Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: best cpu (overall)
E8400 28 39.44%
Q6600 G0 37 52.11%
don't know 6 8.45%
Voters: 71. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-08, 12:02 PM   #1
WaterPartys
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 50
Default E8400 vs Q6600

Which one would you pick? same price
WaterPartys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 12:04 PM   #2
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: E8400 vs Q6600

I bought both as I couldn't choose either. I settled on this E8400. Less heat, higher CPU and FSB clocks, better performance in most games.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 12:55 PM   #3
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Thumbs up Re: E8400 vs Q6600

E8400
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 01:05 PM   #4
verboten
Registered User
 
verboten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default Re: E8400 vs Q6600

I have both. Gamer PC has the E8400 and my media center PC has the Q6600. IMO, both are great chips
__________________
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Intel i7 965
6GB Corsair 1600
2x EVGA 275GTX SC
Creative X-FI
64GB Curcial SSD
Antec 850W
Antec 900
verboten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 01:12 PM   #5
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: E8400 vs Q6600

Both are great and which is better depends on what you want to do with it. I'd take the 8400 and it's higher clocks over the Q6600 for current gaming. If you're not planning on buying another CPU for 2 or 3 years, get the Q6600.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 01:16 PM   #6
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: E8400 vs Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Quad Core.
+1
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 01:37 PM   #7
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: E8400 vs Q6600

Quad, I ran some tests alot of games are smoother. Anything UT3 based uses quad for physics (bioshock doesnt use havok though, still smoother). Assassin's Creed uses quad and I found it to be faster in cities than my 8400, much more CPU work when there are alot of NPCs on the screen. Games will start to take advantage of the quad more in the near future..

Also, the 45nm are fragile clockers, stable one day, not the next. You can kill them with more than 1.45v. They seem to degrade fast too as alot of people are complaining of loss of OC speeds within a few weeks to a month. Honestly it just made me nervous. Orthos was stable one minute and not the next, they were kinda flakey overclockers. I had an 8400 and E3110. Went back to my G0 @ 3.7 Ghz.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 02:22 PM   #8
nemecb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: E8400 vs Q6600

I say quad, but then I do stuff that utilizes a quad, so that may not be right for everyone.
nemecb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-08, 02:26 PM   #9
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: E8400 vs Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Quad Core.
+1

It's the way of the future. Why else would Intel be working on these and 8 core CPUs?
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 02:48 PM   #10
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: E8400 vs Q6600

i said E8400. if you game, it's a better choice.

higher clock speed, higher OC potential, better game performance.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 03:07 PM   #11
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: E8400 vs Q6600

Q6600.

Multicore game engines are becoming norm; Q6600 really helps in games like Lost Planet, DiRT, UE3 based titles etc.
evox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 03:58 PM   #12
unirions
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: E8400 vs Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86
i said E8400. if you game, it's a better choice.

higher clock speed, higher OC potential, better game performance.
Spoken like a real noob. Most GO Q6600's will run in the 3.4-3.6ghz range on air without much trouble and you are kidding yourself if you really think that you will get any improvements with anything clocked much higher than 3.6ghz.

Most high end gamers game at a high enough res with enough AA and AF enabled that the bottleneck is on the GPU, not the CPU.

And just remember one thing, games that take advantage of quad core like LOST PLANET will crap all over your dual core even when you have a much higher frequency.

There is no replacement for those 2 additional cores when they are properly used, I dont care what you say.
unirions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.