Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-08, 09:28 AM   #37
mcolbourn
Time waits for no man!
 
mcolbourn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 736
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

I have got to wait till the 11th to get my copy thats on pre-order.
__________________
CPU : Intel Core i7 920 @ 4 Ghz - MOBO : Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R - RAM : Corsair Vengeance 12GB DDR3 PC3-12800 - GPU : Power Color 6970
HD : Crucial m4 128gb (SSD),1TB Samsung F3 & 1TB Samsung F1 - Sound Card : ASUS Xonar DG - Speakers : Logitech Z523 - PSU : CORSAIR Gold AX750 Case : CM 690 II Advanced - Display : Hazro HZ27WC
mcolbourn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 09:46 AM   #38
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
Who is 'us'?
Me and you Crainger! America's Sweethearts!
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 10:17 AM   #39
MaXThReAT
Registered User
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

I know I'll be picking this up at the end of the day without a doubt. Even with its receptiveness the sword fights later in the game are allot of fun for me. I'll start a fight with the passing army just to see if I can kill them all. Beats walking slowing past them. Maybe it's just me but I think the graphics are great, good animation and the voice acting isn't too shabby either.
__________________
Gigabyte V1.1 EP45-UD3R F5
GO-Q6600@3.6GHz 1/2" D5/GTZ Block W/BIX-II Dual 120mm
Corsair 4GB Dominator DDR2-8500 5-5-5-15 2t@1066GHz
Evga 280 GTX 621/1349/2268
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!

"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 10:46 AM   #40
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Just got back with my copy. The Gamestop near me didn't even open the box that arrived yesterday! Blasphemy!!

Oh yea and my 9800 GX2 will be here soon too
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 11:22 AM   #41
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Just picked up a copy from gamestop. Installing now...
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 11:24 AM   #42
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Still waiting for Steam to unlock...
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 11:37 AM   #43
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordJuanlo
Still waiting for Steam to unlock...
Bummer.

Edit: Wow! This game looked good on the 360 and PS3 but this is really something to look at. With all settings max at 1360x768 on my 37" TV it's one of the most jaw dropping games I've seen in some time. It looks like the crowds and NPC's have significantly higher poly models in the PC version.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 01:07 PM   #44
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

I love this game!!! GTX plays it well too, still waiting on the GX2 to arrive... argh for UPS!
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-09-08, 01:15 PM   #45
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2
I love this game!!! !
LOL, just wait, the fun will lessen in a few hours. It'll get repeatitive soon enough.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 02:15 PM   #46
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Can't believe Steam hasn't unlocked this game yet... Ubisoft's own download store says the game won't be unlocked until 5PM PST, which is crap. They advertise "be among the first to play" but everyone who went to Gamestop gets to play the game before me.

I would have bought the Steam version anyway, I just don't like being misled.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 02:36 PM   #47
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

My brother-in-law let me borrow the PS3 vers a few weeks ago and I've been playing it ever since. I'm hooked. Think my brother is going to pick up the PC vers today.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 03:15 PM   #48
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

So, this is wierd. These two screenshots were taken with the exact same settings but the first is running with the DX10 exe and the second is with the DX9 exe. In both shots all settings are as high as they will go and the resolution is 1360x768. NV control panel settings appear to have no effect under DX9 or DX10 so I'm using the ingame AA setting which only has 3 levels and for both shots it's at level 3.

I started off playing the game in DX10 and performance for the first environment seemed just fine. Now that I've moved to the second location performance is pretty bad with the highest settings under DX10 at my resolution which is what promted me to give the DX9 exe a try. Performance under DX9 is significantly better but it doesn't surprise me when it looks that terrible.

Oh, and I know the DX10 image is windowed and the DX9 is not. I don't know why but for some reason in Vista DX10 and sometimes DX9 screen grabs with printscreen will come out as if the game is windowed even though it clearly is not windowed when you take the screenshot.

I'm running Vista x64 with the 169.25's. I should try some newer drivers to see if there's any change.




DX10 (1360x768, all settings max)





DX9 (1360x768, all settings max)
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Report: Assassin's Creed III PC release postponed News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-25-12 07:20 AM
(Gamers Hell) Assassin's Creed III New E3 2012 Screens News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
ZOTAC Launches its GeForce GTX 690 Graphics Card, Includes Assassin's Creed Pack News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-04-12 06:00 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.