Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-02, 12:07 AM   #49
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Disable AF vamp that might help on a G4. On my G3 I play with 8x AF just fine
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR

Last edited by Kruno; 09-08-02 at 12:16 AM.
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-02, 05:10 AM   #50
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
Disable AF vamp that might help on a G4. On my G3 I play with 8x AF just fine
it's an OGL game, i'm pretty sure the gf4 is faster than the gf3 with AF now in OGL(ever since 28.90 drivers).

as for D3D, that's another story entirely.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-02, 05:38 AM   #51
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

I heard people getting very bad performance in OGL with a G4 and AF in Tenebrae. Well they were bitching about it maybe because it's damn slow alltogether?
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-02, 11:36 AM   #52
sytaylor
Cerebral Barbarian
 
sytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1,656
Default

excuse the moron moment, but what the chuff is AF? ansitropic filtering?! ill try disabling it in the video options (cus right now it doesnt have a selection next to it)
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 @ 3.42GHz | Abit IP35 Pro | GeIL 4GB DDR2
Gainward BLISS GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB 770/1920/1070
Creative Audigy 2ZS on Logitech Z-680s
Yuraku 24" Widescreen monitor

It saddens me that I need the following to post here:

Disclaimer: Any views expressed in the above post under the psuedonym "sytaylor" are entirely subjective and do not reflect the views of any business, company or entity associated with Simon Taylor. The use, copying of or editing of any materials within this post for professional purposes without written permission is stricly prohibitted under the UK Right of Privacy as provided in the Human Rights Act 1998 and the European Convention on Human Rights: Article 10 ECHR. Any attempt to use the information herin shall be subject to the Data Protection Act and Freedom of Information act, with damages being saught for defamation. This disclaimer applies to all text, images or media on this domain.

You have been warned.
My Blog
sytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-02, 07:14 PM   #53
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
I heard people getting very bad performance in OGL with a G4 and AF in Tenebrae. Well they were bitching about it maybe because it's damn slow alltogether?
probably. it amuses me when some people say they have smooth gameplay in Tenebrae. i doubt anyone with a gf card can get 60fps in any resolution except maybe, maybe 640. and that would be with a top of the line P4 system

yes, AF = anisotropic filtering
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-02, 07:38 PM   #54
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk


probably. it amuses me when some people say they have smooth gameplay in Tenebrae. i doubt anyone with a gf card can get 60fps in any resolution except maybe, maybe 640. and that would be with a top of the line P4 system

yes, AF = anisotropic filtering

Lower the screen size!
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-02, 09:21 PM   #55
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by [Corporal Dan]



Lower the screen size!
why would you want to play at anything but fullscreen, unless of course you are using some nifty widescreen resolution
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-02, 04:11 AM   #56
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Wide screen r0x
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-09-02, 08:58 AM   #57
sytaylor
Cerebral Barbarian
 
sytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1,656
Default

im bitchin cus my rig is capeable of far better than 2fps even in tenabre, nevermind the origional quake (as thats what tenabre seems to load)
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 @ 3.42GHz | Abit IP35 Pro | GeIL 4GB DDR2
Gainward BLISS GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB 770/1920/1070
Creative Audigy 2ZS on Logitech Z-680s
Yuraku 24" Widescreen monitor

It saddens me that I need the following to post here:

Disclaimer: Any views expressed in the above post under the psuedonym "sytaylor" are entirely subjective and do not reflect the views of any business, company or entity associated with Simon Taylor. The use, copying of or editing of any materials within this post for professional purposes without written permission is stricly prohibitted under the UK Right of Privacy as provided in the Human Rights Act 1998 and the European Convention on Human Rights: Article 10 ECHR. Any attempt to use the information herin shall be subject to the Data Protection Act and Freedom of Information act, with damages being saught for defamation. This disclaimer applies to all text, images or media on this domain.

You have been warned.
My Blog
sytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-02, 12:51 PM   #58
darkmiasma
... Meh ...
 
darkmiasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 174
Default

how the f*ck do you get quake1 working on XP pro ?
__________________

MCSE, MCSA, MCP, A+, Net+, Security+
---------------------------------------------

CPU - [ AMD Athlon X2 4200+] Motherboard - [ Asus A8N-SLI Premium] RAM - [ 2GB Crucial DDR400] Videocard - [ eVGA GeForce 7900GT KO (256MB)] Hard Drives - [ (2x) 80.0 GB WD SATA-II ] [(2x) 300.0 GB WD SATA-II] Burner - [ 16x DVD-R/RW - 48x CD-R/RW (Lite-On) ] Soundcard - [ Soundblaster Audigy 2 ] PSU - [ Antec TruePower II 550W] Case - [ Lian-Li PC61 (Plexi window, Blue SA CC Tube) ] Monitor - [ Dell FP2005 (20" Widescreen Flat Panel) ]
darkmiasma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-02, 04:29 PM   #59
sytaylor
Cerebral Barbarian
 
sytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1,656
Default

gooooooooooooooooooooooooood question!!
damn things runs @ 2fps, is this a known issue or what?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 @ 3.42GHz | Abit IP35 Pro | GeIL 4GB DDR2
Gainward BLISS GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB 770/1920/1070
Creative Audigy 2ZS on Logitech Z-680s
Yuraku 24" Widescreen monitor

It saddens me that I need the following to post here:

Disclaimer: Any views expressed in the above post under the psuedonym "sytaylor" are entirely subjective and do not reflect the views of any business, company or entity associated with Simon Taylor. The use, copying of or editing of any materials within this post for professional purposes without written permission is stricly prohibitted under the UK Right of Privacy as provided in the Human Rights Act 1998 and the European Convention on Human Rights: Article 10 ECHR. Any attempt to use the information herin shall be subject to the Data Protection Act and Freedom of Information act, with damages being saught for defamation. This disclaimer applies to all text, images or media on this domain.

You have been warned.
My Blog
sytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-02, 04:54 PM   #60
dpanter
Using a GF3 Ti500
 
dpanter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 19
Default

Don't know what you guys are talking about. Q1 works great for me, original exe, GlQuake, Tenebrae... the works.

I use XP Pro, Celeron 1150 MHz, 256 RAM, GF3 Ti500, det 29.42, SB Live 5.1, full version Q1... runs smooth as sh*t in GlQuake and decent in Tenebrae.

Timedemo demo1
GlQuake 1280x1024: 104 fps
Tenebrae 800x600: 33 fps

Last edited by dpanter; 09-09-02 at 05:00 PM.
dpanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Brief Holiday Shopping Guide for Stereo 3D Technology News Archived News Items 0 12-18-12 06:31 AM
Now Available - Doom 3: BFG Edition News Archived News Items 0 10-16-12 01:20 PM
AgigaTech Patents Non-Volatile Memory DIMM Technology News Archived News Items 0 09-03-12 04:10 PM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.