Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-08, 07:08 AM   #85
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: Assassin's creed released today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordJuanlo
Same problem here, can't enable multisampling in game at 1920x1200, but I can at lower resolutions. WTF?.

Oh, and it would be nice to be able to choose between DX9 and DX10 on Steam, it launches in DX10 (fraps number is outlined). I wonder if manually launching DX9 exe will work. I'm curious to see the difference.
Too little video ram maybe ?
I know there's an app you can use that will display how much video ram has been used by a game but can't remember the name of it. (might be mentioned in the 9800Gx2 review here at nvnews).
You guys should try logging with it to determin if thats the problem.
Forcing higher AA didnt work ?
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 07:17 AM   #86
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by wysiwyg
i find saving and quitting the game so tedious

when i quit i dont want to have to go through 2 other scenes!!
That is annoying... very annoying, really. There are some other occassional reminders it's a console game as well, but for the most part it's an excellent port.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 07:17 AM   #87
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

bought the game from Best Buy yesterday, after i used a gift card, i got the game for 28 bucks

didn't have much time to play yesterday, so far just got to the first city.

game runs quite good, 1680x1050, all max in game, 8xAA/16xAF in NVdriver
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 07:19 AM   #88
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

So Ubisoft can do decent ports again? There is hope for the next Splinter Cell? Then again, having several studios makes it hard to track who does what...
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 07:29 AM   #89
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

This is the only pic I grabbed before Fraps went nuts... DX10, all settings at max... the framerate was very good except for looking at the castle, but I ended up turning shadows down anyway to smooth it out. Now that I am in the major city I get some lower FPS at times... might try DX9 mode tomorrow.

NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 07:35 AM   #90
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
So Ubisoft can do decent ports again? There is hope for the next Splinter Cell? Then again, having several studios makes it hard to track who does what...
this is a very good port. controls are great, better visuals, stable, and if you got good system good performance too.

if the same team does the next splinter cell it should be good.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 07:38 AM   #91
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

Nice. Playable with keyboard then? Does it have native 360 controller support? I'll probably go with 360 controller as that's what I'm used to after playing it on 360.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 07:44 AM   #92
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

360 controller is trash, yesterday i unplugged it, uninstalled the xbox software and threw in the closet. got mad at the POS analog sticks. NO MORE.

hooked up the logitech cordless rumblepad2, finally can play Most Wanted again.

Keyboard controls in AC work very well.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-08, 07:48 AM   #93
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

I will do the same. I will become mad at my cupboard and throw it in the 360! Will then proceed to play Most Wanted with the keyboard and Assassin's Creed with a Logitech Cordless rumble pad2!

::

I've still gotta buy Assassin's Creed first. I'm going to see if I can offload this 360 version and import the PC version. Wish Steam had it available for AU customers. ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 07:59 AM   #94
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

You really can't play most wanted with 360 analog sticks; there are to loose, never center back to the right position, end effect that the car is swerving all over.

and the geniuses at xbox team still haven't figured out that if they add options to change this thing called deadzone it would fix their horrible analog sticks
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 08:05 AM   #95
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

My controller works fine, though the missing deadzone options are a bummer, would be for any controller.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 08:34 AM   #96
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by wysiwyg
i find saving and quitting the game so tedious

when i quit i dont want to have to go through 2 other scenes!!

the camera can be annoying too, and i find the game a llittle repetative
If you're using DX10 all you have to do is alt-tab into windowed mode and click that bright red "x" and the game gets closed in a snap.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Report: Assassin's Creed III PC release postponed News Archived News Items 0 06-25-12 08:20 AM
(Gamers Hell) Assassin's Creed III New E3 2012 Screens News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 06:30 AM
ZOTAC Launches its GeForce GTX 690 Graphics Card, Includes Assassin's Creed Pack News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 07:00 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 10:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.