Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-08, 07:26 PM   #13
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Seems like overkill, but better safe than sorry I suppose. At least you can OC your quad.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 08:41 PM   #14
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanosuitguy
What about a Corsair 750w then? Is that good enuf?
Should be. Corsair PSUs are basically Seasonic PSUs with even better fan management. 750 would be fine.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 11:28 PM   #15
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,130
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stncttr908
Seems like overkill, but better safe than sorry I suppose. At least you can OC your quad.

Hey, it's a pretty good price for 880W. Besides, it gives me good OC head room. I'm gonna OC all the stuff in my new rig.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 11:35 PM   #16
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,054
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Let me save you some hassle. This is what you need and want. This will be my next PSU when the Q9450 comes out.


PC Power & Cooling S75QB EPS12V 750W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817703009

From jonnyguru, http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...=Story&reid=63
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 11:37 PM   #17
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanosuitguy
bull****
you ask for help then say bull****?

heh, have fun not even booting with that 550W psu.


a powersupply is not some cheap component that you should throw in your system and forget about. it's probably THE most important part of your rig. without a strong/solid PSU, you wont even post. that's the truth. take it or leave it, but dont be disrespectful to people that are helping you for FREE.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-08, 12:16 AM   #18
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

According to this, my system draws about 521W, but that is with the cards at stock:
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine

A good quality 550W may be OK, but any kind of OC may cause system shut down. A 750W should be more than enough.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-08, 02:42 AM   #19
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Why don't you just check sli zone for recommended PSUs?

http://www.slizone.com/object/slizone_build_psu.html

Not a single one of those are 550w - the lowest is 750w, so that's what I would go with!
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-08, 03:56 AM   #20
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toss3
Why don't you just check sli zone for recommended PSUs?

http://www.slizone.com/object/slizone_build_psu.html

Not a single one of those are 550w - the lowest is 750w, so that's what I would go with!
Ok, i am sending the 550w back and getting the 750w corsair instead. Overall it has a real good price and 5 years warranty.
__________________
Who is bigman....who is kevpla...riddles in the dark
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-26-08, 04:08 AM   #21
Nanosuitguy
call me Nano
 
Nanosuitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 517
Send a message via MSN to Nanosuitguy
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

doublepost
__________________
Who is bigman....who is kevpla...riddles in the dark
Nanosuitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-08, 08:23 AM   #22
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanosuitguy
Ok, i am sending the 550w back and getting the 750w corsair instead. Overall it has a real good price and 5 years warranty.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86
ehhh, no. not even close. i would get at least 750W. tbh, if i were running two 8800GTX's, id get a 1000W or greater power supply.
think of all the time you could have saved if you had just listened to me instead of skipping over my post.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-08, 09:04 AM   #23
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86
think of all the time you could have saved if you had just listened to me instead of skipping over my post.
The dude is young and carries the attitude to match.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-08, 11:28 AM   #24
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Corsair 550W enough for SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tr1cK
The dude is young and carries the attitude to match.
yep. the only reason im an asshole to new people on these forums is when they think that ppl here are paid to help them. we dont do this for money. we willfully give other ppl help and our time/knowledge.

tbh, the collective information of this board is worth a lot and ppl complaining just pisses me right the **** off.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New DLC Available - Microsoft Flight: F4U Corsair News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-30-12 02:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.