Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-08, 06:10 PM   #61
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady
Yeah, I feel like a dummy now. Sorry for being an ass. I just installed the 174.74's and now I'm running DX10 1360x768 all settings max and max AA and I'm getting rock solid frames. It's unbelievably smooth now and it looks absolutely fantastic. False alarm everyone.
Yep. I'm running Vista32 with the 174.74 drivers and the game is smooth at the settings I posted above.
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 06:58 PM   #62
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fivefeet8
Yep. I'm running Vista32 with the 174.74 drivers and the game is smooth at the settings I posted above.
Yeah, as I said, it's buttery smooth now with the 174.74's. Sorry for being a tard earlier.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 07:06 PM   #63
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady

DX9 (1360x768, all settings max)

you have something wrong there. DX9 isnt that bad.

this is DX9 for me with just multisampling 1, i havent tried the other sampling yet, and the rest of the levels look good not like your terrible ones

(resized from 1680 res)

wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 08:39 PM   #64
Sobbsy
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia, QLD
Posts: 396
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady
That LCD TV is working against you. Also, overscan.
__________________
Q6600 G0 @ 3.42ghz
8gb Corsair Something-o-rather
HD6870 Crossfire
Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
Soundblaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
850w Antec TruePower Quattro
Sobbsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 09:38 PM   #65
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Brady thanks for the screens but how about including some framerate numbers so we can get a clear idea on the performance. (DX9 vs DX10 screens with fps would be even cooler!)
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 10:31 PM   #66
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Brady thanks for the screens but how about including some framerate numbers so we can get a clear idea on the performance. (DX9 vs DX10 screens with fps would be even cooler!)
I'll take some tonight when I get a chance. I ran fraps during while running around Damascus and with all settings max including ingame AA at 1360x768 I didn't drop below 30fps and usually hovered around 45. Not too shabby at all. This was in Vista x64 using the DX10 exe. Untill I can figure out what the deal is with DX9 I'm not going bother with screens or benchies.

Sobbsy, what do you mean by "That LCD TV is working against you. Also, overscan"?
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 10:47 PM   #67
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Oh my God, game is amazing looking... MUCH better than the console versions (I played the 360 one)... I am very satisfied.

Game also runs extremely smooth... performance is great. How do I know it's in DX10 mode on the Steam version? I assume it is running DX10 by default. I can take pics later, I'm even running with a crap processor. DEFINATELY a game for joypads though, I am using my wired 360 controller.

Ubisoft did this one right, in my opinion.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 10:55 PM   #68
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

I am going to pick this up tomorrow!
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-09-08, 11:01 PM   #69
Retrolock
 
Retrolock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

damn nice screenies guys! im so jealous! steam hates non americans
__________________
i7-2600k, Xspc rs240, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1866 RIPJAWSX CL7, PoV GTX 670, Corsair HX1000W, 128GB Vertex 4, WD 1tb Caviar Black, 500 & 320gb Seagate
Retrolock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 11:12 PM   #70
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero
Ubisoft did this one right, in my opinion.
true, but i still hate them for Double Agent
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 11:15 PM   #71
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

I need a new graphics card.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 11:39 PM   #72
ChaoticNick
o hai
 
ChaoticNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 474
Send a message via AIM to ChaoticNick
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Running great here, 1680x1050 res, DX10, everything maxed, but multisampling at 1.

At first it was hella slow, but then I realized v-sync was on...and that multisampling/antialiasing is a pretty big performance killer.

Fun game overall, controls are a bit clunky but can get used to.
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16GHz - 4GB G.Skill DDR2 800 -Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L - EVGA 8800GTS 512 - Acer 22" AL2216Wbd
Notebook: HP Pavilion dv6700t - Intel Core 2 Duo T8100 2.1GHz - 2GB DDR2 667 - NVIDIA 8400M GS - 15.4" Glossy screen - 120GB HD

Digg | Steam | Xfire
ChaoticNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Report: Assassin's Creed III PC release postponed News Archived News Items 0 06-25-12 07:20 AM
(Gamers Hell) Assassin's Creed III New E3 2012 Screens News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
ZOTAC Launches its GeForce GTX 690 Graphics Card, Includes Assassin's Creed Pack News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 06:00 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.