Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-08, 10:06 AM   #1
Jabop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Default Aperture too small (32MB)

I get this error message upon booting now after the kernel update and then updating the Nvidia drivers to the current NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-169.12-pkg2.run.

Fedora Core 8 x86_64
Kernel 2.6.24.4-64.fc8
Nvidia GeForce 7300 GS series

I am not sure what this error message means, but my video rendering is a bit laggy/choppy, so I think it has something to do with video drivers. Could anyone please point me into the right direction to get this resolved? Thank you!
Jabop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 11:17 AM   #2
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Aperture too small (32MB)

Are you using an AGP or PCI-E GPU, 32-bit or 64-bit, which kernel version, etc.. Please see http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678 on how to report a bug.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-08, 12:48 PM   #3
morgoth6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Aperture too small (32MB)

It seems I can observe same message in dmesg log's.

Checking aperture...
CPU 0: aperture @ 6f8c000000 size 32 MB
Aperture too small (32 MB)
No AGP bridge found

I use PCI-E card on 64bit kernel and I must say I wonder is agpgart is required in this case.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (24.6 KB, 138 views)
morgoth6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-08, 01:00 PM   #4
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Aperture too small (32MB)

The NVIDIA Linux graphics driver won't make use of the AGP/IOMMU aperture on your configuration (your GPU can address more than 4GB of RAM, but even if it didn't, the NVIDIA graphics driver could allocate addressable memory from the GFP_DMA32 zone supported by the kernel you're using). Unless other devices rely on it, you can safely ignore the error message you pasted.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-08, 01:15 PM   #5
apaige
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 106
Default Re: Aperture too small (32MB)

Quote:
Your BIOS doesn't leave a aperture memory hole
Please enable the IOMMU option in the BIOS setup
This costs you 64 MB of RAM
I'd rather get my 64 megs of RAM back, than just ignore it.
apaige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-08, 12:18 PM   #6
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Aperture too small (32MB)

this has nothing to do with the nvidia driver. Or drivers at all.
The agpgart is used as iommu on amd systems - that is not bad. Your bios sucks. That is bad and the kernel works around it.

There is nothing you can do about it - and that 64mb aren't really important, are they?
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-08, 02:19 PM   #7
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Aperture too small (32MB)

Like energyman76b said, the aperture setup is not under the NVIDIA graphics driver's control. However, if you want to reclaim the 64MB of RAM, booting your kernel with iommu=noaperture may help.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-08, 07:10 PM   #8
Redeeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Default Re: Aperture too small (32MB)

sorry to hijack thread..

on intel systems, does one not need agpgart either? or what is the current status of agpgart for pcie systems? i have intel quadcore 45nm and 8800gt
Redeeman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-20-08, 07:12 PM   #9
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Aperture too small (32MB)

AFAIK on Intel systems this is always done in software.
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 11:04 AM   #10
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Aperture too small (32MB)

@Redeeman: the AGPGART/IOMMU feature is not available on Intel based x86-64 systems. Please see the section on this topic in the NVIDIA Linux graphics driver README.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 11:12 AM   #11
Niva
iBURNu
 
Niva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 26
Send a message via ICQ to Niva
Default Re: Aperture too small (32MB)

Ok apparently someone else is getting these messages using FC8. As this has not interfered with the way my system operates I decided to ignore it but was a bit peeved when it first appeared. In my case I did a BIOS update and the Kernel update all in one fell swoop and was unsure what the problem was caused by.

At this stage I'm guessing this is an FC8 kernel issue which is generating this message, hopefully the next kernel update won't raise this problem.

I doubt this is a bios problem, only this version of the kernel declares it, booting into the old kernel does not generate the message.

Anyways, thanks for posting here guys.
__________________
GTS 512 + AMD Phenom + 8 Gigs of RAM + 64 Bit Linux = Goodness!
http://www.eternalseven.com/
Niva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
173.14.35 x86. Small gtk widgets are often diappear Natrio NVIDIA Linux 9 07-03-12 08:00 AM
A/B Test Results: How IGN Makes Small Changes for Mass(ive) Effect News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 06:30 AM
Project Moon: One Small Step for a PC, One Giant Leap for Data News Archived News Items 0 05-08-12 07:10 AM
nvidia gforce 2 gts 32mb destroyer NVIDIA Linux 1 09-25-02 12:21 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.