Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-08, 10:24 PM   #1
thedude3213
Registered User
 
thedude3213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to thedude3213 Send a message via Yahoo to thedude3213
Question Setting up home server

Ok, so my friends got an old computer and he wants me to turn it into a home server.

Theres several computers around the house, and he wants to be able to have them all able to access the server and his files from any of the computers in his house.

Where do I start? I really don't know much about networking.

Edit: Also wants all computers to print on the same printer.
__________________
M/B: Abit AB9 Pro
CPU: E6600 (stock speed)
RAM: 3GB DDR2
GPU: 8800GT
thedude3213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-08, 09:38 AM   #2
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: Setting up home server

what is this server going to be used for?
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-08, 09:57 AM   #3
thedude3213
Registered User
 
thedude3213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to thedude3213 Send a message via Yahoo to thedude3213
Default Re: Setting up home server

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runningman
what is this server going to be used for?
Just stuff like pictures and backing up the computers, and he wants to have all the computers print from the same place.
__________________
M/B: Abit AB9 Pro
CPU: E6600 (stock speed)
RAM: 3GB DDR2
GPU: 8800GT
thedude3213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-08, 04:54 PM   #4
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Setting up home server

An XP machine should do if you have one around (Pro would be preferable over Home). Vista Business would also do. Just run the networking wizards, install the printers to that PC, share the printers and any folders. You'll be set. Sharing is easy, just right click and go to share.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-08, 08:12 PM   #5
thedude3213
Registered User
 
thedude3213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to thedude3213 Send a message via Yahoo to thedude3213
Default Re: Setting up home server

Thanks!
__________________
M/B: Abit AB9 Pro
CPU: E6600 (stock speed)
RAM: 3GB DDR2
GPU: 8800GT
thedude3213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fujitsu Marries GPUs and Xeon in High-Density HPC Server News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 06:30 PM
Virtualization, Windows Server 2012 dominate Microsoft's TechEd News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 06:10 PM
Home Launches, Keeps Us Up At Night News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 03:10 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.