Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-08, 07:44 AM   #37
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamingawake
you should use

B. a better video card.

that should solve your problem.
Fixed.

My brother has a near ancient 939 system with a 320mb GTS and it runs smooth as glass on medium/high.

for the nine thousandth time, crysis could care less what CPU you have!! I've put my ultra in my brothers system and gotten a smooth 25 fps (oxymoron haha) on all very high settings. Benchmark test (both GPU and CPU tests) prove that my E6600 is only worth about 5~ish fps on average more than what the 939 can dish out considering that I also run slightly higher settings.

so all of you still under the impression that crysis gives two craps about what CPU you've got, stop. The GPU defines the performance of Crysis becuase the game wasn't coded to utilize multiple cores (not yet at least). The simple fact that my brothers 939 system with 1 gig of ram can nearly match the benchmarks of my system which considerably out muscles his tells me that despite whatever other benchmark tests we may see online, I've seen with my own eyes crysis totally ignoring the cpu. Running 3dmark 06 on both systems both with his machine with the ultra and then the GTS, shows tremendous differences in the scores. Even with the ultra in his system, it couldn't crack 10K points. Mine demolished his score so there's nothing abnormal about either of our systems.

CDE, Medium water/shadows, high texture, low post processing, no AA, no AF all at 1280X1024. It's not rocket science. There are countless tweak guides out there going in depth on maximizing performance and eye candy.

Running "good" by definition for crysis is 25~30 fps. That's the target to shoot for when you're tweaking the configuration or graphics settings.

If this doesn't work, consider running disk clean up, defrag, etc. It could just be your OS is old and bloated. I've noticed games run considerably quicker after a fresh install of windows.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-08, 08:51 AM   #38
Dreamingawake
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 806
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

hm well you know you could do that, but then the game will look like crap..lol

enjoy playing on medium details just to get a good frame rate.. hahaha

sorry but i can barely stand the game on high, let alone medium..


why not just take it down to low so you really get a FPS boost ??
Dreamingawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-08, 08:53 AM   #39
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

i cannot see the point of playing crysis as it isnt meant to be seen
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-08, 09:19 AM   #40
Crow_Nest
Ace Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Crow_Nest
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDE_1246
So pretty much this game was clearly rushed out.
The game is pretty darn well optimized, its been said before. Your CPU is outdated, P4s are great, or USED to be great few years back. If you can just upgrade that CPU it'll solve your problem.
__________________
Desktop
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel i7 2700K @ 3.5 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB |
| G.Skill RipJawsX PC3 12800 4GB x 2 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer | Intel SSD 520 120GB SSD |
| Hitachi 1TB SATA3 HDD | Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 | Cooler Master Silent Pro M 700W |
| Cooler Master Centurion 5 II Casing | Samsung SyncMaster XL2370 |


Laptop : Lenovo IdeaPad Y450
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 2.2 GHz | NVIDIA GeForce G110M 256MB |
| 4GB DDR3 SDRAM | Western Digital 320GB | 14.1' LED Backlit Screen |


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=73666&dateline=135279  2183
Crow_Nest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-08, 07:11 PM   #41
CDE_1246
Registered User
 
CDE_1246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 650
Send a message via AIM to CDE_1246
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Well as you can see in my screenshots, I have gotten this game to run quite well on my system but I'm still working on i.e texturesstreaming I am going to try what that guy just posted.
CDE_1246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-08, 07:23 PM   #42
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar
Fixed.

My brother has a near ancient 939 system with a 320mb GTS and it runs smooth as glass on medium/high.

for the nine thousandth time, crysis could care less what CPU you have!! I've put my ultra in my brothers system and gotten a smooth 25 fps (oxymoron haha) on all very high settings. Benchmark test (both GPU and CPU tests) prove that my E6600 is only worth about 5~ish fps on average more than what the 939 can dish out considering that I also run slightly higher settings.

so all of you still under the impression that crysis gives two craps about what CPU you've got, stop. The GPU defines the performance of Crysis becuase the game wasn't coded to utilize multiple cores (not yet at least). The simple fact that my brothers 939 system with 1 gig of ram can nearly match the benchmarks of my system which considerably out muscles his tells me that despite whatever other benchmark tests we may see online, I've seen with my own eyes crysis totally ignoring the cpu. Running 3dmark 06 on both systems both with his machine with the ultra and then the GTS, shows tremendous differences in the scores. Even with the ultra in his system, it couldn't crack 10K points. Mine demolished his score so there's nothing abnormal about either of our systems.

