Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-08, 01:46 PM   #37
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227
Rainbows Six 2 and Ass. Creed are the first two games which propertly uses UT3 engine. AA works fine, and it really runs smooth. I hope they fix Frontlines: Fuel of War with 1.0.3 patch.
Assassin's Creed runs on Ubisoft's proprietary Scimitar engine. That's the reason the color schemed isn't ruined by a piss effect like UE3 games.
evox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-08, 06:04 PM   #38
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

::

hell_of_doom, you can't just go around saying games use this and that engine.

BTW Crysis used the S.C.U.M.M. and iMuse engines.

Actually the game probably would have been better if it did. ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-08, 11:10 PM   #39
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

Anyone know how long the SP portion of the game is? We talking a crappy short 6 hour game here or decent 12 hour game.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-08, 11:24 PM   #40
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

we are talking about 1 hour game times how many missions there are.

basically if you did one town, you did them all
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-08, 12:06 AM   #41
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
we are talking about 1 hour game times how many missions there are.

basically if you did one town, you did them all
EDIT: This post is in reference to Assassins Creed, not Vegas 2... Sorry about that.

Well, while the missions are basically the same, the surroundings do vary some and the targets get more challenging the further you progress. I've also found it fun to wack the roof top archers on my way around town.

Game reminds me of a mix of Hitman, Thief, and Splinter Cell all in one.

I think the game is "long enough" to be fun without getting overly boring. However, the sequel is going to have to be a little different to avoid being dubbed "same as the first one".
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-08, 02:26 AM   #42
asd
Registered User
 
asd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 196
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

1 hour of SP game time!? oh noes, that's short!
now I want to know about the multiplayer, which modes does it have?
same as vegas? or something new there?
asd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-08, 02:50 AM   #43
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
we are talking about 1 hour game times how many missions there are.

basically if you did one town, you did them all
Sounds like you are talking about Assassin's Creed. ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-08, 10:38 AM   #44
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
Sounds like you are talking about Assassin's Creed. ::
I did too, thats what my response above was aimed at. Guess thats whats on the mind this week.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-15-08, 04:25 AM   #45
asd
Registered User
 
asd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 196
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

So, no one knows anything about the multiplayer?
asd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-08, 05:59 AM   #46
Sidric
Evil Clown Face
 
Sidric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 524
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

Haven't read anything recently, but I heard they cut the coop story player limit to 2, instead of 4. Not sure if that's going to be the case for terrorist hunt. In any case, very disappointing for me and my friends. We were looking forward to R6V2 for our weekly game sessions, and coop was pretty much the only thing we played on the original. We could play the versus modes but TF2 does that much better anyway imo(as far as player versus player multi is concerned).
__________________
[Mastermind]
[Case]Silverstone TJ10
[PSU] PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
[CPU]Intel Q6600 w/ TR Ultra-120 Extreme @ 3GHz
[Mobo]EVGA nForce 680i
[Memory]OCZ PC2-8500 4GB
[GPU] BFG GTX 260
[Sound] ASUS Sonar Dx
[HDD]
--WD Raptor 150GBx2(Raid 0 Striped)--
--Seagate Barrucuda 300GB--
[OS]Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
[Monitor]Gateway FPD2485W

Live/Xfire/PSN: SidRic SteamID: 3_gh05t_3
Sidric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-08, 07:46 AM   #47
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

I hear they cut Terrorist Hunt to 2 player as well. ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-08, 08:26 AM   #48
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0
CONSOLIZATION FTL
That doesn't make sense since the original had more then 2 player T-Hunt on all the systems... you're an idiot.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$39.99 - Enermax ETD-T60 VEGAS DUO CPU Cooler (Down Flow) With PWM Twister Bearing Fa News Archived News Items 0 06-23-12 05:30 AM
LeVar Burton talks Reading Rainbow: from TV to e-books and beyond News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 03:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.