Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-08, 11:38 PM   #145
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Finally picked this up today
and put it back down again? Bought it? Licked it? More detail plz. I want screenies and benchies.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-08, 12:45 AM   #146
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

I got DX9 working on Vista with an 8000 through Steam and thought I would post the solution in case anyone else needed assistance. You have to cut the DX10.exe out of the game directory and store it somewhere else, then rename the DX9.exe to DX10.exe and the game will launch it, giving you the DX9 version.

My framerates literally doubled with the DX9 version, so don't know what the heck is wrong with my computer and the DX10 code... That said, the DX9 version looks obviously worse to me as well, mostly because of jaggies that still look bad even with multisampling maxed, somewhat similar... though not as bad... as those shots Brady posted earlier. I'll have to play around with it... post some pics if I can't figure out the problem.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-08, 12:58 AM   #147
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

I got CoD4 off steam, and i dont need steam to be up to play cod4 mulitplayer
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-08, 03:46 AM   #148
rap1d^
 
rap1d^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 110
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

Picked up a copy yesterday, enjoying it so far

To enable AA at the higher resolutions you can just mod the ini which is located here in Vista

C:\Users\YOURNAME\AppData\Roaming\Ubisoft\Assassin's Creed

works for me, screenshot below 1920x1200 DX10 AA forced to '3' setting in the ini

__________________
| Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.0Ghz | Asus P6T Deluxe | 3x2Gb Corsair DDR3 PC-12800 | 2 x Palit GTX480 | Creative XFI | OCZ Vertex 3 | BenQ FP241w | Windows 7 64 |
rap1d^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-08, 04:18 AM   #149
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by trivium nate
i cant find this game on torrents....
y not?
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-08, 07:06 AM   #150
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

The more I mess with it the more I actually preffer keyboard and mouse control... I love flicking the mouse quickly to get an overhead shot of my leaps, and I like the smoothness of looking around in general. Very nice, in my opinion, and outweighs the lack of fluidity in the WASD part of the controls.

At the very least the PC controls are not a hinderance like the Gamespot review states.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-08, 07:20 AM   #151
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

It's running pretty poor for me...

DX9 does seem to be a lot faster, but the dialog does not come on in XP... so In play it in Vista...
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-08, 08:50 AM   #152
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

I have the game and have been very impressed.. in the graphics and the gameplay ,there so many things you can do.. however dont like the controls..
HAving a dificult time , knowing how to do everything you need to do.. its so complex the controls.. just like their latest Prince of Persia games..

How do you take in game screenshots?

While i have 4xAA enable ,I think im playing at 8xS AA using NV enhance options.. because it looks perfect without any aliasing.. but a little slow ..
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-12-08, 08:55 AM   #153
alitayyab
Registered User
 
alitayyab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 122
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

has no one here ever experienced one single crash??
using drivers 169.21 and i get the looping sound crash very frequently
with drivers 174.74 i get some artifacts, more like polygon pop in and if i turn on any form of AA ingame a memory could not be read error

there are reports of "nv4_disp not responding" error on ubi's forum but i am surprised that no one here hasnt had any (or i am too daft to see any posted here)
__________________
PC: Intel Ci5-2500k || AsRock Z77 Extreme6 || 8GB RAM || Sparkle GTX680 || Thermaltake Tough Power XT 775W PSU || Xigmatek Pantheon Case||
alitayyab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-08, 10:46 AM   #154
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

Nope. No crashing here. I'm using the 169.44's. I noticed some issues with the shadows and the 174.74's. Also the 174.74's cause problems with FSX. The 169.44's have been strongest all around drivers for me so far. You might want to give em a try.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-08, 10:51 AM   #155
alitayyab
Registered User
 
alitayyab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 122
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady
Nope. No crashing here. I'm using the 169.44's. I noticed some issues with the shadows and the 174.74's. Also the 174.74's cause problems with FSX. The 169.44's have been strongest all around drivers for me so far. You might want to give em a try.
i guess that is a more accurate description of what i was seeing. i give the .44s a shot
__________________
PC: Intel Ci5-2500k || AsRock Z77 Extreme6 || 8GB RAM || Sparkle GTX680 || Thermaltake Tough Power XT 775W PSU || Xigmatek Pantheon Case||
alitayyab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-08, 11:52 AM   #156
MaXThReAT
Registered User
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rap1d^
Picked up a copy yesterday, enjoying it so far

To enable AA at the higher resolutins you can just mod the ini which is located here in Vista

C:\Users\YOURNAME\AppData\Roaming\Ubisoft\Assassin's Creed
Thanks man, that seems to have worked for me.
__________________
Gigabyte V1.1 EP45-UD3R F5
GO-Q6600@3.6GHz 1/2" D5/GTZ Block W/BIX-II Dual 120mm
Corsair 4GB Dominator DDR2-8500 5-5-5-15 2t@1066GHz
Evga 280 GTX 621/1349/2268
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!

"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Report: Assassin's Creed III PC release postponed News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-25-12 07:20 AM
(Gamers Hell) Assassin's Creed III New E3 2012 Screens News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
ZOTAC Launches its GeForce GTX 690 Graphics Card, Includes Assassin's Creed Pack News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-04-12 06:00 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.