Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-02, 03:14 AM   #25
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

edit: Got it working.
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD

Last edited by nin_fragile14; 08-25-02 at 11:31 AM.
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-02, 10:04 AM   #26
JohnsonLKD
Henry stauf
 
JohnsonLKD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: BC
Posts: 88
Default

I used 1.01 CD version which is pretty new (1999 yr CD)
__________________
Toshiba M40 - PM1.8Ghz Centrino set / 2GB RAM - DDR1 (pirate) / 80GB Toshiba 2.5" HDD / GF go 6600 128MB PCI-E x16 / Intel 915 / Toshiba DVD+-RW / SB Audigy 2 NX / Samaung SM715v

Toshiba PPC e830 - 2x 1GB SD / 2.2GB Magicstor CF2 MHDD / BT / WiFi
JohnsonLKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-02, 11:32 AM   #27
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

I get 35 fps at 640x480, 31 fps at 800x600, and 25 at 1024x768. Wonder how it runs on a 9700?
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-02, 01:24 PM   #28
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nin_fragile14
I get 35 fps at 640x480, 31 fps at 800x600, and 25 at 1024x768. Wonder how it runs on a 9700?
Should be fast!

According to the guy, fillrate is the MOST IMPORTANT aspect when running this

The shadows look FANTASTIC.

The bumpmaps look crappy though. Pixellated as hell, and the mip mapping is no longer smooth. The transitions vetween mipmap levels are abrupt.

Wonder if the pixellation is attributable to the fact that the original textures are pretty low-rez.
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-02, 01:37 PM   #29
Toad
Lurking
 
Toad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 30
Default

For the water visibility modification patches, just note the files(s) you need from the first page (for the original Quake maps in the retail game, it would be id1.zip), follow the temporary link at the top of the page, proceed on to the patches link, and voila! Live files to be leeched.
Toad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-02, 04:26 PM   #30
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by [Corporal Dan]


Should be fast!

According to the guy, fillrate is the MOST IMPORTANT aspect when running this

The shadows look FANTASTIC.

The bumpmaps look crappy though. Pixellated as hell, and the mip mapping is no longer smooth. The transitions vetween mipmap levels are abrupt.

Wonder if the pixellation is attributable to the fact that the original textures are pretty low-rez.
hmm, it seems like fillrate isn't really the most important thing, because my system with a GF3 is beating the creator's system with a GF4 ti4200. my CPU is a few hundred MHz faster, but i'm getting 45fps@640 compared to his 35.

agreed, the shadows are awesome. now if only some people would make maps for this that having moving light sources :drools:

it would venture a guess to say that the low quality source textures are to blame.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-02, 02:20 PM   #31
DIMA
Registered User
 
DIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 78
Send a message via ICQ to DIMA
Default

A little secret in that mod!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tenebrae-bathroom.jpg
Views:	360
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	175  
__________________
P4 2ghz
512mb RDRAM
GF4 TI4600
DIMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-02, 03:33 PM   #32
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

Very cool, but where's it at?
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-26-02, 04:29 PM   #33
Toad
Lurking
 
Toad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 30
Default Tenebrae maps

Load them from the console:

map bathroom

map bumptest - funkadelic green and purple lighting!

map zoo - tech demo

They're included in the PAK file along with the modified start and e1m1 maps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bumptest.jpg
Views:	230
Size:	50.5 KB
ID:	176  
Toad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-02, 05:42 AM   #34
Master
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 32
Default

How do I change the resolution ? It doesn`t seem to work the old way with -width switch.

I run it with this : "tenebrae.exe -width 1024 -bpp 32" but it still switches back to 640x480x32. Why ? I tried messing with the config files but with no success.

Anybody had the same problem ?

Thanks
Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-02, 07:52 AM   #35
DIMA
Registered User
 
DIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 78
Send a message via ICQ to DIMA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Master
How do I change the resolution ? It doesn`t seem to work the old way with -width switch.

I run it with this : "tenebrae.exe -width 1024 -bpp 32" but it still switches back to 640x480x32. Why ? I tried messing with the config files but with no success.

Anybody had the same problem ?

Thanks
-width 1024 -height 768 -bpp32
__________________
P4 2ghz
512mb RDRAM
GF4 TI4600
DIMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-02, 08:33 AM   #36
Master
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 32
Default

Thanks, that worked now.

BTW, from when do we have to type also -height switch ? Previous versions of GLQuake didn`t require this (I know this is different from GLQuake). And this wasn`t mentioned in the readme file nor in FAQ. Nevermind, until there are discussion groups like this one, F-ck FAQ.

Also does anybody have any idea whether the author shall implement smoothed animation like the one that is in GLQuake ?
IMO that would add a whole new level of realism to the game. Imagine smooth movement of those stenciled shadows on the walls !

Next : fps - is there anybody who has over 50 fps ? I`d be interested in that HW config along with clocks of the card.

Funny, how 5 (or more) years old game can bring current HW to its limit. I have XP2100 and GF3 500 OC`ed to 230/560 but it`s almost unplayable in 1280x1024x32 with some 15-25 fps.


I wonder how will Quake1 look like in 5 years ? I think there will still be people who will want to contribute to the legend.
Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Brief Holiday Shopping Guide for Stereo 3D Technology News Archived News Items 0 12-18-12 06:31 AM
Now Available - Doom 3: BFG Edition News Archived News Items 0 10-16-12 01:20 PM
AgigaTech Patents Non-Volatile Memory DIMM Technology News Archived News Items 0 09-03-12 04:10 PM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.