Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-08, 01:19 AM   #1
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Lost Planet PS3

Well I rented and have played it to mission 5 and it runs quite well. I have no idea how some reviews gave it such a low score for slow down. I haven't seen any at all on my PS3. It looks quite nice too.

The only thing I didn't like about the game so far was the moth on mission 5. It can get you into a juggle to death combo that really sucks.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 04:54 AM   #2
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Lost Planet PS3

Does it look any better than the 360 version?

I have the PC, I love it. It's a great 3rd person shooter, though very difficult at times. Capcom have a great engine of their hands.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 07:44 AM   #3
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Lost Planet PS3

I couldn't tell you, I never rented the 360 version.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 07:52 AM   #4
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Lost Planet PS3

Had I not found the PC version in the clearance bin, I would certainly have rented it for the PS3. It's a better-than-decent 3rd-person action game in the little bit I've played.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 10:58 AM   #5
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Lost Planet PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
Does it look any better than the 360 version?

I have the PC, I love it. It's a great 3rd person shooter, though very difficult at times. Capcom have a great engine of their hands.

Looks and runs just like the 360 version from what I could tell. They did a good job on the port imho. Hopefully its something that continues in future ports.
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 02:28 PM   #6
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Lost Planet PS3

http://www.videogamer.com/features/a...-2008-319.html

head to head video comparison:
http://www.videogamer.com/videos/pla...?vid=1612.html

clearly the frame are not great, some cut-scene shows low resolution textures, blur motion is pretty bad, few particles' missing. that's what they said and i do see that from video.

i should download the demo on ps3 to see.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 03:17 PM   #7
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Lost Planet PS3

Kotaku did a few side by side comparisions of the 360 and ps3 version.. The verdict was a bad port job from the 360 to ps3. (note: I only played the demo on the 360, so don't take my word for it).
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 09:14 PM   #8
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Lost Planet PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butter Bandit
Didn't lost planet run like crap on PC too?
Not on mine. Even when I had the 3800+ and 2gb RAM it ran great. It supports quad core and makes good use of it. I'd say it achieves a much better looks vs framerate balance than Crysis.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I play PS3 on my Sony Vaio while using HDMI cable? AbbieJohnson Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 05:04 AM
Rumor: Sony Cloud Deal Will Make PS3 Backwards Compatible, Stream PS2/PS1 games News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 12:10 PM
Lost Planet 3 Footage Raises Some Eyebrows News Archived News Items 0 05-23-12 02:10 PM
lost ttyv after upgrading from 285 to 295.40 barbara NVIDIA FreeBSD 3 05-15-12 04:48 PM
EA: The Old Republic has lost nearly 25% of its subscribers since March News Archived News Items 0 05-08-12 01:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.