Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-03, 08:36 PM   #13
shalcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9
Default hmm

mmaster,

I checked my bios, and totally forgot i was overclocking my cpu. anyway, i reduced it back to default. so i guess i'll wait for the inevidable lockup. (had my hopes up in other efforts! always got let down)
anyway, i will check that power management section in the bios too. from memory that should be fine.
ive changed the NvAgp to "0"
even tho in the bios it is using onboard agp?!

no doubt, i'll be writing here again this afternoon.

Simon "sceptic" Halcrow.

ps. i love nvidia right now~~~
shalcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 09:05 PM   #14
mmaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 20
Default

I'm off for the weekend starting friday evening. I'll try to check the board, but no promises.

It may not be your vid card causing all this. Some systems (windows or linux or whatever) just don't respond well to overclocking. It might be, though, cuz sometimes when you overclock your cpu, you overclock your agp and pci slots as well and that could cause some goofiness...

why'd you set the NvAGP to 0? 3 is the "universal" setting.
mmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 09:15 PM   #15
shalcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9
Default

I was just trying it for a while.
ended up changing to three a short time ago.
Am going to try a movie soon to see if it will freeze.

does andy know that this could factor into all these problems? you should let him know.

Simon Halcrow
shalcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 09:34 PM   #16
shalcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9
Default

nope didnt stop the lockups.
i was just running the configure script for wine and it locked up on me.
shalcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-03, 02:45 AM   #17
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Lightbulb

Hi,

The lock up could have something to do with the tempature of your processor but i doubt its that. what temp. is it?

And how did you install the nvidia drivers?
Did you uninstall the older or dummy drivers first??

Because i had that problem 2 when installing the nvidia drivers without removing the dummy drivers.
__________________
http://www.agilityos.com
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-03, 05:15 AM   #18
shalcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9
Default

No, i just installed the new ones over the old.
can you tell me how to remove both?

I will reinstall the latest driver fresh.

hopefully this may solve this issue.

Simon Halcrow.
shalcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-03, 06:21 AM   #19
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Thumbs up

Hi,
I will tell you how to uninstall both and reinstall the new one's only: (but this is on SuSE 8.1)

what you do is download the new ones to a know directory.

Reboot your machine into linux safe settings. (runlevel 3)

then login with root and do a yast.
install/remove software, search for nvidia and remove them all.
Then get out of yast, cd to the official nvidia drivers and type:

rpm -Uhv NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-4363.suse81.i386.rpm

rpm -Uhv NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-4363.suse81.i386.rpm

reboot and ready.
Dont forget this is the SuSE way what i know of. i hope you understand it a bit and do it the RH way.
__________________
http://www.agilityos.com
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-03, 03:45 PM   #20
mmaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 20
Default

or try

nivdia-installer -f --update

if you are using newer drivers...
mmaster is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-26-03, 07:42 PM   #21
shalcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9
Default

that didnt work either. i am already using the latest driver.
do you think it could be gdm causing this problem?
shalcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-03, 08:45 PM   #22
mmaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 20
Default

ok then...

do this:

init 3
(changes you to cli mode - no gui)

su - (supply root password)

nvidia-installer --update -f

and see if the drivers reinstall

when yer done,
exit
(to cancel the su mode)

init 5
( to go back to gui mode)

other than that, i'm stumped...

and, for the record, I'm not convinced it's the drivers...

and, for giggles, do this:
rpm -qa |grep nvidia
to see if you installed the rpm versions...

if they are installed, you can
rpm -e RPMPACKAGENAME
where RPMPACKAGENAME are the nvidia rpms listed with the -qa line...

just be careful, and make sure to read the man pages and be sure of what you want to accomplish... we don't wanna muck up your system for you...
mmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-03, 02:55 AM   #23
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

Hi maybe try this.
this is your XF86Config:

Section "Module"

# Option "NvAGP" "3"
# Option "NoLogo" "true"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
# Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
# Load "dri"
EndSection

Try to change it to this:
Section "Module"
Load "freetype"
Load "speedo"
Load "glx"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
EndSection

And at the "device" add this options:


BusID "1:0:0"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "NoRenderAccel"
VendorName "NVidia"
Option "NvAGP" "3"
Option "DigitalVibrance" "255"

Before you this make a backup
try it out.
__________________
http://www.agilityos.com
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Linux driver 1.0-3123 thread bammbamm808 NVIDIA Linux 126 12-05-02 06:21 PM
Reproducable Hard Lockup - RH 8.0 & 3123 brand NVIDIA Linux 6 10-05-02 03:48 PM
GeForce4 hard lockup with games under Windows XP Snap NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 09-27-02 02:37 PM
Black screen and lockup on startx. redmoose NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 11:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.