Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-08, 08:02 AM   #1
ryan29121
mmmkay
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States, WI
Posts: 297
Default Only 1 of my two hard drives are showing...

Im doing a computer build for someone and I came across a problem. Only one of the seagate 320gb drives are showing. When I installed both of them I turned on the computer, a message came up so I formatted one, and tried to format the other. One worked but the other said "Windows cannot format this hard drive." What is causing the second drive not to format properly? The two drives were originally in a RAID array and the main drive where windows is installed is a WD raptor. The OS i am using is Vista ultimate x64. Thanks in advance for your help.
__________________
| Cooler Master Cosmos | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (F13C BIOS)|
|Core 2 Quad Q6600 GO @ 3.40GHz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 NT | EVGA 8800GT 512MB @ 700, 1025 w/ AC Accelero S1 |
|OCZ GameXStream 700W | 8GB G.SKILL DDR2 800 @ 1066, 4-4-4-12| Seagate 7200.10 320GB & 7200.11 1TB |
| Creative X-FI Platinum Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E | x2 Samsung 245BW 24" |
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 |
| Logitech G15 | Logitech G5 Ver.2 |Logitech z5500 5.1 |
||3dMark 06: 15003||
||Games I'm Playing: Modern Warfare 2, Left 4 dead 2, Dragon age, Borderlands||
ryan29121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-08, 09:09 AM   #2
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Only 1 of my two hard drives are showing...

That's strange. Does the motherboard have two different SATA controllers or just one? A lot of Intel boards have the ICH8/9 south bridge plus two ports on a JMicron IDE/SATA controller.

Try a GParted LiveCD.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-08, 10:00 AM   #3
ryan29121
mmmkay
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States, WI
Posts: 297
Default Re: Only 1 of my two hard drives are showing...

how do you go about using gparted? I have never used that software before.
__________________
| Cooler Master Cosmos | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (F13C BIOS)|
|Core 2 Quad Q6600 GO @ 3.40GHz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 NT | EVGA 8800GT 512MB @ 700, 1025 w/ AC Accelero S1 |
|OCZ GameXStream 700W | 8GB G.SKILL DDR2 800 @ 1066, 4-4-4-12| Seagate 7200.10 320GB & 7200.11 1TB |
| Creative X-FI Platinum Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E | x2 Samsung 245BW 24" |
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 |
| Logitech G15 | Logitech G5 Ver.2 |Logitech z5500 5.1 |
||3dMark 06: 15003||
||Games I'm Playing: Modern Warfare 2, Left 4 dead 2, Dragon age, Borderlands||
ryan29121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My hard drive is loud... demonized General Hardware 7 10-11-02 10:41 AM
Hard Drives Head_slinger General Hardware 2 09-02-02 01:47 PM
could someone help me out with this new hard drive garry General Hardware 4 08-22-02 08:15 AM
Good hard drive deal for those interested saturnotaku General Hardware 2 08-06-02 10:06 AM
CD-RW Overclocking :D NeoGeo General Hardware 20 07-30-02 07:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.