Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-08, 04:03 AM   #25
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

old CPU
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 06:02 AM   #26
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Friend of mine with a p4 extreme edition something told me some games works better with hyperthreading set to off from bios. Might help on Crysis too, dunno.
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 06:13 AM   #27
CapnKirk
Registered User
 
CapnKirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 196
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Might help, but yeah, hardware upgrade time..

http://www.tweakguides.com/Crysis_1.html
__________________
MODIFICATION: PROJECT BLACKBIRD-003 DEFIANT EDITION™

Defiant Modification Solutions™
Defying Murphy's Law



"Show me, Don't tell me!"
CapnKirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 11:27 AM   #28
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Quote:
Originally Posted by conroejoe
There is no magic for crappy hardware.
QFT
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 03:21 PM   #29
CDE_1246
Registered User
 
CDE_1246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 650
Send a message via AIM to CDE_1246
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Thanks for the link. For some reason I cant get texturesstreaming to work.
I put the command into my config that I am making and my textures are still blurry. I am using the command "r_TexturesStreaming=0" and its not working do you guys know why? Thanks!
CDE_1246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 03:37 PM   #30
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Texture stream by default no? (1 means on/yes in my book)

Only don't stream in 64bit because of the ability to have lots of ram and load more into it I think.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 03:51 PM   #31
unitedflow1
lil bit of action
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: wasteland
Posts: 14
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

what video card driver are u using?which operating system are u using?if vista,use xp.u should be able to play it above low settings with a 8800gts 320 even if u have a p4 3.2.i would backup everything that u need reinstall windows,then update windows first with the service pack,then windows updates.then install your motherboard drivers,then your video card drivers(get the latest nvidia one),then your soundcard drivers.then install other apps(vls player.etc.etc.)then games,update them.then do a disk cleanup.now defrag your pc.u should be able to play at medium settings at a res of 1280x720.
unitedflow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 03:56 PM   #32
CDE_1246
Registered User
 
CDE_1246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 650
Send a message via AIM to CDE_1246
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Im using Windows XP Professional. Vista sucks so I'm not using it. I actually did get the game to run much better. I just need to figure out how to get texturesstreaming off by using that command.

http://www.tweakguides.com/images/Cr...sStreaming.gif

This is what I'm talking about:

r_TexturesStreaming [0,1,2] - This setting controls the streaming texture system in the game, and if set to 0, textures are not constantly streamed as you walk around, they are preloaded from a cache. While this increases memory usage, and hence may cause additional stuttering on systems with low RAM, for the most part disabling it should cause no problems and will reduce stuttering on most systems. More importantly, disabling it also appears to improve more distant textures without any real drop in performance.
CDE_1246 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-03-08, 06:02 PM   #33
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDE_1246
Im using Windows XP Professional. Vista sucks so I'm not using it. I actually did get the game to run much better. I just need to figure out how to get texturesstreaming off by using that command.

http://www.tweakguides.com/images/Cr...sStreaming.gif

This is what I'm talking about:

r_TexturesStreaming [0,1,2] - This setting controls the streaming texture system in the game, and if set to 0, textures are not constantly streamed as you walk around, they are preloaded from a cache. While this increases memory usage, and hence may cause additional stuttering on systems with low RAM, for the most part disabling it should cause no problems and will reduce stuttering on most systems. More importantly, disabling it also appears to improve more distant textures without any real drop in performance.
Make either an autoexec.cfg or system.cfg with the 'r_TexturesStreaming=0' in it. Place it in your root Crysis folder, you'll be all set. It does make a nice difference too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 07:29 PM   #34
CDE_1246
Registered User
 
CDE_1246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 650
Send a message via AIM to CDE_1246
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Thats what I did I made an autoexec.cfg file and texturesstreaming wont work.
CDE_1246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 07:54 PM   #35
CDE_1246
Registered User
 
CDE_1246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 650
Send a message via AIM to CDE_1246
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Its still looks like crap. Is there another command I need to add for this to work?


CDE_1246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 09:17 PM   #36
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Try adding this to your autoexec.cfg

Quote:
e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy=4096
It may not work, or may kill your performance, but hey, worth a shot.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 11:35 AM
TV-Out dont work anymore.. fatalimmortal NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 3 09-28-02 11:20 AM
Is the GeForce 4 Ti still worth buying? netape NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 51 09-05-02 10:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.