Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-08, 09:52 PM   #1
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

I got some new ram the other day so am cranking up my cpu
but anything over 3.69ghz reboots at desktop

The ram is ok for 1000 4-4-4-12 so thats not the problem

Temps are cool (in your face thermalright ultra extreme!)

Should I stop pushing it?
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-08, 01:24 AM   #2
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

What's the motherboard you're using? 3.7Ghz is extreme for an E6400. I can barely get 3.65Ghz with my E6600.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-08, 05:02 AM   #3
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default Re: e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

P5b-Deluxe

Going from 3.6 to 3.69 has very little effect in 3d mark or crysis so I guess my gt (@710/1850/1011) is the bottleneck anyway.



Still its nice to know the limit,

3.8ghz would have been sweet.



Maybe I need to bring the vcore up to 1.45 (thats the safe limit right?) for the 3.69ghz to have more kick.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-08, 11:11 AM   #4
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

I am running 3.2Ghz with mine. I can go higher, but the temps hold me back.

Personally, I wouldn't go past setting 1.5v and 55c. (the cpu is rated up to 61c under normal conditions, not overclocked).
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-08, 04:01 PM   #5
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default Re: e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

Im using 'Super Fast Shutdown' in Speedfan set @ 60c just in-case, I know they throttle but still.. I like it to be on my terms.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-08, 04:25 PM   #6
Libertysyclone
I Lie about MPG
 
Libertysyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 531
Send a message via MSN to Libertysyclone
Default Re: e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

even over the 1.5 recommended voltage your still going to get 2+ years out of that CPU as long as temps are safe. keep pushing for stability and run it for a week to see if you are comfortable with it.
__________________
System=
Q6600@3.8Ghz/ EVGA 790i Ultra/ EVGA 9800GX2/ and some H20
Libertysyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-08, 05:49 PM   #7
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default Re: e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

I might put a sink on the bare mosfet cluster at the top before I try that, Something Ive been meaning to do for a while now.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-08, 03:20 PM   #8
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

I would be very happy with 3.7GHz it's not a pyren you know. Chances are the board has hit the FSB wall, or the CPU's FSB is at max or simply it can not go higher.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-16-08, 07:22 AM   #9
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default Re: e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazz
I would be very happy with 3.7GHz it's not a pyren you know. Chances are the board has hit the FSB wall, or the CPU's FSB is at max or simply it can not go higher.
Nah ,Just needed more juice to push it over 3.7, Still not reached its limit yet.



cpuz is giving me an incorrect vcore reading now, Is that something to worry about?
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-08, 10:55 AM   #10
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

CPU-Z always reports the voltage incorrectly.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-08, 04:02 PM   #11
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

You're also using an outdated version. 1.44.1 reports voltage better for some boards.
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-08, 04:22 PM   #12
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default Re: e6400 Hitting A Wall @3.7ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uberpwnage
You're also using an outdated version. 1.44.1 reports voltage better for some boards.
yup, cheers
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stubborn screen res problem Alpsoandso NVIDIA Linux 6 05-03-12 06:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.