Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-08, 06:38 AM   #25
BronzeGod
Kanye West is emo
 
BronzeGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,099
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

The Auzentech Prelude is the best soundcard out right now. Hell, they even got Creative's drivers working well now. It has DDL and DTS live decoding enabled now with a recent release too.
__________________
>>>>In MikeC We Trust<<<<
BronzeGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-08, 07:54 AM   #26
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

I used to suffer from the static crackle and popps issue back when my Xfi fatality pro was new. It was really terrible ...

I was mad as hell but what could I do ... From reading it was apparent it was a hardware flaw in some way. Yet I really wanted a Xfi, and figured if I had it changed, problem would prolly still remain (after reading tons of posts on creative forums)

A coupple of solutions worked for me. At bootup, going into bios first, and just exit would ensure I got no problems in XP, dunno why but it worked.

Later I noticed that if I from a true cold boot went into XP, i would get problems (ie power cut from puter, i used to do that to all standby units at home). But after reboot it was good again.

Ive not experienced the horrible crackle and popps with my new rig yet, I have however one time heard the faintest of pops after starting up my asio apps, (that used to happen from time to time with old rig) so that hint's that I might still get problem, however nowdays i never cut power to my puter and those time ive done so, it's been no problem.

Shielding your card from other cards helps too, easy to do your own too with some carboard and aluminum foil. Ive not botherd to do so yet tho, but Im thinking I should.
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-08, 03:13 PM   #27
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,964
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

You would think one of those idiots at Creative would offer a solution or addin that would fix this issue when being together with highend parts.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-08, 03:38 PM   #28
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
You would think one of those idiots at Creative would offer a solution or addin that would fix this issue when being together with highend parts.
You think so. The Pro cost 1000AUD when it first released here... Then again Creative AU support is pretty good. They'll often replace cards outright.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-08, 12:48 PM   #29
zeejay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 60
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

I've never had a prob with my X-fi other then creatives web driver package being a POS for Xp x64.

The sound works perfectly for me in my 680 board. I did have a lot of sound
issues back when i was running an audigy and SCSI together in an older nforce board.
zeejay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-08, 01:20 PM   #30
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeejay
I've never had a prob with my X-fi other then creatives web driver package being a POS for Xp x64.

The sound works perfectly for me in my 680 board. I did have a lot of sound
issues back when i was running an audigy and SCSI together in an older nforce board.
bigman is member of hate creative club
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-08, 03:13 PM   #31
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

My elite pro is in the box, X-Fi + SLI was nothing but headaches for me, the crackling noises were unbearable.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-08, 03:23 PM   #32
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

Can I have the Elite Pro then?
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-08, 03:29 PM   #33
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

Well good luck with ASUS Xoner, I read on ASUS forum that many people complainted about poor Xoner driver support that many games such as Source engine games refused to launched, sound not worked with Xoner card installed. But if you want to run 10 years old classic games then you are screwed as here are no sound working in all old games far back to 1997.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-08, 04:45 PM   #34
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800
Well good luck with ASUS Xoner, I read on ASUS forum that many people complainted about poor Xoner driver support that many games such as Source engine games refused to launched, sound not worked with Xoner card installed. But if you want to run 10 years old classic games then you are screwed as here are no sound working in all old games far back to 1997.
c-media drivers FTW!
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-08, 05:30 PM   #35
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

Can't wait till Bigman gets a c-media card, then experinces they're crap drivers. Hell the drivers they put on Windows Update for XP don't even work, and it's been like that for over a year.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-08, 05:48 PM   #36
amk21
*BANNED*
 
amk21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 928
Default Re: Xfi's Are Really A POS

Do many people experience many problems with x-fi cards with the new intel chipsets? I can't stand running mine under my nforce 4.
amk21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.