http://www.pcpower.com/products/powe...s/ultra-quiet/
__________________
________________________________
| CPU: Intel Q6600 B3 @ 3Ghz
| Cooler: Zalman CNPS9700 LED
| Mobo: Intel D975XBX2
| GFX: Inno 3D 8800 GTS 640MB
| PhysX: EVGA 8400 GS 256MB
| Memory: 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev2 PC6400
| PSU: OCZ StealthXtreme 600W PSU
| Monitor: Acer G24
| HDD: 320GB Seagate Barracuda
| Case: NZXT Lexa Blackline [Blue]
| Mouse: Steelseries Xai
| Mouse mat: Steelseries 4HD
________________________________
Feyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 05:45 PM   #6
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Dont like OCZ, and it cost too much here.
__________________
Who is bigman....who is kevpla...riddles in the dark
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 05:50 PM   #7
Feyy
Registered User
 
Feyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Well then get the Corsair, according to owners, should work on 8800GTX in SLI

However to be a bit on the safer side, the 650 might be better option.
__________________
________________________________
| CPU: Intel Q6600 B3 @ 3Ghz
| Cooler: Zalman CNPS9700 LED
| Mobo: Intel D975XBX2
| GFX: Inno 3D 8800 GTS 640MB
| PhysX: EVGA 8400 GS 256MB
| Memory: 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev2 PC6400
| PSU: OCZ StealthXtreme 600W PSU
| Monitor: Acer G24
| HDD: 320GB Seagate Barracuda
| Case: NZXT Lexa Blackline [Blue]
| Mouse: Steelseries Xai
| Mouse mat: Steelseries 4HD
________________________________
Feyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 06:01 PM   #8
Lenin
*BANNED*
 
Lenin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 425
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanosuitguy
hm.. on the other forums they say it wouldn't be any problem. One is even running two 8800 gts 640mb's and hes all good.
A 8800gts 640 draws nowhere near as much power as a 8800gtx.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanosuitguy
What about a Corsair 650w then?
If I'd buy a new psu now, I'd get one from Tagan's new Piperock series - best modular solution I've seen yet
For 8800gtx sli I'd at least get the 800w one.
Lenin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-25-08, 06:07 PM   #9
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenin
For 8800gtx sli I'd at least get the 800w one.
bull****
__________________
Who is bigman....who is kevpla...riddles in the dark
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 06:14 PM   #10
Lenin
*BANNED*
 
Lenin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 425
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanosuitguy
bull****
Well, suit yourself if you wreck your expensive components because your too weak psu got overloaded as it couldn't handle it all.
I'd rather get a psu that's a bit larger than what's needed than playing russian roulette with how low I can get with psu wattage without my components getting fried from a psu overload
Lenin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 06:38 PM   #11
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenin
Well, suit yourself if you wreck your expensive components because your too weak psu got overloaded as it couldn't handle it all.
I'd rather get a psu that's a bit larger than what's needed than playing russian roulette with how low I can get with psu wattage without my components getting fried from a psu overload
What about a Corsair 750w then? Is that good enuf?
__________________
Who is bigman....who is kevpla...riddles in the dark
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 06:54 PM   #12
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

This is what I ordered, and it's to run 2 9600GTs.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817128010
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New DLC Available - Microsoft Flight: F4U Corsair News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 02:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.