Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-03, 06:00 PM   #13
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

No - as I said, i'm not sure what's causing your problem.

Next on the list - have you rebooted? What kernel are you using?

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-03, 06:19 AM   #14
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Andy Mecham
No - as I said, i'm not sure what's causing your problem.

Next on the list - have you rebooted? What kernel are you using?

--andy
I'm using the standard single CPU mdk9.1 (bamboo) for PC.

and well, I had to reboot, because I couldn't do anything with the screen black and all.

I'll try and do it again and this time, I'll copy all the logs and do a step by step procedure.

thanx for all help.

PS: if there's any log that you want specifically, please request so, because I can't leave it using nvidia, I'll have to uninstall again and specify nv and do an ldconfig.
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-03, 05:30 PM   #15
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default

ok, logs with nv:

/etc/X11/XFConfig-4 nvXFconfig
/var/log/XFree86.0.log nvXFlog

system logs:
/proc/pci pcilog
/proc/modules modulelog
/proc/mtrr mtrrlog
/proc/interrupts interruptslog

going root
- su

then: /etc/init.d/dm stop
- kills X-server on mdk9.1

installing nvidia
- sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run

nvidia-installer.log

modifying /etc/X11/XFConfig-4
- changing nv to nvidia
- adding line: Option "NvAGP" "0" it'll make no difference, but to be sure...

/etc/init.d/dm start
- starts X-server
fails.... - pressing reset button to let it start clean
fails again - pressing reset button to start back up
but go into interactive mode and not allow the dm service to start

nvidia logs:
/var/log/XFree86.0.log nvidiaXFlog

uninstalled it:
nvidia-installer --uninstall
ldconfig if not done Xserver will fail
modifying config file to nv again...
/etc/init.d/dm start

voila

log files are attached in zip
Attached Files
File Type: zip logs.zip (12.5 KB, 142 views)
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-03, 07:22 AM   #16
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default

anyone help me? any reaction? anyone that has similar things?
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-03, 12:46 PM   #17
RedEYE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Send a message via ICQ to RedEYE
Default same problem

i have the same problem using suse 8.2 pro on kt400 with msi gf-4 4200 (agp 4x). I postet an entry two weeks ago but i had problems uploading my files and then my modem was broken, sorry andy. So here they are.
RedEYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-03, 12:55 PM   #18
RedEYE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Send a message via ICQ to RedEYE
Default same problem

i have the same problem using suse 8.2 pro on kt400 with msi gf-4 4200 (agp 4x). I postet an entry two weeks ago but i had problems uploading my files and then my modem was broken, sorry andy.
RedEYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-03, 07:50 PM   #19
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default

hey andy, any thoughts now? is it like someone suggested to pass some parameters to lilo.conf file? to let the IRQing be assigned by BIOS?

I do have the PnP-OS feature set to NO and IRQ assigning to VGA, I don't think that those parameters should be in the lilo.conf file...

do you have any wild guesses? thanks for all the help, and if you want me to help you out in any way in this matter, I'll gladly help...
__________________
Alien is my name and headbiting is my game.
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-03, 04:40 AM   #20
tsubasa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France ( Angouleme )
Posts: 105
Default

I have the same probleme using MSI KT333, its boring me :'(
tsubasa is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-09-03, 01:14 PM   #21
atack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4
Lightbulb Same Here

I also have that chipset and using mandrake9.1 it also locks up pc. I started a thread author "atack", I am experiencing the same issue as you, and the one in "tsubasa's" thread. Looks like the common thread is the chipset!
atack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-03, 01:18 PM   #22
tsubasa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France ( Angouleme )
Posts: 105
Default !

Erf i have recrash my linux, i have try to install nvidia driver on my renew fresh install of mandrake and add this to
etc/lilo.conf
"append=pci=noacpi pci=biosirq"

And i have try also to add
Option "NvAgp" "1"

But always the same blank screen ...
tsubasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-03, 07:43 AM   #23
Psychobudgie
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
Default

Exactly the same here with a Geforce 4 MX440 on a KT400 mobo. Grey screen with nvidia drivers no matter what I try. Sigh...

With all the problems people are reporting you would think nVidia may be able to offer some suggestions.

Here is my log file if it even matters anymore.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86_0_log.txt (13.2 KB, 103 views)
Psychobudgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-03, 10:51 AM   #24
Sestun
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
Unhappy

Same problem with me, I have an ECS elite L7VTA mobo with the dreaded KT400 chipset and currently running Mandrake 9.1. I`ve tried all the workarounds but no joy.

Funny thing, I also have a problem with my Soundblaster PCI 128 soundcard, it works ok under KDE, but if I try "play" on the command line the sound loops. Perhaps Linux just isn`t ready for the KT400 ?
Sestun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4200 and overclocked AGP Prefect47 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 09-16-02 03:50 PM
agp 440bx/zx tntultar32 t00bad NVIDIA Linux 1 09-11-02 02:46 PM
How much heat can a GeForce4 Ti 4600 handle? Velkator NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 4 09-03-02 04:41 PM
X freezes when agp 4x is enabled jinksed NVIDIA Linux 1 08-07-02 04:56 PM
Killing of a mobo.... Evil Panda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 08-05-02 12:37 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.