CDE, Medium water/shadows, high texture, low post processing, no AA, no AF all at 1280X1024. It's not rocket science. There are countless tweak guides out there going in depth on maximizing performance and eye candy.

Running "good" by definition for crysis is 25~30 fps. That's the target to shoot for when you're tweaking the configuration or graphics settings.

If this doesn't work, consider running disk clean up, defrag, etc. It could just be your OS is old and bloated. I've noticed games run considerably quicker after a fresh install of windows.
Really? So a single core A64 2800 will net nearly identical performance in Crysis as my FX-60 at max settings?

No... it wont.

You mention he has an "ancient 939 system"... that is quite vague. Even the X2 3600 (939) will offer a performance boost over the single core 4000. Going from single core to dual core *will* net you a performance boost in Crysis. And considering that the OP's proc is a single core Pentium 4... it is no wonder his performance is so low.

There comes a point where the video card finishes it's task(s) before the CPU can send it new jobs. In his case, this is probably what he's experiencing... along with other things I'd imagine.

To play crysis at a consisten 25+fps you need a decent dual core setup, and absolutely no lower of a video card than what he already has. I guarantee that if the OP upgraded to a Core2 he'd notice a good boost in FPS.

Unfortunately... Crysis has yet to take advantage of quad-core CPUs, it seems limited to only dual-core. But to say there's virtually (or even "next-to") no difference running the game on a single core vs. a dual core is flat out wrong. There's a difference.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-08, 09:13 PM   #43
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

you guys make me feel like playing it again
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-08, 09:27 PM   #44
unitedflow1
lil bit of action
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: wasteland
Posts: 14
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

i think what fastpony meant is that pretty much as long as u have an ok cpu with a good video card u should be ok
unitedflow1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-08, 10:26 PM   #45
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Quote:
Originally Posted by unitedflow1
i think what fastpony meant is that pretty much as long as u have an ok cpu with a good video card u should be ok
*THIS* I agree with.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-08, 10:56 PM   #46
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Really? So a single core A64 2800 will net nearly identical performance in Crysis as my FX-60 at max settings?

No... it wont.

You mention he has an "ancient 939 system"... that is quite vague. Even the X2 3600 (939) will offer a performance boost over the single core 4000. Going from single core to dual core *will* net you a performance boost in Crysis. And considering that the OP's proc is a single core Pentium 4... it is no wonder his performance is so low.

There comes a point where the video card finishes it's task(s) before the CPU can send it new jobs. In his case, this is probably what he's experiencing... along with other things I'd imagine.

To play crysis at a consisten 25+fps you need a decent dual core setup, and absolutely no lower of a video card than what he already has. I guarantee that if the OP upgraded to a Core2 he'd notice a good boost in FPS.

Unfortunately... Crysis has yet to take advantage of quad-core CPUs, it seems limited to only dual-core. But to say there's virtually (or even "next-to") no difference running the game on a single core vs. a dual core is flat out wrong. There's a difference.
QFT.

http://www.gamespot.com/features/6182806/p-6.html

A P4 3.2 would be even slower than the 4000+ in that test (By quite a bit) so you would probably have to be running at 800 x 600 low settings to make the game playable.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-08, 03:28 PM   #47
CDE_1246
Registered User
 
CDE_1246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 650
Send a message via AIM to CDE_1246
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

Thanks it did work.

When I upgrade my CPU I am either going with this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115037
or this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115018
CDE_1246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-08, 04:17 AM   #48
sahilmalhotra17
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 67
Default Re: I cant take this anymore!

just installed it.... i get roughly 28-36 fps on benchmarking ......

using a q6600@3.6 Ghz
8800 GT @ 684 / 1650 Mhz
4GB 667Mhz RAM @ 800 Mhz .....
9X Multiplier
398 Mhz Bus speed
effective FSB = 1592 Mhz

Runs sweet everything very high
only regret

Anti Aliasing is just 2X ..... alas.....
sahilmalhotra17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 11:35 AM
TV-Out dont work anymore.. fatalimmortal NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 3 09-28-02 11:20 AM
Is the GeForce 4 Ti still worth buying? netape NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 51 09-05-02 10:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.